You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-08 17:30:06

lang2
Member
Registered: 2006-02-10
Posts: 386

rpm2cpio: where is it?

which package has this?

Did pacman -Ss rpm and didn't find it. Couldn't find in aur either.


lang2

Offline

#2 2006-04-08 17:54:44

rztka
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2006-03-10
Posts: 37

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

rpmunpack can do the same i guess..
http://www.archlinux.org/packages.php?id=749

Offline

#3 2006-04-08 18:04:04

lang2
Member
Registered: 2006-02-10
Posts: 386

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Thanks rztka.

I've always used atool for unpacking rpm, which depends on rpm2cpio.

sad

Offline

#4 2006-04-08 18:42:57

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

I like running programs from KLIK (installs anything without being root & no worries about dependencies) and it requires rpm2cpio to be installed, but as mentioned the rpmunpack application will suffice nicely. All that is required is a symlink:

# ln -s /usr/bin/rpmunpack /usr/bin/rpm2cpio


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#5 2006-04-08 18:52:40

lang2
Member
Registered: 2006-02-10
Posts: 386

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

McQueen:
Did what you suggested and tried it again. This is what I got:

cpio: premature end of archive
aunpack: rpm2cpio ... | cpio ...: non-zero return-code

Looks like rpmunpack doesn't extract to stdout.

Offline

#6 2006-04-09 04:48:06

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Wonder how rpmunpack is applied to the rpm2cpio source.

I use KLIK as well and have been unable to find rpm2cpio to install.  I believe it has many library items.

Recent upgrades have wiped out some of my KLIK pgms so I need the rpm2cpio thingy.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#7 2006-04-09 04:57:22

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Take a look at :

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … t=rpm2cpio

May be this reference has all the answers!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#8 2006-04-09 05:47:13

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

lilsirecho wrote:

Recent upgrades have wiped out some of my KLIK pgms so I need the rpm2cpio thingy.

Something is amiss here. You can't get any Klik programs to run with rpmunpack and that symlink? I did several just today with no hiccups, but maybe I could try and duplicate your issues if you'd provide some of the application failures.


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#9 2006-04-09 15:30:16

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Confusion exists in my mind concerning the correct method of providing rpm2cpio to satisfy the KLIK requirement.(Not supposed to need install of KLIK  elements in my system per their hype!).

I lost my test program galculator.cmg with the latest upgrades due to conflict with glib.c.

I am unable to use KLIK without rpm2cpio installed as is the statement with every attempt to load any program from KLIK.

I have installed the rpmunpack program which is an exe.

I had previously tried snowman's PKGBUILD for rpm2cpio which didn't satisfy KLIK.

I see that neither threads of 2 threads for this program have been unsuccessful in providing the needed rpm2cpio.

I still have opera 9.cmg which functions OK.  All attempts to load any other program have failed.

I used to have KLIK install almost any program I selected but no more...

I think I was the first to run KLIK in arch, PCLINUXOS, DSL, and others.

Any ideas on how to proceed?


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#10 2006-04-09 16:03:53

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

There seems to be some level of corruption on your system that is preventing Klik from performing as might be expected. I am running a basic Arch install and literally did nothing other than (1) install rpmunpack and (2) make a symlink to /usr/bin/rpm2cpio. Since then I've been able to install Klik programs with no issues. However, I will note that it is not exactly uncommon to come across various Klik applications that might fail for other reasons that are not local in nature.

Perhaps we might start with a Klik download that I've verified to work on my system and you could then compare to see what if any error you might get.

Scite Programming Editor


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#11 2006-04-09 16:18:48

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

As I reported previously, i tried the rpm2cpio install and KLIK didn't recognize it.  I now have rpmunpack installed.

When attempting to download Scite, I receive the same request to install rpm2cpio...no mention of rpmunpack.

The references to symlink have no successful concluding statements in either thread.

Confusion!!!!!

I can't even re-install galculator!!!!


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#12 2006-04-09 17:05:33

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Yeah, I only got the idea for making that symlink after running Klik from a terminal session, and noting that it would not work even after installing rpmunpack, but it did give some very useful output of exactly where it was looking for the rpm2cpio executable. There is more than one path where the symlink can be placed based on that output, although /usr/bin was the most likely candidate and it was included among the search paths mentioned by Klik. The next time I ran Klik it did as expected.


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#13 2006-04-09 18:17:52

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: rpm2cpio: where is it?

Mcqueen;

Re-ran rpm2cpio from snowman's thread...but had to change its name to PKGBUILD and deleted the md5 sums.  Added the rpm2cpio.pl to the same directory.

Was then able to symlink as you posted and get KLIK to OK transfer of cmg's.

Thank you for your support and I hope this info helps others to do likewise. big_smile


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB