You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-30 23:23:10

Dokter Bibber
Member
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 65

[RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Are there any other AMD RX 480/470 users experiencing the graphical gliches with Blender 2.78a as shown in the screenshots?

Have you resolved the glitches, and how?

The screenshot with KDE DE (first one) is with kernel 4.7.? and amdgpu ?.?.?.
The 2 Deepin DE screenshots are with kernel 4.8.11 and amdgpu 1.2.0.
I do not have screenshots of Gnome DE showing the artifacts. I did not notice any glitches with the first installation of Gnome. But did on the second installation which (lasted less than a day).
But this happens ever since the first kernel (v4.7.x) with support for Polaris.
These were all fresh installations. SSDs formatted first before each installation.

As usual with these sort of things, it does not happen in Windows 8.1/10 and not in Ubuntu. I tested with all of them. So it is not the hardware.
Google chrome also showed some graphics glitches when hitting F11 (full screen). But that has not happened anymore now for the past 2 kernel updates.

I'm thinking of selling on the card if I can't resolve this, and move to the green camp which has drivers for more than just 2 distros.

Blender 2.78a on KDE right after starting it.

blender_2_78a_AMD_RX_480_8_GB_artifacts_0_KDE_sta.png

Blender 2.78a on Deepin right after starting it.

blender_2_78a_AMD_RX_480_8_GB_artifacts_1_Deepin.png

Blender 2.78a on Deepin just after finishing the Cycles benchmark from Blenderartists.

blender_2_78a_AMD_RX_480_8_GB_artifacts_2_Deepin.png

Last edited by Dokter Bibber (2016-12-03 04:08:12)

Offline

#2 2016-12-01 10:57:02

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 5,469

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Dr. Bibber,this sounds more like a blender issue.

Have you tried with mesa-git or amdgpu-pro ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2016-12-01 12:48:54

Dokter Bibber
Member
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 65

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

@Lone_Wolf I was looking at installing mesa-git from your thread here : https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=212819
But (in response to your suggestion in the post above) I'm not too sure if I only have to replace mesa with mesa-git, or/and also llvm and/or xf86-video-amdgpu.
Also, I finally have X and amdgpu both set the dpi and screen dimensions correctly. So I'm a bit hesitant.
But if the procedure is reasonably straightforward I'm willing to do a complete replacement from core+extra to *-git.

About amdgpu-pro, I regularly check the AMD website of course, but I only see Red Hat and Ubuntu driver versions.
And of course the manual way : http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-article … stall.aspx (for when I'm desperate).

Last edited by Dokter Bibber (2016-12-01 12:49:31)

Offline

#4 2016-12-01 13:11:03

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 5,469

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

There is https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/amdgpu-pro/ , and i do think some people in  The AMD/ATI Bar & Grill mentioned using it .

Mesa-git does indeed require llvm-svn / clang-svn , if you need them for other purposes then mesa that could be a problem.

X config and xf86-video-amdgpu should not be affected by switching to mesa-git/llvm-svn .


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2016-12-01 14:39:11

Dokter Bibber
Member
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 65

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Thanks for the info.
I'm going to try these options later today.
I'll start with the AUR package to see if I can get a quick fix for everything.

EDIT: Looks like the amdgpu-pro package in the AUR is out of date. Not touching it.

Last edited by Dokter Bibber (2016-12-01 15:35:27)

Offline

#6 2016-12-03 04:06:44

Dokter Bibber
Member
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 65

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

I uninstalled Blender permanently.

Reason : I wanted to report a bug at developer.blender.org, but Arch users (and anyone not using Blender Foundation Blender) are sent back to their package maintainers : https://developer.blender.org/T29495#137152
I also don't want them. What a waste of time.
And they should stop counting non BF Blender users as users.

It's out of my system now. hmm

Offline

#7 2016-12-03 07:35:08

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,265

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

The complaint there would indeed be a distro problem, the blender binary links a non-existing library. That's not their problem.
=> Do you use blender from the repos (ie. installed via pacman) and is so: did you perform a partial update (update only boost, downgrade only blender,...)

The screenshots show garbled textures which are either a bug in blender (accessing dated texture IDs) or the driver (fails to keep apart different GL contexts)
=> For a quick test, try to run blender on a non-compositing desktop (icewm or fluxbox) or simply suspend the KDE compositor ("SHIFT+Alt+F12" toggles it)

Offline

#8 2016-12-06 09:59:56

libgradev
Member
From: Wandering the Wilds
Registered: 2012-02-23
Posts: 31

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

File->User Preferences->System

Set Window Draw Method to Tripple Buffer.

Gra


ASUS P8Z68V-PRO | Intel Core i7-2600K | 32GB Corsair Vengeance | AMD RX480 8GB | LG 34UC88 | 3x NEC EA232WMi | 1x Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | 5x WD Red 4TB (RAID6) | Sennheiser URBANITE XL Wireless | Roccat KoneXTD Optical

Offline

#9 2016-12-06 14:38:14

Dokter Bibber
Member
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 65

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Thanks for posting. But like I posted earlier, I had already permanently uninstalled Blender.
I'm sticking to GLSL, OSL, and HLSL without Blender.

Offline

#10 2016-12-07 15:03:58

jforberg
Member
Registered: 2013-04-27
Posts: 9

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

How exactly was this RESOLVED?

I'm having the same problem (280X GPU on "radeon" driver) but I can't understand from the thread what actually resolved the problem.

Could anyone clarify?

Offline

#11 2016-12-07 15:27:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,265

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Did you try reading comments #6 - #9?

Offline

#12 2016-12-07 20:38:58

Roken
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 774

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Whilst I have some sympathy with the OP's problem and resolution, nose, cut, face and spite come to mind.


[img=Speedtest]http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5145583518[/img]

Nvidia GTX 680 4Gb, AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz (Overclocked) 8GB RAM
Linux user #545703

Offline

#13 2016-12-07 20:46:58

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,265

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

smile

I can't really say for the triple buffering suggestion, but a common cause for invalid/junk texture accesses is a failure to activate the context - either a bug in the driver or the client. So I'd seriously try w/o any other GL contexts around. Notably any compositors but in the plasmashell case even w/o that (resp. force QtQuick to the raster engine after one determined that the shells context is the or a troublemaker)

----
"Never give up! Never surrender!" -- Jason Nesmith

Offline

#14 2016-12-08 11:18:01

jforberg
Member
Registered: 2013-04-27
Posts: 9

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Seth: Of course I read your comment but clearly uninstalling Blender isn't a "solution". Perhaps you were joking?

I'm already running without composition (dwm on plain X). I can't find any option in the radeon driver to turn on triple buffering, would you know how to do this?

Offline

#15 2016-12-08 13:41:11

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,265

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

How did you read them? Google translate'd??

You wanted to know how the OP resolved this issue, *he* said what he did. I merely said what I'd try to actually resolve this, so did  libgradev.
Nobody ever *suggested* anybody *should* resolve this by uninstalling blender. Not even as a joke. On the contrary.

The triple buffering (libgradev suggestion) is apparently (obviously?) a feature of blender.

Offline

#16 2016-12-08 15:40:32

jforberg
Member
Registered: 2013-04-27
Posts: 9

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Seth, thanks for pointing that out. No need to get worked up over this. The workaround proposed by libgradev worked perfectly for me, so I'm happy.

Just in case anyone wanders into this topic who is as thick as I am, Triple Buffering is an option in Blender, not in KDE.

Offline

#17 2016-12-08 17:00:29

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,044
Website

Re: [RESOLVED] Blender experiences graphical glitches with AMD RX 480 8GB.

Closing this resolved topic. jforberg, please open a new topic for your issue.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB