You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-25 21:50:19

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Lucent modem problem[solved]

Hi everyone!

My girlfriend ask me to setup his computer with a linux.
I choose arch  wink

She has a lucent winmodem and I would like to know how to setup his connection.
After some search I install ltmodem with pacman.
Pacman did it without error.

I add this in /etc/modprobe.conf:

alias char-major-62  ltserial
alias /dev/modem     ltserial

I also have this file for udev:

bash-3.1$ cat ltmodem.rules
ACTION=="add", KERNEL=="ttyLTM[0-9]", MODE=="0660", GROUP=="tty", RUN+="/lib/udev/load-modules.sh ppp-generic",  SYMLINK+="modem"

And:

bash-3.1$ locate ltmodem.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-ARCH/kernel/drivers/net/ltmodem.ko
bash-3.1$ locate ltserial.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-ARCH/kernel/drivers/net/ltserial.ko

Problem:
The ltserial and ltmodem module did not load and I did not have a /dev/modem or a /dev/ttyLT0
Currently I using my cable connection (eth0...) and the rc.conf is set top use dhcp.
How must I modify the rc.conf to use the lucent modem?
I try to add ppp_generic, ltmodem and ltserial to module section but I have a error when I boot for ltmodem and ltserial (does'nt exist ?).

I never set a 56k connection  sad
Please help  smile

@+

Offline

#2 2006-05-26 09:11:15

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,262

Re: Lucent modem problem[solved]

clean your modprobe.conf and try to load ltserial and ltmodem with modprobe

Offline

#3 2006-05-27 22:42:25

Shaika-Dzari
Member
From: Québec, Canada
Registered: 2006-04-14
Posts: 436
Website

Re: Lucent modem problem[solved]

Thank Tpowa wink

It works now.

@+

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB