You are not logged in.

#1 2016-05-30 09:33:22

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

[SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Hi all,

I am an archlinux lover and user from long time now.
I do not against compilation which could be usefull in lot of cases but if I can avoid it for big and often updated apps, it is not a bad thing.
It is because I add some repos to my arch, for example :
- archlinuxfr for yaourt package
- antergos for kmozillahelper
And I would like to do same with manjaro community repo. In fact I would like to install manjaro firefox-kde package to avoid to compile from aur the firefox-kde-opensuse package which make a very long time on my modest machine.

The problem is that in contrary to archlinuxfr or antergos repos, the manjaro repos naming is conlicted to offical archlinux repos (archlinux/community vs manjaro/community)
I checked in pacman.conf manual and I don't see anything which can help me (no possible to force a database file name or alias repo name)

It is not a really crucial issue but I will happy if it is possible.
BUT I would like found a clean way to do this not a crapy way which results of conflicting packages.

So if you have an idea, Thanks a lot

Last edited by xp-1000 (2016-05-30 11:15:38)

Offline

#2 2016-05-30 09:46:29

Allan
Pacman
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 11,059
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Not possible.

Offline

#3 2016-05-30 10:00:03

Arup
Member
From: Earth
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 89

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Install Manjaro, why bother with Arch then?

Offline

#4 2016-05-30 10:18:14

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Allan wrote:

Not possible.

Thanks for your answer, I am not really surprised.

Arup wrote:

Install Manjaro, why bother with Arch then?

It is not the subject here and I have lot of good reasons to stay on arch but I will summarize with telling that I use arch rather than manjaro for the same reasons lot of sysadmin use debian rather than ubuntu smile
Some people prefer to bother to have a total control and mastering of his system, it is a personal choice.
I would not say that arch is better than manjaro, it is better for me, for my use, for my needs and for my ideals.

Offline

#5 2016-05-30 10:41:34

runical
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2012-03-03
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Manjaro uses different versions of the packages. Adding the Manjaro community repo to your Arch install will give problems, even if you were able to add the repo.

As for firefox-kde (the real problem, right?), I remember there being a repository hosted on the OpenSUSE build service which had a binary version. Take a look at the comments on the AUR page, maybe it's still up. You could also try installing the package directly by downloading it from the Manjaro site and installing it using pacman -U, although that will most likely give problems in the long run.

Offline

#6 2016-05-30 11:15:07

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

runical wrote:

Manjaro uses different versions of the packages. Adding the Manjaro community repo to your Arch install will give problems, even if you were able to add the repo.

As for firefox-kde (the real problem, right?), I remember there being a repository hosted on the OpenSUSE build service which had a binary version. Take a look at the comments on the AUR page, maybe it's still up. You could also try installing the package directly by downloading it from the Manjaro site and installing it using pacman -U, although that will most likely give problems in the long run.

Thanks for the answer.
So seems not a good idea to use manjaro repo as I expected.
Yes exactly, for the moment, it is a firefox-kde binary that I want.
I does not find the binary from opensuse.
Of course, pacman -U after wget package works but it is not a clean way to do this.

But I have my answer, so thanks, I will may be give a new life to a old topic :
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=90345

Offline

#7 2016-05-30 11:25:11

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Ah, with little more search I found the repo you speak about runical thanks for track.
So I does not test install it yet but the repo adding works fine and provide firefox-kde binary (currently updated).
I provide config for those will be interesting but be carrefull and use it with caution, I have no tested and I don't know the origin.

adding this to /etc/pacman.conf :

[home_denkad_ArchLinux]
SigLevel = Never
Usage = All
Server = http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/denkad/ArchLinux/$arch

then :

sudo pacman -Syy

And now we can install firefox-kde withtout wait 1 hour of compilation.

Offline

#8 2016-05-30 11:33:04

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 10,473
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

xp-1000 wrote:

Ah, with little more search I found the repo you speak about runical thanks for track.
So I does not test install it yet but the repo adding works fine and provide firefox-kde binary (currently updated).
I provide config for those will be interesting but be carrefull and use it with caution, I have no tested and I don't know the origin.

adding this to /etc/pacman.conf :

[home_denkad_ArchLinux]
SigLevel = Never
Usage = All
Server = http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/denkad/ArchLinux/$arch

then :

sudo pacman -Syy

And now we can install firefox-kde withtout wait 1 hour of compilation.

Make sure you follow that up with a 'pacman -Su'.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MEG B550 UNIFY // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#9 2016-05-30 15:13:40

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Of course, Thanks for the precision

Offline

#10 2016-06-02 14:43:29

parchd
Member
Registered: 2014-03-08
Posts: 421

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

This thread made so much more sense once I realised it was about a Manjaro package, not a Mandriva package.
I'm sure my brain used to work better than this :S.

Offline

#11 2016-06-03 10:01:51

xp-1000
Member
Registered: 2013-08-04
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

Indeed, it is not impossible but I would not ask for a clean way to install a mandriva package tongue

Offline

#12 2016-06-08 17:27:08

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 474

Re: [SOLVED] Manjaro linux repo in archlinux

I personally dont use it at all so I dont know if there are issues, but wouldnt docker be a better solution than adding repos that may or may not conflict with Arch repos? I see that Firefox can be ran from docker (did a google search).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB