You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-17 01:04:00

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,560
Website

Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

I'm running plasma (KDE5).
When I was running Dolphin under KDE4 I could press F4 and a terminal would open at the bottom of the file manager. Very handy!!
Now, in KDE5, when I press F4 the bottom of the file manager shrinks; as if making space for the terminal, but no terminal shows up.

Is this a but in KDE5, or do I need some sort of plugin to make it work?
Does anyone else have the same problem or is it just me? hmm

R.

p.s. In fact, I just noticed that it shows the word "terminal" and a close button ...

Last edited by ralvez (2016-01-17 17:37:33)

Offline

#2 2016-01-17 02:05:52

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 881

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

After pressing F4 try to write some command like 'firefox' or 'chromium', and press enter, does it open anything?


Arch is home!
i3 rofi w3m firefox ranger vim mutt mpd newsbeuter pass

Offline

#3 2016-01-17 03:13:33

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

Nope. That's the reason I'm posting .... wink
It looks like either, a bug or a missing plugin.

R.

Offline

#4 2016-01-17 03:14:53

Buddlespit
Member
From: Chesapeake, Va.
Registered: 2014-02-07
Posts: 391

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

It appears to be working for me. dolphin 15.12.1

Offline

#5 2016-01-17 14:14:22

Rog131
Member
Registered: 2015-08-23
Posts: 80

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

ralvez wrote:

I'm running plasma (KDE5).
When I was running Dolphin under KDE4 I could press F4 and a terminal would open at the bottom of the file manager. Very handy!!
Now, in KDE5, when I press F4 the bottom of the file manager shrinks; as if making space for the terminal, but no terminal shows up.

Is this a but in KDE5, or do I need some sort of plugin to make it work?
Does anyone else have the same problem or is it just me? hmm

R.

p.s. In fact, I just noticed that it shows the word "terminal" and a close button ...

Are you sure that the konsole window is not collapsed/folded ?
Try to move the cursor over the divider and push the konsole open: http://i.imgur.com/hsgCvb7.gifv

If this is not the case: Launch the Dolphin from the konsole and press the F4. Any error messages ?

Offline

#6 2016-01-17 15:53:51

McKlain
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 12

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

Try installing yakuake and konsolepart4 packages
# pacman -S yakuake konsolepart4

Offline

#7 2016-01-17 17:02:31

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

@Buddlespit: Interesting ... may be I'm missing some plugin or some piece of software.
@Rog131: No it is not. Dragging at the divider only moves the size up and down but no console is shown
@McKlan: I have yakuake and knosolepart4 too.

But considering what Buddlespit says makes me think that I am missing some piece of "support" software.

R.

Offline

#8 2016-01-17 17:09:13

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,333

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

You do have konsole installed, right?

Offline

#9 2016-01-17 17:36:47

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,560
Website

Re: Dolphin bug? No terminal inside dolphin [solved]

@arojas,

Bingo!! smile You hit the nail in the head!
I did a fresh Arch install because I was getting too many odd things happening with the port to plasma. That's a relatively easy thing to do in my system because I have a separate /home partition and because I use git to save my configs and have network backups for all other important files.
Of course I assumed that a fresh install would bring konsole ... but I never checked.
Once you pointed it out I did check for it and , of course, it wasn't there.

Problem solved!!

Thank you all guys for your help!

R.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB