You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-02 13:11:58

Trinity
Member
Registered: 2006-05-02
Posts: 2

XGL and KDE

Hi! I have a problem with XGL. I compiled XGL (i used mikos pkgbuilds) - it was not a problem. Mikos made script to run XGL, i launched it and on the vc/8 starts XGL with GNOME. It worked.
Now, i'd like to use XGL with KDE (default desktop for me). I tried find howto's on the net (gentoo-wiki, ubuntu-wiki, suse-wiki), but KDE still doesnt work as i wish (with XGL smile ).
Is there anybody, who use KDE with XGL a who can describe the path to run KDE on XGL step by step. Thanx!

Offline

#2 2006-05-02 15:45:37

nozey
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 12

Re: XGL and KDE

I got kde and xgl running by doing this:

1) Edit the /usr/bin/startxgl script

vi /usr/bin/startxgl

2) Add one more elif before the last else

elif [ "$2" = "kde" ]; then
  msg "Starting gnome-window-decorator"
  DISPLAY=:$xgldisplay gnome-window-decorator &
  msg "Starting kde"
  DISPLAY=:$xgldisplay exec startkde

3) Save and quit the file.

4) Run startxgl. Example for a nvidia card:

 startxgl 0 kde nvidia

Yep! I know ... my english sucks

Offline

#3 2006-05-14 17:05:56

Tybias
Member
Registered: 2006-05-14
Posts: 10

Re: XGL and KDE

Hi!

I hav got XGl running on GNOME and XFCE/-svn and it work very good, but i cant run it on KDE.

I got the lines in startxgl like you nozey but it doesnt work. When i type "startxgl 1 kde nvidia" run gnome... In console i can see that start gnome-session run by startxgl script , but theres no line about gnome-session in startxgl (kde section)

Here is my script:

#!/bin/bash
# xgl startup script by RiPz @ www.binary-pulse.co.uk
# GNU Public Licence
# woo!
# Edit: 20060301 Added xfce-svn CF (CoffeeBuzz www.tripthelight.net/xgloverlay)

echo "###### STARTXGL SCRIPT ######"

if [ "$1" = "" ]; then
    echo "Usage: startxgl <display> <window> <gfx>"
    echo "<gfx> is optional, values 'ati' or 'nvidia/other', default is nvidia/other"
    echo "Window Managers currently supported: xfce, gnome."
elif [ "$2" = "" ]; then
    echo "Usage: startxgl <display> <window> <gfx>"
    echo "<gfx> is optional, values 'ati' or 'nvidia/other', default is nvidia/other"
    echo "Window Managers currently supported: xfce, gnome."
else
    echo "Starting X Server with XGL"
    echo "   Using Display $1"
    echo "   Using WM: $2"

    if [ "$3" = "ati" ]; then
        echo "   Using Card: ati"
        Xgl :$1 -ac -accel xv:pbuffer -accel glx:pbuffer &
    else
        echo "   Using Card: nvidia/other"
        Xgl :$1 -ac -accel xv -accel glx:pbuffer &
    fi

    sleep 2
    echo "   Starting compiz"
    DISPLAY=:$1 LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/opengl/xorg-x11/lib/ compiz --replace gconf decoration wobbly fade minimize cube rotate zoom scale move resize place switcher &
    sleep 2

    echo "   Starting Window Manager"

    if [ "$2" = "gnome" ]; then
        DISPLAY=:$1 gnome-window-decorator &
        DISPLAY=:$1 /usr/libexec/gnome-settings-daemon &
        DISPLAY=:$1 nautilus -n --sync &
        DISPLAY=:$1 gnome-panel
    elif [ "$2" = "xfce" ]; then
        DISPLAY=:$1 xfce-mcs-manager
        DISPLAY=:$1 gnome-window-decorator &
        DISPLAY=:$1 xftaskbar4 &
        DISPLAY=:$1 xfdesktop &
        DISPLAY=:$1 exec xfce4-panel
    elif [ "$2" = "xfce-svn" ]; then
        DISPLAY=:$1 xfce-mcs-manager
        DISPLAY=:$1 gnome-window-decorator &
        DISPLAY=:$1 xfdesktop &
        DISPLAY=:$1 exec xfce4-panel
    elif [ "$2" = "kde" ]; then
        DISPLAY=:$1 gnome-window-decorator &
        DISPLAY=:$1 exec startkde &
    fi
    
    echo "   DONE!"
fi

Thx for any sugest!

PS:. Sory for my english tongue (im from Poland)

Offline

#4 2006-05-14 18:11:48

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

Re: XGL and KDE

i ran it sometimes with kde but there were some error with the panel etc...
i think atm only gnome if fully supported but you can give it a try if you want

Offline

#5 2006-05-14 18:40:41

Tybias
Member
Registered: 2006-05-14
Posts: 10

Re: XGL and KDE

i khnow that there were some problems with tray, but it is solved now. I want try it but i dont khnow how hmm

Offline

#6 2006-05-16 06:42:11

fdrebin
Member
Registered: 2005-04-25
Posts: 152

Re: XGL and KDE

i used the packages from shadowhands rep and then just replaced something like start-gnome in the script with start-kde.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB