You are not logged in.

#1 2004-02-24 12:04:13

rudi
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-18
Posts: 39
Website

modules.conf is more recent then ......

Hi,

I've followed the steps from http://www.soulfly.nl/~arjan/archlinux/alsa-setup.html
And added modules in modules.conf wich i've copied and pasted from the alsa website:

http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc/do … ns1371#opt

Now when i run modprobe i get the following error:

Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.25/modules.dep
modprobe: Can't locate module snd-es1371

I've also tried it without adding those list in modules.conf and used only modprobe es1271 but then i get the following message when i tried to start alsamixer:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

HWD gives the following output:

Autoconfiguring devices...                      Done.
 Soundcard  : ES1371 [AudioPCI-97] driver: es1371  Alsa: No

 Load sound module       : modprobe es1371

Can someone help me with this?

Rudi


Brian: You don't need to follow me. You don't need to follow anybody! You've got to think for yourselves. You're all individuals!
Crowd: Yes, we're all individuals!

Offline

#2 2004-02-24 12:14:42

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

run

depmod -a

as root and then try again with snd-es1371


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#3 2004-02-24 12:34:41

rudi
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-18
Posts: 39
Website

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

Hi,

Thanx for the fast reply, however i get the following message:

modprobe: Can't locate module snd-es1371

Rudi


Brian: You don't need to follow me. You don't need to follow anybody! You've got to think for yourselves. You're all individuals!
Crowd: Yes, we're all individuals!

Offline

#4 2004-02-25 07:49:05

ganlu
Member
From: ChongQing, China
Registered: 2004-01-04
Posts: 335

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

modprobe "es1371" instead "snd-es1371", if OK, add "es1371" in your rc.conf file.

Offline

#5 2004-02-25 07:58:53

rudi
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-18
Posts: 39
Website

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

Hi,

I've tried that, modprobe works (i guess) here is my lsmod output:

Module                  Size  Used by    Tainted: P
es1371                 30092   0  (autoclean) (unused)
ac97_codec             13816   0  (autoclean) [es1371]
nvidia               1967456   6  (autoclean)
ne2k-pci                4832   1
8390                    7184   0  [ne2k-pci]
crc32                   2912   0  [8390]
rtc                     7848   0  (autoclean)
vfat                   11020   1  (autoclean)
fat                    33624   0  (autoclean) [vfat]
ntfs                   55264   1  (autoclean)

But when i want to start alsamixer i get the following:

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such file or directory

same for amixer set Master 100 unmute:

amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory

Brian: You don't need to follow me. You don't need to follow anybody! You've got to think for yourselves. You're all individuals!
Crowd: Yes, we're all individuals!

Offline

#6 2004-02-25 16:21:50

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

Anything that doesn't start with snd- isn't alsa.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#7 2004-02-29 16:47:41

rudi
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2004-02-18
Posts: 39
Website

Re: modules.conf is more recent then ......

Humz, i think i know now why i have so much alsa problems.....
My MOBO has set fire if i didn't reacted so soon. Now only three "blocks" are melted and it's pitch black in the section where is believe the sound portion is located!!!

So, no ALSA, no Arch, no PC  :cry:


Brian: You don't need to follow me. You don't need to follow anybody! You've got to think for yourselves. You're all individuals!
Crowd: Yes, we're all individuals!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB