You are not logged in.

#26 2006-04-12 08:27:23

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

@andy is 'locale -a' working for you (I may may need to reboot!)


Mr Green

Offline

#27 2006-04-12 08:29:54

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

No. Starting cmd.exe....'locale -a' ...command not found lol

AndyRTR, sitting on a Wintendo ThinClient right now without ssh access to my home pc sad

Offline

#28 2006-04-12 08:34:18

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Ok lol I need to reboot (kernel update) will check it out....

Seem have a locales problem ?

running locale -a

locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
C
POSIX

maybe I got something missing ?


Mr Green

Offline

#29 2006-04-12 10:42:41

syamajala
Member
From: here, there, everywhere
Registered: 2005-01-25
Posts: 604
Website

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Mr. Green i'm working on xgl and i'll put it in my own repo soon.

Offline

#30 2006-04-13 12:05:23

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

8) Could do with sorting out locales first ....

Is glibc the problem ?

Never had this on old install, may try again on another partition (you can never have enough Arch64 installs on your system!)

/me keeps looking

Xgl I did try it (Kororaa live CD!) very cool candy not sure I would want to use it day in day out those wobbly windows would keep on me nerves after a while lol

Later


Mr Green

Offline

#31 2006-04-13 12:13:28

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Why do yoo discuss all probems in one thread? Nobody will be able to find them.

Offline

#32 2006-04-13 12:27:24

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Maybe we need a forum for Arch64 ?

Or I could post to mailing list .....

I seem to be the only one having problems so I must be doing something wrong....

Will keep trying not giving up on Arch64 even if it means helping you guys more  :twisted:

/me goes back to installing Arch64 again


Mr Green

Offline

#33 2006-04-13 18:06:23

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Mr Green wrote:

Maybe we need a forum for Arch64 ?

I don't think it would be necessary. This forum section is sufficient.  Just make sure that each issue has it's own thread. Maybe putting [Arch64] in the title would help to tell people that is about the 64bit port. Instead of having a huge thread with a vague title, like this one, where everyone talks about all kinds of problems you'll have threads like:
[Arch64] libfoo doesn't compile
[Arch64] gdm doesn't start
etc...
It'll be much easier to find stuff and to manage them.

Offline

#34 2006-04-13 18:09:12

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Thats cool ... I can live with that thanks Snowman ;-)

There are bound to be issues/bugs, long threads are no help to anyone

/me just wanna help out


Mr Green

Offline

#35 2006-04-13 20:07:46

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

We also seem to have a bug tracker over at Arch64.org that isn't being used very much.

Offline

#36 2006-04-14 01:56:07

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Yeah, I'm getting glib locale errors when running firefox. Seems it cannot set the proper locale.

Offline

#37 2006-04-14 07:12:33

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

Errr I like tried to add a bug report logged in ok ... but I do not have permission to open a new task  :?


Mr Green

Offline

#38 2006-04-14 14:46:21

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

So there is a bug in the bug tracker. That's great!

Offline

#39 2006-04-14 16:59:04

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

I guess Ryan is busy again and for me it makes no sense as you can catch syam and myself almost every day in IRC. No need to setup flyspray for the last few weeks.

Offline

#40 2006-04-16 10:43:42

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,756

Re: [Arch64] port Problems & Solutions

@Andy

Ok ok ok I like got locale problem sorted now .... too dumb to read news page lol

Must have done it under Arch32  :oops:

May add a note to wiki to check news page ......?

mplayer is working now after I loaded up a tons of other deps .... weird

Still have firefox issue but I can live with that .... ;-)

/me holds head down in shame


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB