You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-20 20:00:57

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

[MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Hello everyone!

I have installed mpd and I try to start it but it fail:

Archroot:# /etc/rc.d/mpd start
:: Starting Music Player Daemon                                          [FAIL]

I follow the instruction on mpd homepage for archlinux...

Here my config file:

# MPD CONFIG FILE
# For a full description of all config parameters,
# Check the mpd man page, "man mpd".

##################### REQUIRED ###########################
port             "6600"
music_directory     "/mnt/multi/musique"
playlist_directory     "~/.mpd/playlists"
log_file         "~/.mpd/mpd.log"
error_file         "~/.mpd/mpd.error"
##########################################################

################# FILESYSTEM SETTINGS ####################
#
filesystem_charset "UTF-8"
#
##########################################################

#################### OPTIONAL FILES ######################
#
# Location of DB file 
#
db_file        "~/.mpd/mpd.db"
#
state_file        "~/.mpd/mpdstate"
#
##########################################################


################### VOLUME MIXER #########################
#
# ALSA Mixer 
mixer_type        "alsa"
mixer_device        "default"
mixer_control        "PCM"

################# SECURITY SETTINGS ######################

user         "shaika-dzari"

Can you help me?

Thank you!

@+

Offline

#2 2006-05-20 20:07:31

augustob
Member
From: Florianópolis, Brazil
Registered: 2006-03-17
Posts: 134

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Try runnind "mpd" from de command line, it'll show any error messages then. My first guess would be if the playlists directory exists inside .mpd.

Offline

#3 2006-05-20 21:44:41

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Where is the config file located? In $HOME or /etc?


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#4 2006-05-20 22:01:16

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Yup, you probably need to "mkdir -p ~/.mpd/playlists"


I am a gated community.

Offline

#5 2006-05-20 23:05:44

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

augustob wrote:

Try runnind "mpd" from de command line, it'll show any error messages then. My first guess would be if the playlists directory exists inside .mpd.

Thank you.

I got this when I try to run mpd:

shaika-dzari:$ mpd                                                            ~
unable to bind port 6600, maybe MPD is still running?
error binding port

My conf file is in /etc

Both root and my user has /.mpd/playlists create.

Why mpd need a port? (6600?)

Thank you for help.

@+

Offline

#6 2006-05-21 06:17:39

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Hello!

I install mpd-svn from aur and now I can start the mpd deamon  smile
But I get this now:

Archroot:# mpc playlist
MPD_HOST and/or MPD_PORT environment variables are not set
error: timeout in attempting to get a response from "localhost" on port 6600

The begining of my hosts:

#<ip>   <hostname>   <hostname>
127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost darkside

I try to put localhost, darkside or 127.0.0.1 in the mpd.conf for the line bind_to_address but no change...

Thank you again for your help.
If you need more info, tell me  wink

@+

Offline

#7 2006-05-21 08:24:50

paranoos
Member
From: thornhill.on.ca
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 442

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

what does ifconfig say? do you have a connection for lo?

check /etc/rc.conf, you should have some lines like this:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo eth0)

the loopback device (lo) is a fake network adapter that lets network-aware applications talk to the local host. it sounds to me like you've disabled it.

Offline

#8 2006-05-21 17:23:51

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Thank all of you for your help.
It works now.

I modify the /etc/mpd.conf like this:

##################### REQUIRED ###########################
port                    "6600"
music_directory         "/mnt/multi/musique"
playlist_directory      "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/playlists"
log_file                "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.log"
error_file              "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.error"
pid_file                "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.pid"
##########################################################

################# SECURITY SETTINGS ######################
#
user            "shaika-dzari"
bind_to_address         "darkside"

Everything is fine now.

Now I need something to control it in my fvwm menu.  tongue

@+ and thanks again.

Offline

#9 2006-05-21 18:33:15

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Shaika-Dzari wrote:

Thank all of you for your help.
It works now.

I modify the /etc/mpd.conf like this:

##################### REQUIRED ###########################
port                    "6600"
music_directory         "/mnt/multi/musique"
playlist_directory      "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/playlists"
log_file                "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.log"
error_file              "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.error"
pid_file                "/home/shaika-dzari/.mpd/mpd.pid"
##########################################################

################# SECURITY SETTINGS ######################
#
user            "shaika-dzari"
bind_to_address         "darkside"

Everything is fine now.

Now I need something to control it in my fvwm menu.  tongue

@+ and thanks again.

So you use MPD-svn?


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#10 2006-05-21 19:57:44

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

whargoul wrote:

So you use MPD-svn?

Yes  smile

There are some differences?

@+ whargoul

Offline

#11 2006-05-21 21:19:20

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: [MPD] Fail to start [solved]

Shaika-Dzari wrote:
whargoul wrote:

So you use MPD-svn?

Yes  smile

There are some differences?

@+ whargoul

Yeah I noticed that, when I switched to it for the first time. Theres is actally big differences between those two.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB