You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-27 02:23:27

Ceps
Member
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 11

[SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

Hey guys, I've installed both the AUR and official version of CLion and they look weird and doesnt show any text, I'm using Openbox. This is a sample:
Main window, clicking one of those dropdowns

Last edited by Ceps (2015-09-27 22:29:31)

Offline

#2 2015-09-27 04:55:48

medaron
Member
From: TN, USA / Leipzig, Germany
Registered: 2015-08-02
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

I had the same problem. Setting the Swing Look and Feel solved the problem for me.

_JAVA_OPTIONS="-Dswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel" clion

The Swing Look and Feel website might also be relevant for this.

Offline

#3 2015-09-27 19:49:38

Ceps
Member
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

Nothing sad I tried:

swing.properties

swing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel

bash.rc

swing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLooswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel

Am I missing something?

Offline

#4 2015-09-27 19:59:53

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,523
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

You are missing the variable name as provided in medaron's post and in the wiki.  You need to set this string to _JAVA_OPTIONS and export that variable.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2015-09-27 20:09:09

Ceps
Member
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

That was a typo, my bashrc is actually:

export _JAVA_OPTIONS='-Dawt.useSystemAAFontSettings=on -Dswing.aatext=true -Dswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel'

Offline

#6 2015-09-27 20:29:06

medaron
Member
From: TN, USA / Leipzig, Germany
Registered: 2015-08-02
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

You could try to also set the cross platform look and feel as described in the wiki.

export _JAVA_OPTIONS='-Dawt.useSystemAAFontSettings=on -Dswing.aatext=true -Dswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel -Dswing.crossplatformlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel'

Offline

#7 2015-09-27 22:03:50

Ceps
Member
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

Still no luck, just tried opening IntelliJ Idea just in case and there is nothing wrong going on.

cat .bashrc

#
# ~/.bashrc
#

# If not running interactively, don't do anything
[[ $- != *i* ]] && return
alias ls='ls --color=auto'
PS1='[\u@\h \W]\$ '
export _JAVA_OPTIONS='-Dawt.useSystemAAFontSettings=on -Dswing.aatext=true -Dswing.defaultlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel -Dswing.crossplatformlaf=com.sun.java.swing.plaf.gtk.GTKLookAndFeel'

pacman -Q | grep 'jdk\|java'

java-environment-common 2-2
java-runtime-common 2-2
jdk8-openjdk 8.u60-1
jre8-openjdk 8.u60-1
jre8-openjdk-headless 8.u60-1

Offline

#8 2015-09-27 22:06:14

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,523
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

And how do you start CLion?  If you start it from a terminal, does it work?


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#9 2015-09-27 22:29:12

Ceps
Member
Registered: 2012-01-07
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

Thanks! Now it works from terminal big_smile. It doesn't work with Openbox menu. I tried using the terminal (with gtklookandfeel without crossplatform) before and nothing, so it was the crossplatform setting + running from terminal.
Any thoughts on why it works from terminal and not openbox menu? What can I do to make it work from openbox menu?

This is openbox menu entry:

<item label="CLion">
    <action name="Execute">
        <command>clion</command>
    </action>
</item>

Offline

#10 2015-09-27 23:06:41

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,523
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Clion doesn't work

Yes, I know exactly why it only works from an interactive shell: you didnt follow the instructions on the wiki page I linked to.

Use /etc/profile/jre.sh as advised.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB