You are not logged in.

#1 2016-10-02 17:35:54

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 889

[SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

OK, to be clear, this is not a problem with printing TO a PDF file, but rather putting a PDF file onto paper. Whether it's viewed in Firefox, or Document Viewer, when I go to print their are no printers presented in the dialogue, the only option is "Print to file".

Now, I can print a test page via CUPS, and I can export to postscript and print via GIMP, but obviously, I'd rather just print.

Any clues?

TIA

Last edited by Roken (2016-10-04 12:56:26)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#2 2016-10-02 19:07:35

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,166

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Offline

#3 2016-10-02 21:37:43

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 889

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

extra/cups-pdf 2.6.1-2 [installed]
PDF printer for cups

Though I'm pretty sure that is to solve exactly what I made clear is not the problem.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#4 2016-10-02 22:16:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,166

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

maybe a gtk3 issue?
can you actually print *anything* from firefox or "document viewer" (gnomes new meaningless name for evince?)
can you print pdf from gimp?
can you print "lp foo.pdf" (choose a simple pdf file, if printed raw, that's masses of ascii junk ;-)

Offline

#5 2016-10-03 20:12:15

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 889

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Printing from firefox,  as I understand it, creates a PDF of the webpage to print, so no.

I can print a pdf from GIMP

I can print a pdf with lp.

Printing with lp requires

lp xxx.pdf -d Canon_MG4200_series

in my case.

Last edited by Roken (2016-10-03 20:14:05)


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#6 2016-10-04 11:30:30

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Do you have gtk3-print-backends installed?

Offline

#7 2016-10-04 12:54:19

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 889

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Excellent call - I didn't, now I have and it's fixed.  Thank you.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#8 2016-10-07 19:49:47

boris64
Member
Registered: 2015-08-06
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Ayyyyyyyyyeee, this was driving me nuts for at least 2 hours.

Since when do I need this extra package? I didn't print from within
firefox since last week (it always _did_ work?) and suddenly my network printer was not available anymore (firefox only).

Is this something i overread while updating my favorite browser (or whatever)?

Conclusion: This worked for me as well. Thank you!

Offline

#9 2016-10-07 20:46:12

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 889

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

It does seem to be a most unannounced change.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Ryzen 1800x 8 core/16 thread - GTX 1060 6Gb, Asus ROG STRIX B350-F, 16Gb Corsair DDR4, Cooler Master N300 chassis, 6 HD (2SSD - 4Spinners) + 1 x optical.
Linux user #545703

Offline

#10 2016-10-12 16:24:53

Viaken
Member
Registered: 2008-06-26
Posts: 14

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Thank you! I've been trying to figure out why my printers disappeared in the latest round of updates. gtk3-print-backends fixed it.

Offline

#11 2016-10-13 11:05:41

Raynman
Member
Registered: 2011-10-22
Posts: 1,235

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Pacman normally prints a message during upgrades when new optional dependencies are added to a package (gtk3 in this case). Then you can check them out and decide if you want/need them.

Offline

#12 2016-10-14 00:28:36

vstuart
Member
From: Vancouver
Registered: 2016-04-12
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Thank you very much for the "gtk3-print-backends" suggestion.  All of a sudden, my printers vanished from Firefox [v.49.0.1].  They were present in other apps (Claws Mail; Geany; Opera; ...) and showed up in Firefox >> about:config >> print_printer ...

After installing (pacman) "gtk3-print-backends" my printers automagically reappeared in my Firefox print dialogue (I did not even have to restart Firefox).  Excellent catch/advice/solution!  :-D

Offline

#13 2016-10-14 16:10:25

hoelzro
Member
Registered: 2007-01-14
Posts: 8

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

Does pacman print that optional dependencies suggestion during an upgrade?  I don't remember seeing it, and I downgraded gtk3 and re-upgraded to check.

Offline

#14 2016-10-14 16:43:51

vstuart
Member
From: Vancouver
Registered: 2016-04-12
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] No printers when trying to print a PDF

@hoelzro: I don't know (re: "Does pacman print that optional dependencies suggestion during an upgrade?").  However:

    https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extr … 4/firefox/

lists

    gtk3

as a dependency, and

    https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/gtk3/

lists

     gtk3-print-backends (optional) - Printing

as an optional dependency.

I actually found this BBS.ArchLinux.org page (2nd hit) through a Google search on the issue:  arch linux firefox no printers

... otherwise I would have been stymied as I wouldn't have chased down that dependency.  Firefox printing was working; then it wasn't -- probably due to a package upgrade (pacman | pacaur).  It solved my issue; I hope it helps others, as well!  It was a simple; facile solution: others had suggestions of sym-linking system pacjages ... Ugh!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB