You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-04 08:03:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

[Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Errr like I split iso thread for post related to install, bugs etc...

Go for it .... :?


Mr Green

Offline

#2 2006-04-04 08:54:41

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Good job! lol

Offline

#3 2006-04-04 10:36:38

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Err like can we have a different chroot on install iso busybox version does not work ... fruggy one got my bootloader working ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

#4 2006-04-04 13:13:18

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

mplayer 
mplayer: error while loading shared libraries: libdv.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

After update wondering if its anything to do with botched nvidia install

/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGL.so.1 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libnvidia-cfg.so.1 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libXvMCNVIDIA.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGL.so.1.2 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libnvidia-tls.so.1 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libXvMCNVIDIA_dynamic.so.1 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libnvidia-cfg.so is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libnvidia-tls.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGL.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libnvidia-cfg.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGL.so is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libGLcore.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
[root@Arch64 mrgreen]# 

Dude this stuff is freakin' me out lol

Anyway Firefox & Thunderbird are starting now which I guess is a good thing ..


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2006-04-04 13:22:16

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Dude. You should really read the news I post to the arch64.org website!

Don't leave X or you won't get back to it ;-) Here in this section is a big post about nvidia. You can't miss it.

AndyRTR

Offline

#6 2006-04-04 16:27:41

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Been there done that nvidia is working .... now!

error now

/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libXvMCNVIDIA.so.1.0.8178 is empty, not checked.
/sbin/ldconfig: File /usr/lib/libXvMCNVIDIA_dynamic.so.1 is empty, not checked.

Mr Green

Offline

#7 2006-04-05 01:22:52

Cam
Member
From: Brisbane, Aus
Registered: 2004-12-21
Posts: 658
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

You can safely rm those files although when I get a working nvidia package they'll be replaced with the correct copies.

Offline

#8 2006-04-05 13:05:30

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Done ok now ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2006-04-05 13:12:19

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Have you found out why the pkg is not working?

Offline

#10 2006-04-06 11:45:57

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Hey I have the same problem.

Cant get back into x. Blank screen comes up (signal stops going to the monitor) and the computer freezes.

The thing is that ive got an radeon x800.

Anyone else having this problem?


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#11 2006-04-06 12:20:16

notz
Member
From: Graz, Austria
Registered: 2005-04-05
Posts: 22

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

syd wrote:

The thing is that ive got an radeon x800.

which driver do you use (ati-fglrx or xorg-ati) ?

if you use xorg-ati try to disable dri.

for the ati-fglrx is currently no standard kernel driver available (the kernel needs to be recompiled to get this working).
but you can try kernel26beyond in testing repo.

you should post your Xorg.0.log


arch64 user - www.arch64.org

Offline

#12 2006-04-07 10:46:31

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Heres my xorg.conf fig file.
http://pastebin.com/645798

Its standed. Just generated one and did 'aticonfig'.

Im using the beyond kernel and the ati-fglrx-beyond drivers.

But i had the same problem with the stock kernel. And ati-fglrx drivers.

Ben

(everything is up to date)


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#13 2006-04-07 11:09:49

notz
Member
From: Graz, Austria
Registered: 2005-04-05
Posts: 22

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

hmm, really ? my config generated with aticonfig is much longer.
http://pastebin.com/645823

try to use InternalAGP, if you have an PCIE card you must enable this option.

please post also your /var/log/Xorg.0.log


arch64 user - www.arch64.org

Offline

#14 2006-04-07 12:22:43

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Heres my /var/log/Xorg.0.log
No errors just some warnings.

http://pastebin.com/645906

Just trying internalagp

Thanks for the quick replies,


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#15 2006-04-07 12:36:35

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Ok ive narrowed it down a bit.

If i boot with:
(grub options)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26beyond root=/dev/sdb7 video=radeonfb:ywrap,mtrr vga=791 splash=silent,theme:darch quiet CONSOLE=tty1 ro

I get a splash screen. But when i startx it just stops sending signals to the monitor and it displays no signal.

If i boot with:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26beyond root=/dev/sdb7 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr,1024x768-32@60 splash=silent,theme:darch quiet console=tty1 ro

I dont get a splash screen. but i can startx. But as soon as i leave it get no signal to the lcd.

Both options are using the same initramfs.

Any advice?

Is kernel26beyond compiled with vesa-tng or just vesa?


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#16 2006-04-07 12:51:40

notz
Member
From: Graz, Austria
Registered: 2005-04-05
Posts: 22

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

syd wrote:

Is kernel26beyond compiled with vesa-tng or just vesa?

vesa-tng is only available for 32bit kernels. i use vesafb because radeonfb not supports my card.

have you tried my options, especially UseInternalAGP ?

have you tried any other distros with fglrx or this your first one ?

also the posted log seems to be not complete.


arch64 user - www.arch64.org

Offline

#17 2006-04-07 18:29:31

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

parts of gnome 2.14 are now in extra.

Offline

#18 2006-04-07 21:28:46

syd
Member
From: Auckland, NZ
Registered: 2006-01-22
Posts: 155

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

My post logs are complete.

Um and i have tryed using useInternalAGP it didnt make any difference.
Ill will try and copy my xorg.conf from my 32bit install.

Cheers


But To Die Is Gain

Offline

#19 2006-04-11 10:14:23

rpgcyco
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 73
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

I'm having a few GNOME related problems. When starting GDM, I get this error message -

The greeter application appears to be crashing. Attempting to use a different one.

Clicking OK causes GDM to load, but when I try to login to GNOME, I get another error message -

/opt/gnome/bin/gnome-session: error while loading shared libraries: libdbus-1.so.1: cannot open shared object: No such file or directory.

Temporarily fixed the second issue by linking /usr/lib64/libdbus-1.so.2.0.0 to libdbus-1.so.1.

My Arch64 system is completely up to date, except for the kernel (2.6.15.6-2) and the NVIDIA drivers (1.0.8178-15).

- Rpg Cyco

Offline

#20 2006-04-11 11:07:11

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

rpgcyco wrote:

/opt/gnome/bin/gnome-session: error while loading shared libraries: libdbus-1.so.1: cannot open shared object: No such file or directory.

Temporarily fixed the second issue by linking /usr/lib64/libdbus-1.so.2.0.0 to libdbus-1.so.1.

I had to link the libdbus-1.so.1 to libdbus-1.so.2 to get Firefox/Thunderbird/Epiphany working again. It's a known small issue.

AndyRTR

Offline

#21 2006-04-11 18:34:44

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

i will try it on a new system and see what happens.

Offline

#22 2006-04-12 03:52:36

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

So, has anybody tried the new nvidia package in testing?

Offline

#23 2006-04-12 06:17:29

rpgcyco
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2005-09-27
Posts: 73
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Yeah, I tried it this morning wih the latest kernel. Installs fine, X loads and glxgears works, so it seems good at the moment.

- Rpg Cyco

Offline

#24 2006-04-12 08:02:20

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Reinstall went ok just setting stuff up again

Have to rebuild my 64 packages as some had been built with that flag (but np)

@andy Nvidia working fine here .....

obconf needs updating to 1.6 ;-)

Still got an issue with firefox .... Once started if I close firefox it will not restart unless I run killall firefox ;-S ? ( I know do not stop it lol!!)

Anyone got Xgl working under64 yet lol


Mr Green

Offline

#25 2006-04-12 08:06:39

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,636

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Mr Green wrote:

Still got an issue with firefox .... Once started if I close firefox it will not restart unless I run killall firefox ;-S ? ( I know do not stop it lol!!)

Funny. I have no problems with Firefox but my Thunderbird has the same behavior.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB