You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-22 10:28:17

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 55

plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Hello dear arch community,

I'm experiencing an annoyance that's starting to drive me nuts since I upgraded to plasma 5.

Before the upgrade to plasma 5 when I double clicked on empty space in firefox tab bar it would open a new tab, which is the expected behaviour.

Since the upgrade to plasma 5, this doesn't work anymore seemingly because a click on the tab bar turns into a hand to move the window around as used to be done with ALT + click.

I have been looking for documentation about this behaviour or an option to disable it but I didn't find anything relevant, any idea how i could prevent the "single click to move window around" to hijack the "double click to open a new tab" ?

Thanks

Offline

#2 2016-01-22 10:48:03

V1del
Member
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 1,541

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Very unlikely to have anything to do with Plasma, are you absolutely certain this wasn't the GTK3 bump in version 43 of firefox (FWIW the "intended" way to do what you want is using the middle mouse button, might as well have been a feature parity change in firefox)? As for disabling the drag behaviour on clicking empty space, you can disable this in the theme configuration dialog if I recall correctly.

Last edited by V1del (2016-01-22 12:06:45)

Offline

#3 2016-01-22 11:03:00

slithery
Member
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 879

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Definitely not a Firefox issue, double-clicking to open a new tab still works fine here (Firefox 43.04-1 & herbstluftwm).

Offline

#4 2016-01-22 13:06:10

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,554
Website

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

It doesn't work for me with i3 wm. Middle click works though.

Offline

#5 2016-01-23 08:29:48

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 55

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Probably not a firefox issue, Still works same on a debian box with firefox 43.

I have configured middle click to reopen last closed tab and this still works.

I think something capture left clicks to activate the "move window around" feature thus preventing double click, I may be wrong but the plasma desktop seems to be the most probable suspect because the same behaviour can be found in some kde applications such as dolphin, kmail, system settings, konsole.

Last edited by kazimir (2016-01-23 10:59:38)

Offline

#6 2016-01-28 16:22:40

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 55

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

I had some time to look into this issue and going through system settings for the relevant setting.

It seems what V1del was referring was actually window management > window behavior > window actions there is a section "Inner Window, Titlebar& Frame"  which is where one can choose the behavior for mouse actions associated with a modifier key, the ALT + click I was referring earlier. But I can't find a setting to alter the behaviour without using a modifier key.

I'd like to fill a kde bug report and I welcome suggestion about which kde component to fill the report against.

It seems the same issue is in vivaldi (though I'm not sure double clicking is supposed to open a new tab) but is not in opera 12.16 which still has the previous and expected behaviour.

Offline

#7 2016-02-05 10:13:42

kazimir
Member
Registered: 2012-01-20
Posts: 55

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Interestingly, pale moon[1] is unaffected. A double click on the tab bar works as always.

[1]: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/palemoon/

Offline

#8 2016-02-05 10:21:46

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,554
Website

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

Well, Pale Moon doesn't seem to depend on GTK3, so maybe V1del's reasoning holds true?

Offline

#9 2016-02-05 10:49:24

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,252

Re: plasma 5 : unable to open tab with double click in firefox

kazimir wrote:

I'd like to fill a kde bug report and I welcome suggestion about which kde component to fill the report against.

This has nothing to do with KDE
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1224206

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB