You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-26 18:35:32

edward.81
Member
Registered: 2014-10-25
Posts: 46

OverlayFs can't mount

I wanted to try a bit overlayFS.
But i can't get to mount the overlayFs

sudo mount -t overlay -o lowerdir=~/box1/lower,upperdir=~/box1/upper,workdir=~/box1/workdir overlay ~/box1/merged
mount: special device overlay does not exist

Any hint?

Offline

#2 2016-01-26 20:52:20

respiranto
Member
Registered: 2015-05-15
Posts: 479
Website

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

As the error indicates, you need to specify a proper device file.

Offline

#3 2016-01-27 10:19:22

edward.81
Member
Registered: 2014-10-25
Posts: 46

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

respiranto wrote:

As the error indicates, you need to specify a proper device file.

You can explain better? I looked around the net and the syntax looks fine.

Offline

#4 2016-01-27 11:42:59

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,093

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

Every command I read mentions the order

mount -t overlay overlay

though from what I gather your way should work as well hmm

Also something that might get forgotten occasionally, there wasn't a kernel update from which you didn't reboot yet?

Last edited by V1del (2016-01-27 12:02:08)

Offline

#5 2016-01-27 13:15:06

edward.81
Member
Registered: 2014-10-25
Posts: 46

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

V1del wrote:

Every command I read mentions the order

mount -t overlay overlay

though from what I gather your way should work as well hmm

Also something that might get forgotten occasionally, there wasn't a kernel update from which you didn't reboot yet?

After getting stuck with this error I changed a bit the param order following other people example from the web. And i rebooted my pc during the test, just in case.

Offline

#6 2016-01-27 21:27:11

edward.81
Member
Registered: 2014-10-25
Posts: 46

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

Omg fixed. Sometime you can look at the problem without seeing it. I put on mount params ~/box1/lower but my folder was ~/box1/low
Sorry sad

Offline

#7 2016-01-28 10:46:47

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 22,093

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

Would have been my next guess, don't forget to mark the thread as solved by appending SOLVED to the title of the thread.

Offline

#8 2016-01-28 11:30:14

mich41
Member
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 796

Re: OverlayFs can't mount

Wow, that's a very helpful error message smile

Nice to know about this trap.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB