You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-02 20:29:33

Registered: 2003-11-12
Posts: 37

Pacman doesn't seem to connect

I am trying Arch 0.6 since it now has proxy support.  I've run into a big problem here, though. 
I added the following lines to pacman.conf:

ProxyServer =
ProxyPort     = 8080

When I try "pacman -Sy" I get a few lines that look like

current          [            ] -2147483648%|     OK|      0.0K/s|  0

and then something like

could not extract audiofile-0.2.5-1/desc: Invalid argument

Did I forget something or enter something wrong?
Any help is appreciated

Edit:  I have an nforce motheboard, could this be related to the forcedeth driver
I can ping outside servers, only pacman seems to not work


#2 2004-03-03 01:41:31

From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Pacman doesn't seem to connect

Ok some question....
You say your network connection is working.
Is this the first time you run pacman??
Did you try to ping any of the server in /etc/pacman.conf??
If yes try to connect to one of them by ftp an see if it work.
Check also pacman log file it should be in
If ther is no file add the following to you /etc/pacman.conf
LogFile =  /var/log/pacman.log


#3 2004-03-03 16:13:34

Registered: 2003-11-12
Posts: 37

Re: Pacman doesn't seem to connect

I tried pinging the servers and then realized that all the packets were being filtered by local IP 
I have no idea what this is indicating

Oh yeah, and my pacman.log file has no errors in it.  It just has a lot of lines that say "synchronizing package list"


Board footer

Powered by FluxBB