You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-06 02:45:00

erniee
Member
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 15

I need a hand with CUPS!

My last reason for keeping windows around on my hard drive was for printing school work, but now Linux rules the land of my hard drive, and I've delved into CUPS for my printing desires. I've followed the http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/CUPS_Setup to the T. My first problem comes when contacting http://localhost:631/ for the web interface printer set up. Pertaining to drivers for my printer I have gimp-print, and foomatic both installed. Modules work fine and haven't had any problems with the setup until now sad Also, the printer I have is a Cannon Multipass F30 USB. Alright everyone, let's see if we can get this going!


As always, I'll be glad to promptly post any additional info needed (especially for this since my printer is a MUST)

Offline

#2 2006-04-06 09:28:17

gradgrind
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 921

Re: I need a hand with CUPS!

Maybe you could explain exactly what your problem with localhost:631 was?

You can check whether the cups daemon is running by entering the console command:
         ps ax | grep cupsd

(this should result in a response something like)
         7236 ?        SNs    0:04 /usr/sbin/cupsd -F

Have you had your printer running under Linux before? I ask because not all Canon printers are well supported. I had a quick look on www.linuxprinting.org and didn't find yours listed. This could be a problem.

Offline

#3 2006-04-06 11:52:42

erniee
Member
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 15

Re: I need a hand with CUPS!

Hmmm, I do believe I had everything set up correctly and running, started CUPS from /etc/rc.d/cups start. Strange that it say it's not supported because my good friend has his working in Arch, but he's a bit intimidating when it comes to asking him to show me something. Pertaining to my error when I click that site it redirects me to http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/l/locahost.htm which leads me to believe something is wrong. Thanks again, anything I'll be glad to supply.

Offline

#4 2006-04-06 11:57:04

patroclo7
Member
From: Bassano del Grappa, ITALY
Registered: 2006-01-11
Posts: 913

Re: I need a hand with CUPS!

If you mean that you do not succed in contacting http://localhost:631
I can suspect the following problems:
1) you have not started the cups daemon;
2) you have changed the port in cups configuration;
3) less stupid: you have defined your net so that you can not contact a server on your machine with "localhost". This is just my case. The following is my /etc/hosts:

127.0.0.1 clarabella.clarabella clarabella

So, in order to connect to myself, I have to call my hostname (http://clarabella:631) or 127.0.0.1 (http://127.0.0.1:631).
If I try to go to http://localhost:631 with firefox, I am sent to a belgian website, http://localhost.be  lol


Mortuus in anima, curam gero cutis

Offline

#5 2006-04-06 12:30:25

erniee
Member
Registered: 2005-11-27
Posts: 15

Re: I need a hand with CUPS!

Awesome! I changed my /etc/hosts and was able to access the interface. I'm having trouble on what to select as the location of my printer, and which drivers, and which USB port to select as. Anyone have some suggestions?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB