You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-07 03:42:06

normc
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 277
Website

Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

My daemons line

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng portmap dbus hal network netfs hplip cups clamav alsa acpid !crond  kdm)

I have installed it using pacman. If I run pacman -S  hplip I get a message saying it is already there.


Norm

Offline

#2 2006-04-07 04:04:10

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

What is the output of the command below?:

# /etc/rc.d/hplip restart
:: Stopping hplip: hpiod ...                [DONE]
:: Stopping hplip: hpssd...                 [DONE]
:: Starting hplip: hpiod ...                [DONE]
:: Starting hplip: hpssd ...                [DONE]

/path/to/Truth

Offline

#3 2006-04-07 04:13:29

normc
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 277
Website

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

[root@normlx ~]# /etc/rc.d/hplip restart
:: Stopping hplip: hpiod ...                                             [DONE]
:: Stopping hplip: hpssd...                                              [DONE]
:: Starting hplip: hpiod ...                                             [DONE]
:: Starting hplip: hpssd ...                                             [DONE]
[root@normlx ~]#


Norm

Offline

#4 2006-04-07 05:26:30

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

So then are you getting a 'failed' message when starting hplip at boot?
The same command should be issued then as when done manually.


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#5 2006-04-07 13:22:01

normc
Member
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 277
Website

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

It says it is starting on boot but when I run hp-toolbox I get

[ERROR]: Unable to connect to HPLIP I/O. Check and make sure HPLIP is running.
[ERROR]: Unable to create client object.


Norm

Offline

#6 2006-04-07 14:19:52

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

I can get the hp-toolbox GUI to run, but it won't recognize my printer and then immediately segfaults. There may be a bug with this application.


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#7 2006-04-08 14:14:44

giddygiddyBA
Member
From: Montreal
Registered: 2004-12-30
Posts: 66

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

did you install pyqt?

Offline

#8 2006-04-08 15:13:40

Jarsto
Member
From: Groningen, The Netherlands
Registered: 2005-11-18
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

I had some trouble with something similar in the past. It wasn't on the hplip side in the end but on the cups side. Basically what I had to do to get it working again was move cups away from hplip in the DAEMONS array, to give things some time in between. You might try moving cups to the last position and leaving hplip where it is.


Jarsto

Offline

#9 2006-04-08 15:23:11

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

oh jesus christ, i hate those hacks.


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#10 2006-04-08 16:00:11

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

The message below is what I get upon opening hp-toolbox. My parallel port printer is installed fine via the CUPS web interface and is noted as the default. Hp-toolbox won't allow me to perform the F6 function as the GUI segfaults after I click 'OK'. Bloody thing has me stumped so I guess I'll google around some. I did move the hplip daemon sequence in rc.conf as suggested.

No installed HP devices found. To install a device, use the CUPS web interface (http://localhost:631) or the printer installation utility that came with your operating system. After setting up a printer, you must press F6 or chose (sic) Device | Refresh All for the printer to appear in the HP Device Manager.

Note: Only devices installed with the hp: CUPS backend will appear in the HP Device Manager.

/path/to/Truth

Offline

#11 2006-04-08 16:11:57

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: Problem with HP printer hplip is not starting

Okay, after a search I come up with the preferred printer installation method using the hp-setup command line tool. As this is supposed to be the 'HP' way to setup the printer and use hp-toolbox I decided to go this route. Naturally, the output is not promising:

# hp-setup

 HP Linux Imaging and Printing System (ver. 0.9.8)
 Printer/Fax Setup Utility ver. 0.7

 Copyright (c) 2003-5 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, LP
 This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
 This is free software, and you are welcome to distribute it
 under certain conditions. See COPYING file for more details.

 [ERROR]: No devices found.
 [ERROR]: Error occured during interactive mode. Exiting.

Now, why the heck would it not find the device when it is already set up via CUPS and working properly in the desktop environment? The latest hplip version is 0.9.10, but I somehow doubt using the 0.9.8 would cause this type of problem as the printer I use is not a recent piece of machinery.


/path/to/Truth

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB