You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-25 16:21:00

skywolf
Member
Registered: 2016-01-20
Posts: 3

Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

Hello I'm just a beginner in arch so don't rip off my head if there is a very simple solution.

My problem is when I give the command to hibernate (I tried it from terminal) it seems to be working (no errors in shutdown).[That means there is no problem when the system writing the ram image].
But when I press the power button it's not resumes anything just going for a normal boot up sequence.

I tried this:

I edited the /etc/mkinitcpio.conf file and I add the resume line to it:

This is mine:
HOOKS="base udev autodetect modconf block filesystems resume keyboard fsck"

Than I updated the initcpio file.

After this I edited my grub to this:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="resume=UUID=b1661b9d-919c-42da-9672-fd28c6b668b5"

Of course updated this earlier.

Sorry for my english but this is not my native language.

Last edited by skywolf (2016-01-25 17:37:32)

Offline

#2 2016-01-25 16:33:31

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

Events for pressing that button are communicated if the "button" kernel module is loaded. One way to respond would be to use acpid and create a handler for "button/power".


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#3 2016-01-25 17:00:08

skywolf
Member
Registered: 2016-01-20
Posts: 3

Re: Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

ConnorBehan wrote:

Events for pressing that button are communicated if the "button" kernel module is loaded. One way to respond would be to use acpid and create a handler for "button/power".

I'm a little bit confused right now, I think the hibernation button is working but in a boot up something goes wrong.
When I gave the command via terminal or in the desktop enviroment it seems to be working the harddrive working for a while before shutdown.  Like in ubuntu or fedora.

I'm glad for your quick reaction time and I'll try this method but I think there is a different problem.(But becasue I asked for help I accept your suggestion.)

I just wanted to be sure I said everything as it as.

Last edited by skywolf (2016-01-25 17:07:39)

Offline

#4 2016-01-25 17:20:21

ConnorBehan
Trusted User (TU)
From: Long Island NY
Registered: 2007-07-05
Posts: 1,356
Website

Re: Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

Yeah, the problem could be something at boot time. But I was thinking that since the command from the terminal works, you can make it so the power button executes the same command.
Edit: I misunderstood everything.

Last edited by ConnorBehan (2016-01-25 17:48:14)


6EA3 F3F3 B908 2632 A9CB E931 D53A 0445 B47A 0DAB
Great things come in tar.xz packages.

Offline

#5 2016-01-25 17:31:32

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 737

Re: Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

ConnorBehan wrote:

Yeah, the problem could be something at boot time. But I was thinking that since the command from the terminal works, you can make it so the power button executes the same command.

skywolf wrote:

My problem is when give the command to hibernate (I tried it from terminal) it seems to be working (no errors in shutdown).
But when I press the power button it's not resumes anything just going for a normal boot up sequence.

I interpret skywolf to mean running the command from the console partially succeeds in that it shutsdown sucessfully but on press of the power button results in a normal bootup and the resume image is ignored.

Offline

#6 2016-01-25 17:33:47

skywolf
Member
Registered: 2016-01-20
Posts: 3

Re: Dell Inspiron 15 (3521) Hibernate issues

ConnorBehan wrote:

Yeah, the problem could be something at boot time. But I was thinking that since the command from the terminal works, you can make it so the power button executes the same command.

I will correct the first message to prevent other misunderstanding.

So the shutdown process is seems to be working and it saves to swap but it's not using it in boot up.

Last edited by skywolf (2016-01-25 17:34:58)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB