You are not logged in.

#1 2016-04-15 12:49:06

raggerv8
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 101
Website

[Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

Solved: Issue is due to compton, read more at #363 and #313

The issue is that when executing a command in the terminal, sometimes the output does not update or render. It looks like the terminal is frozen, but if I either move the window, or I type a character in the terminal, it updates. It also updates if there's new output in the terminal, like the clock in tmux statusbar changes, or if someone types in my IRC client which is CLI.

This used to happen when I used Fluxbox, but then I switched to using XFCE and Xfwm4, and it stopped happening. Now it happens again. The issue happens in both Termite and xfce4-terminal, so it's not specific to the terminal application.

This is what I did before this started happening:

1. I switched ZSH framework from Prezto to Zim.
2. I did a system update;

[2016-04-15 09:40] [PACMAN] Running '/usr/bin/pacman --sync --sysupgrade --config /etc/pacman.conf'
[2016-04-15 09:40] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] transaction started
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded android-tools (6.0.1_r22-1 -> 6.0.1_r30-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded deadbeef (0.7.0-3 -> 0.7.1-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded libglvnd (0.0.0.20160315-1 -> 0.1.0.20160411-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded nvidia-utils (361.28-5 -> 364.16-2)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] If you run into trouble with CUDA not being available, run nvidia-modprobe first.
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded nvidia-libgl (361.28-5 -> 364.16-2)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded gtkmm3 (3.20.0-1 -> 3.20.1-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-harfbuzz (1.2.4-2 -> 1.2.6-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-fontconfig (2.11.94-1 -> 2.11.95-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] updating font cache... done.
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-libglvnd (0.1.0.20160329-3 -> 0.1.0.20160411-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-nvidia-utils (361.28-4 -> 364.16-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-nvidia-libgl (361.28-4 -> 364.16-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded ocl-icd (2.2.8-1 -> 2.2.9-1)
[2016-04-15 09:40] [ALPM] upgraded lib32-ocl-icd (2.2.8-1 -> 2.2.9-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded linux (4.4.5-1 -> 4.5-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> Updating module dependencies. Please wait ...
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] >>> Generating initial ramdisk, using mkinitcpio. Please wait...
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'default'
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux.img
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Starting build: 4.5.0-1-ARCH
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [base]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [udev]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [autodetect]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [modconf]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [block]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [fsck]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Generating module dependencies
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux.img
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Image generation successful
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Building image from preset: /etc/mkinitcpio.d/linux.preset: 'fallback'
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> -k /boot/vmlinuz-linux -c /etc/mkinitcpio.conf -g /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img -S autodetect
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Starting build: 4.5.0-1-ARCH
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [base]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [udev]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [modconf]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [block]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: wd719x
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> WARNING: Possibly missing firmware for module: aic94xx
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [filesystems]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [keyboard]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET]   -> Running build hook: [fsck]
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Generating module dependencies
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Creating gzip-compressed initcpio image: /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] ==> Image generation successful
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded mpv (1:0.17.0-1 -> 1:0.17.0-2)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded nvidia (361.28-4 -> 364.16-2)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] In order to use nvidia module, reboot the system.
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded nvidia-ck-haswell (361.28-4 -> 364.16-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM-SCRIPTLET] In order to use nvidia module, reboot the system.
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded nvidia-settings (361.28-1 -> 364.12-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded python-setuptools (1:20.7.0-1 -> 1:20.8.0-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded python2-setuptools (1:20.7.0-1 -> 1:20.8.0-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded sip (4.17-1 -> 4.18-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] upgraded python2-sip (4.17-1 -> 4.18-1)
[2016-04-15 09:41] [ALPM] transaction completed

This started happening after the system update. I changed ZSH framework 1 day ago, and I noticed no issues. I updated today, and it started happening today.
I suppose considering this is not specific for a terminal app, but happens with all of them, and the terminal output updates after key presses or moving the window, it's related to the nvidia driver update?
It's worth to note I am using linux-ck and the nvidia-ck driver, as you can see updated, if that's relevant.

Anyone else that has this issue aswell, or knows what causes it?

Last edited by raggerv8 (2016-04-29 13:58:04)

Offline

#2 2016-04-15 18:55:48

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,131
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

Does in happen with vanilla Zsh?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2016-04-16 08:31:17

raggerv8
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 101
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

jasonwryan wrote:

Does in happen with vanilla Zsh?

I'm not sure why I didn't try uninstalling Zim and trying with vanilla ZSH, but yeah, it still happens with vanilla ZSH.

Offline

#4 2016-04-18 08:07:42

raggerv8
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 101
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

I think it might still be related to ZSH. If I start a tmux session, and keep adding new windows using C-b c, it tends to happen more. If I add 10 windows, it should start happening. I type "bash" to enter bash instead of zsh, and start tying "ls" and there's no freezing. When I exit out of bash and into zsh again, and I type "ls", I get the freezing.

Here's my .zshrc if it's needed: https://gist.github.com/6cb081de4374c03 … file-zshrc

Offline

#5 2016-04-18 09:26:40

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,131
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

When I said vanilla Zsh, I meant no .zshrc or any of the stuff it sources. Is that what you tried?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2016-04-18 09:31:41

raggerv8
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 101
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

jasonwryan wrote:

When I said vanilla Zsh, I meant no .zshrc or any of the stuff it sources. Is that what you tried?

Ah, yeah okay I just did that now, and issue still happens.

I removed ZIM, renamed .zshrc and created a new blank default one (by pressing 0 when it asks you), and tying ls a few times it froze like before until I update the window myself.

Offline

#7 2016-04-28 09:44:49

raggerv8
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 101
Website

Re: [Solved] Terminal output sometimes does not update or render

Update: I said this did not happen in bash, but when I tested now again it did happen. I typed "bash" to go into bash shell, and started typing "ls". It worked fine, then I types "ls -l", still fine, then when I typed "ls" it "froze" again until I pushed a random key to force it to update.

So, it happens with multiple terminal emulators, it happens with both bash and zsh. Could it be related to nvidia, then?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB