You are not logged in.

#1 2016-02-18 05:54:00

NSFBC
Member
Registered: 2016-02-09
Posts: 5

[solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

I am trying to set up vim the way I have it on ubuntu, But I cant seem to get YCM installed properly.

running python2 install.py seemed to work correctly but when I actually open vim, I get a spew of errors and YCM is not availible.

This is what vim outputs every time it opens:

Error detected while processing /usr/share/vim/vim74/ftoff.vim:
line   11:
E216: No such group or event: filetypedetect *
No matching autocommands
No matching autocommands
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
Traceback (most recent call last):
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "<string>", line 30, in <module>
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/home/maxwell/.vim/bundle/YouCompleteMe/autoload/../python/ycm/youcompleteme.py", line 93, in __init__
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    self._SetupServer()
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/home/maxwell/.vim/bundle/YouCompleteMe/autoload/../python/ycm/youcompleteme.py", line 107, in _SetupServer
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    json.dump( options_dict, options_file )
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/__init__.py", line 189, in dump
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    for chunk in iterable:
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/encoder.py", line 434, in _iterencode
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    for chunk in _iterencode_dict(o, _current_indent_level):
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/encoder.py", line 408, in _iterencode_dict
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    for chunk in chunks:
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/json/encoder.py", line 313, in _iterencode_list
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
    yield buf + _encoder(value)
Error detected while processing function youcompleteme#Enable[10]..<SNR>76_SetUpPython:
line   33:
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0x80 in position 0: invalid start byte

Things I have tried:

ensuring that vim has access to python2.7 with :python import sys; print(sys.version)
re-running git submodules update --init --recursive
manually setting the python executable with set g:ycm_path_to_python_interpreter

just in case anyone wants to see it, this is my .vimrc

set nocompatible
filetype off

set rtp+=~/.vim/bundle/Vundle.vim
call vundle#begin()

Plugin 'VundleVim/Vundle.vim'

Plugin 'tpope/vim-fugitive'
Plugin 'SirVer/ultisnips'
Plugin 'honza/vim-snippets'
Plugin 'scrooloose/syntastic'
Plugin 'vim-airline/vim-airline'
Plugin 'vim-airline/vim-airline-themes'
Plugin 'flazz/vim-colorschemes'
Plugin 'jelera/vim-javascript-syntax'
Plugin 'pangloss/vim-javascript'
Plugin 'nathanaelkane/vim-indent-guides'
Plugin 'Valloric/YouCompleteMe'
Plugin 'ervandew/supertab'

call vundle#end()
filetype plugin indent on

" syntastic settings
let g:syntastic_always_populate_loc_list = 1
let g:syntastic_auto_loc_list = 1
let g:syntastic_check_on_open = 1
let g:syntastic_check_on_wq = 0

" airline settings
let g:airline#extensions#tabline#enabled = 1
let g:airline#extensions#tabline#buffer_nr_show = 1
let g:airline#extensions#whitespace#enabled = 0
let g:airline_powerline_fonts = 1
let g:airline#extensions#tabline#buffer_idx_mode = 1
nmap <leader>1 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab1
nmap <leader>2 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab2
nmap <leader>3 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab3
nmap <leader>4 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab4
nmap <leader>5 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab5
nmap <leader>6 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab6
nmap <leader>7 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab7
nmap <leader>8 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab8
nmap <leader>9 <Plug>AirlineSelectTab9
nmap <leader>- <Plug>AirlineSelectPrevTab
nmap <leader>+ <Plug>AirlineSelectNextTab

" ultisnips settings
let g:UltiSnipsExpandTrigger="<tab>"
let g:UltiSnipsJumpForwardTrigger="<c-b>"
let g:UltiSnipsJumpBackwardTrigger="<c-z>"

" ycm settings
let g:ycm_key_list_select_completion = ["\<C-TAB>", "\<Down>"]
let g:ycm_key_list_previous_completion = ["\<C-S-TAB>", "\<Up>"]

" supertab settings
let g:SuperTabDefaultCompletionType = "\<C-Tab>"

command W w !sudo tee % > /dev/null

let mapleader = ","
let g:mapleader = ","

nmap <leader>w :w!<cr>
nmap <leader>p :set paste!<cr>
nmap <leader>n :bn<cr>
nmap <leader>d :bd<cr>
nmap <leader><cr> :nohl<cr>

syntax enable
colorscheme solarized

set laststatus=2
set showcmd
set autoread
set rnu
set nu
set ignorecase
set smartcase
set hlsearch
set incsearch
set lazyredraw
set hid
set showmatch
set nobackup
set nowb
set noswapfile
set expandtab
set smarttab
set shiftwidth=4
set tabstop=4
set ai
set si
set wrap

If anyone can help me figure this out it would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by NSFBC (2016-02-18 08:21:07)

Offline

#2 2016-02-18 06:40:43

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

Since you are using Vundle, don't run the git submodule command.

I'll recommend that you start afresh and follow this guide: https://github.com/Valloric/YouComplete … tion-guide

Offline

#3 2016-02-18 08:20:51

NSFBC
Member
Registered: 2016-02-09
Posts: 5

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

Thanks, starting fresh worked.

Offline

#4 2016-04-25 20:20:53

minze
Member
Registered: 2014-12-20
Posts: 24

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

Did you install YCM with for C-language semantic support? In that case, what clang did you build with? I can't get it to work... I get

could not read symbols: File in wrong format

In the last phase of  the 'Building CXX object' part

Offline

#5 2016-04-27 05:00:54

x33a
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 4,587

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

@minze,

please open a new thread for your issue.

Offline

#6 2016-04-27 06:38:40

Svenstaro
Administrator
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 388

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

The reason it's broken right now is that we're still on old llvm 3.7 but YCM needs llvm 3.8.

Offline

#7 2016-04-27 08:27:02

minze
Member
Registered: 2014-12-20
Posts: 24

Re: [solved] YouCompleteMe problems on arch

@x33a

Ok, we can consider my issue closed

@Svenstaro

Yes, I noticed that. I am pretty new to arch linux but so far, I was always able to get the software I needed running.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB