You are not logged in.

#1 2015-10-18 06:44:32

hayu
Member
Registered: 2015-10-17
Posts: 4

codeblocks and eclipse won't start normally if the config file exist

Problem description:

After installation, the first run of codeblocks is ok, everything works fine.
But when I try to reopen the software, it will stop at

...
Editor Tweaks plugin: Building menu
Editor Tweaks plugin: making the menu 14
EditorTweaks plugin activated
Code profiler plugin activated
Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler"

(codeblocks:2094): Gtk-WARNING **: gtk_widget_size_allocate(): attempt to allocate widget with width 18 and height -16

The problem is the action Added compiler "GNU GCC Compiler"
A task "gcc -B/usr/lib/hardening-wrapper/bin -pie -fstack-protector-strong -B/usr....(endless)"
occurs in my task list and take use of a cpu core. It won't stop unless I manually kill it. 

And if I delete the config dir auto-generated by the first run of this software

rm -rf ~/.codeblocks

It will works as it run for the first time. And crash for the reopening.(the config dir auto-gen again)

The same situation happens to eclipse. The first run everything is OK, but the following running, high cpu usage, too many nonfunctional problems.

This drive me crazy, and this only happened to my desktop but not laptop.

Last edited by hayu (2015-10-18 06:45:57)

Offline

#2 2015-10-19 11:38:45

hayu
Member
Registered: 2015-10-17
Posts: 4

Re: codeblocks and eclipse won't start normally if the config file exist

I install a new system on a VM, everything works fine. This only happen to my desktop. It may conflicts with some certain setting on my desktop's system. Never mind, I'll do the work on the VM, and rebuild the system someday.

Offline

#3 2016-04-23 14:33:27

Itachi_Uchiha91
Member
Registered: 2016-04-23
Posts: 3

Re: codeblocks and eclipse won't start normally if the config file exist

If I can help someone, I had had the same problem with codeblocks. I solved it simply editing the file "~/.config/codeblocks/default.conf"
in the file default.conf search the following lines:

<gcc>
	<NAME>
		<str>
			<![CDATA[GNU GCC Compiler]]>
		</str>
	</NAME>
	<MASTER_PATH>
		<str>
			<![CDATA[/usr/lib/hardening-wrapper]]>
		</str>
	</MASTER_PATH>
</gcc>

then substitute "/usr/lib/hardening-wrapper" with "/usr".

Last edited by Itachi_Uchiha91 (2016-04-23 14:36:20)

Offline

#4 2017-07-20 22:14:39

vegangaro
Member
Registered: 2017-06-07
Posts: 8

Re: codeblocks and eclipse won't start normally if the config file exist

Itachi_Uchiha91 wrote:

If I can help someone, I had had the same problem with codeblocks. I solved it simply editing the file "~/.config/codeblocks/default.conf"
in the file default.conf search the following lines:

<gcc>
	<NAME>
		<str>
			<![CDATA[GNU GCC Compiler]]>
		</str>
	</NAME>
	<MASTER_PATH>
		<str>
			<![CDATA[/usr/lib/hardening-wrapper]]>
		</str>
	</MASTER_PATH>
</gcc>

then substitute "/usr/lib/hardening-wrapper" with "/usr".


Sorry the necro. editing default.conf as said WORKED! ...so it can be useful for anyone having the same issue with codeblocks!

Arch Linux - Up to date
i3wm

Last edited by vegangaro (2017-07-20 22:15:07)


C++ and KDE = PRAISE THE SUN!

Offline

#5 2017-07-20 22:18:40

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: codeblocks and eclipse won't start normally if the config file exist


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB