You are not logged in.

#1 2017-01-10 23:48:04

KevinH
Member
Registered: 2017-01-09
Posts: 10

[SOLVED] Bumblebee config and dual monitor

Hello there.

I'm trying to config bumblebee on my new laptop (msi gs63vr) and i'm having a little trouble concerning the dual monitor thing, let me explain.

I can actually make a configuration that is working perfectly well when i'm using only the laptop display. I can run :

 optirun glxspheres 

without a problem.

But if I connect a second monitor on the HDMI port and run :

intel-virtual-output

the second monitor displays nothing, and it seems logical since there is this option, in the /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia file :

Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"

So I tried to comment this option, restart bumblebeed.service, run intel-virtual-output, run optirun true. And yay it works ! dual screen !
BUT if I do not have a second monitor connected and do the same thing (restart bumblebeed.service, run optirun true), I got this error :

[ 3372.848347] [ERROR]Cannot access secondary GPU - error: [XORG] (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to assign any connected display devices to X screen 0. 

[ 3372.848379] [ERROR]Aborting because fallback start is disabled.

The thing is I would like to have only one configuration for both setup (with dual monitor and without) since this is a laptop and I have multiple workplaces (One with dual screen and another without)
And of course I could modify the /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia file depending on where I work, but this is not very convenient.

I've done some research and I can't find the correct set on options to use in bumblebee's configurations files to resolve this.



Does anyone knows how to do this, or have any idea about what's going on ?


---


For more information, here are the complete configurations files i'm using right now.

/etc/bumblebee/bumblebee.conf

[bumblebeed]
VirtualDisplay=:8
KeepUnusedXServer=true
ServerGroup=bumblebee
TurnCardOffAtExit=false
NoEcoModeOverride=false
Driver=
XorgConfDir=/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.d

[optirun]
Bridge=auto
VGLTransport=proxy
PrimusLibraryPath=/usr/lib/primus:/usr/lib32/primus
AllowFallbackToIGC=false

## Section with nvidia driver specific options, only parsed if Driver=nvidia
[driver-nvidia]
# Module name to load, defaults to Driver if empty or unset
KernelDriver=nvidia
PMMethod=bbswitch
# colon-separated path to the nvidia libraries
LibraryPath=/usr/lib/nvidia:/usr/lib32/nvidia
# comma-separated path of the directory containing nvidia_drv.so and the
# default Xorg modules path
XorgModulePath=/usr/lib/nvidia/xorg/,/usr/lib/xorg/modules
XorgConfFile=/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia

## Section with nouveau driver specific options, only parsed if Driver=nouveau
[driver-nouveau]
KernelDriver=nouveau
PMMethod=bbswitch
XorgConfFile=/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nouveau

/etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout0"
    Option      "AutoAddDevices" "true"
    Option      "AutoAddGPU" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "DiscreteNvidia"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"

    BusID "PCI:01:00:0"

    Option "ProbeAllGpus" "false"

    Option "NoLogo" "true"
    Option "UseEDID" "true"
    #Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

And I have no configuration file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d concerning nvidia, and no /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.

Just in case, here is the result of the command : lspci -k | grep -A 2 -E "(VGA|3D)"

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 530 (rev 06)
	1Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] Device 11ad
	Kernel driver in use: i915
--
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060] (rev a1)
	Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. [MSI] Device 11ad
	Kernel driver in use: nvidia

Last edited by KevinH (2017-01-12 17:42:31)

Offline

#2 2017-01-12 15:39:51

KevinH
Member
Registered: 2017-01-09
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Bumblebee config and dual monitor

This issue may not be related to the number of screens but to my battery.

I have TLP installed and I just noticed this in /etc/default/tlp

# Runtime PM for *all* PCI(e) bus devices, except blacklisted ones:
#   0=disable, 1=enable
RUNTIME_PM_ALL=1

# Exclude PCI(e) device adresses the following list from Runtime PM
# (separate with spaces). Use lspci to get the adresses (1st column).
RUNTIME_PM_BLACKLIST=""

# Exclude PCI(e) devices assigned to the listed drivers from Runtime PM
# (should prevent accidential power on of hybrid graphics' discrete part).
# Default is "radeon nouveau"; use "" to disable the feature completely.
# Separate multiple drivers with spaces.
RUNTIME_PM_DRIVER_BLACKLIST="radeon nouveau"

As I use the nvidia driver, this is not blacklisted. Will investigate on that.

Last edited by KevinH (2017-01-12 15:41:05)

Offline

#3 2017-01-12 17:41:59

KevinH
Member
Registered: 2017-01-09
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] Bumblebee config and dual monitor

Okay, the issue was not due to TLP, at least the error message I posted here.

I managed to resolve the issue by adding this to /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia (inside the Device section) :

Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "true"

EDIT

So here is the complete /etc/bumblebee/xorg.conf.nvidia file I use right now

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Layout0"
    Option      "AutoAddDevices" "true"
    Option      "AutoAddGPU" "false"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "DiscreteNvidia"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "NVIDIA Corporation"

#   If the X server does not automatically detect your VGA device,
#   you can manually set it here.
#   To get the BusID prop, run `lspci | egrep 'VGA|3D'` and input the data
#   as you see in the commented example.
#   This Setting may be needed in some platforms with more than one
#   nvidia card, which may confuse the proprietary driver (e.g.,
#   trying to take ownership of the wrong device). Also needed on Ubuntu 13.04.
#    BusID "PCI:01:00:0"

#   Setting ProbeAllGpus to false prevents the new proprietary driver
#   instance spawned to try to control the integrated graphics card,
#   which is already being managed outside bumblebee.
#   This option doesn't hurt and it is required on platforms running
#   more than one nvidia graphics card with the proprietary driver.
#   (E.g. Macbook Pro pre-2010 with nVidia 9400M + 9600M GT).
#   If this option is not set, the new Xorg may blacken the screen and
#   render it unusable (unless you have some way to run killall Xorg).
    Option "ProbeAllGpus" "false"

    Option "AllowEmptyInitialConfiguration" "true"

    Option "NoLogo" "true"
    Option "UseEDID" "true"
    #Option "UseDisplayDevice" "none"
EndSection

Last edited by KevinH (2017-01-12 17:44:12)

Offline

#4 2017-04-22 19:50:36

darlac
Member
Registered: 2017-04-22
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED] Bumblebee config and dual monitor

Hi there,
I am struggling with my new laptop (gp62mvr) with the dual screens;
I have the same graphic card combo as the one you use - I followed your suggestions and I cannot get to connect to the external monitor
any advice or suggestions?
cheers, Dimitris
PS I get the cannot access secondary gpu - error

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB