You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-16 05:56:27

chane
Member
Registered: 2003-12-02
Posts: 93

3 Terabytes of data?

I'm working with a small firm to put together a 3 TB system.  Any recommendations?

I've been thinking about getting server case that can hold as many drives as possible (they don't have to be hot swappable).  Any suggestions for a good case that is capable of holding lots of drives.

I was then thinking of putting enough 500GB SATA drives in a RAID 5 configuration running Arch/Samba.  The files are primarly going to be CD/DVDs that will be accessed a few times a day to move the files from the server to a production burner.  So I was thinking just about any processor (P4 or better) would work.  And then I've been reading that two network connection on a GB network (which is what they are running on), would work best.

Any thoughts.  This size of hardware is new to me and there are lots of options out there...

Thanks,
Chris....

Offline

#2 2006-05-16 11:38:03

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 489

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

Spend the money and get a 3ware hardware raid controller. Put as many drives as you want into a RAID 5 array. Create a LVM array on the RAID array for maximum flexibility.

Offline

#3 2006-05-16 11:50:24

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

ZFS!! ZFS!!!!!

Maybe if you get a dual core CPU you can save money on the RAID5-controller: let one of the core's handle the parity calculations. I'm not sure if it's as easy as I make it sound though.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#4 2006-05-16 15:20:11

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

If you don't need uber-fast 10k-15k rpm drives, I see that Seagate now has a 750GB SATA drive for sale on newegg.

Offline

#5 2006-05-16 20:03:23

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 12,173

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

Case : Chieftec CA-01 , 10x 3.5" bays and 6x 5.25"bays ,room for 7 case fans

(in case you can read dutch, check http://tweakers.net/reviews/624/6 )

edit : typo in the url


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#6 2006-05-16 20:52:43

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

Lone_Wolf wrote:

Case : Chieftec CA-01 , 10x 3.5" bays and 6x 5.25"bays ,room for 7 case fans

(in case you can read dutch, check thttp://tweakers.net/reviews/624/6 )

:shock:

Offline

#7 2006-05-17 06:09:31

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

A Coolermaster Stacker also seems nice for disks. It provides a lot of space for disks and adequate cooling functionality.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#8 2006-05-17 06:58:21

Romashka
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2005-12-07
Posts: 1,054

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

We are going to build 1.5TB storage array with Intel RAID controller SRCS28X (SATA II-300 õ 6, RAID 0,1,5,10,50, 128MB, PCI-X (PCI-X is extended PCI,  not PCI Express)) and 6 300GB Seagate Barracudas 7200.9 (SATA 2.5 + NCQ + 16MB buffer). Maybe we will use XFS as filesystem for this RAID5 array.


to live is to die

Offline

#9 2006-05-25 15:21:58

chane
Member
Registered: 2003-12-02
Posts: 93

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

Thanks for the advice everyone.

It looks like we are going with a 3Ware (thanks kleptophobiac) with either 8 500GB or 750GB drives.

Thanks again,
Chris....

Offline

#10 2006-05-26 04:50:24

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 489

Re: 3 Terabytes of data?

Always glad to be of help!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB