You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-03 22:57:32

Aykan
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-08-29
Posts: 28

firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Hi, While building firefox-gtk2 I am getting error, that i cant understand, here's build log:

patching file config/baseconfig.mk
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 148, in <module>
    main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 76, in main
    mach = get_mach()
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 67, in get_mach
    mach = check_and_get_mach(dir_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 42, in check_and_get_mach
    return load_mach(dir_path, mach_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 30, in load_mach
    return mach_bootstrap.bootstrap(dir_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 332, in bootstrap
    mach.load_commands_from_file(os.path.join(mozilla_dir, path))
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mach/mach/main.py", line 258, in load_commands_from_file
    imp.load_source(module_name, path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/addon-sdk/mach_commands.py", line 13, in <module>
    from mozbuild.base import (
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 358, in __call__
    module = self._original_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mozbuild/mozbuild/base.py", line 17, in <module>
    from mach.mixin.process import ProcessExecutionMixin
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 358, in __call__
    module = self._original_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mach/mach/mixin/process.py", line 29, in <module>
    raise Exception('Could not detect environment shell!')
Exception: Could not detect environment shell!
client.mk:202: /.mozconfig.mk: No such file or directory
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 148, in <module>
    main(sys.argv[1:])
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 76, in main
    mach = get_mach()
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 67, in get_mach
    mach = check_and_get_mach(dir_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 42, in check_and_get_mach
    return load_mach(dir_path, mach_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/mach", line 30, in load_mach
    return mach_bootstrap.bootstrap(dir_path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 332, in bootstrap
    mach.load_commands_from_file(os.path.join(mozilla_dir, path))
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mach/mach/main.py", line 258, in load_commands_from_file
    imp.load_source(module_name, path)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/addon-sdk/mach_commands.py", line 13, in <module>
    from mozbuild.base import (
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 358, in __call__
    module = self._original_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mozbuild/mozbuild/base.py", line 17, in <module>
    from mach.mixin.process import ProcessExecutionMixin
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/build/mach_bootstrap.py", line 358, in __call__
    module = self._original_import(name, globals, locals, fromlist, level)
  File "/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mach/mach/mixin/process.py", line 29, in <module>
    raise Exception('Could not detect environment shell!')
Exception: Could not detect environment shell!
/usr/bin/python2 /home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/config/pythonpath.py -I /home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/testing/mozbase/mozfile \
    /home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/python/mozbuild/mozbuild/controller/clobber.py /home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3 
Usage: clobber.py topsrcdir topobjdir
client.mk:330: recipe for target '/CLOBBER' failed
make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Can you explain it to me, and help me fix it? Thank you in advance smile

Offline

#2 2016-01-04 12:16:29

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

That looks very simlar to this : http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … 175461888/

Are you using another shell then bash ( echo $SHELL ) ?

please post FULL makepkg output so we can see which command triggers this error.

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2016-01-04 12:17:23)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#3 2016-01-04 13:20:09

Aykan
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-08-29
Posts: 28

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

I'm using bash.

lone@Arch ~]$ echo $SHELL
/bin/bash

But I've got a problem with posting full makepkg output, I can't force it do dump it, when I do

mekepkg -si >> out.txt

  It just dumps only as much as I've posted.

Offline

#4 2016-01-04 13:24:56

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,530
Website

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

You need to redirect the stderr as well:

makepkg -si 2>&1 >yourfile.txt

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2016-01-04 13:38:33

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

just configure your x-terminal to have a very big (or unlimited ) scrollback buffer, then copy/paste the entire output. [1]

also please add the C flag (like makepkg -Csi so the $srcdir will be cleaned before building starts.

[1]
There may be better ways to achive the same,but this one works and doesn't require any extra command options,just a bit more manual work.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#6 2016-01-04 16:46:15

Aykan
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-08-29
Posts: 28

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Here's the file: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2GpeB … sp=sharing
Sorry for posting it that way, but couldn't post it neither here nor on pastebin.

Last edited by Aykan (2016-01-04 16:47:39)

Offline

#7 2016-01-05 14:30:16

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

The shell error you got earlier is now gone, this is the first fail i see :

{standard input}: Assembler messages:
{standard input}:139154: Warning: end of file not at end of a line; newline inserted
c++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <https://bugs.archlinux.org/> for instructions.
/home/lone/builds/firefox-gtk2/src/firefox-43.0.3/config/rules.mk:958: recipe for target 'UnifiedBindings23.i_o' failed
make[6]: *** [UnifiedBindings23.i_o] Error 4
make[6]: *** Deleting file 'UnifiedBindings23.i_o'

That error message seems to appear often when  gcc runs out of memory  .
How much memory + swap does your system have ?


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#8 2016-01-05 15:18:05

Aykan
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-08-29
Posts: 28

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

4 GB RAM + 4GB swap

Offline

#9 2016-01-05 17:08:38

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Aykan wrote:

4 GB RAM + 4GB swap

This could be your problem.
By default makepkg builds in /tmp which is limited to half the size of your RAM, IIRC firefox needs more than 2GB of space to build.

Try building in a different location and see if it makes a difference.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#10 2016-01-05 17:17:09

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,530
Website

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

slithery wrote:

By default makepkg builds in /tmp ...

What?  No.  Makepkg builds wherever it is called (unless specifically overridden).  In this case it is in the users home directory under ~/builds.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#11 2016-01-05 17:19:36

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Of course it does, I was thinking of yaourt smile

Last edited by Slithery (2016-01-05 17:20:23)


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#12 2016-01-23 17:29:23

Aykan
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2014-08-29
Posts: 28

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

Anynoe got any idea? hmm

Offline

#13 2016-01-24 12:21:31

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: firefox-gtk2 building error, make: *** [/CLOBBER] Error 1

I can tell you that with 16 GiB Ram building this didn't need swap.

Could you increase swapspace temporarily (use a swapfile) to 12 GiB (or even 16 GiB ) and then try building again.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB