You are not logged in.

#1 2017-02-17 15:51:24

klentient
Member
Registered: 2017-02-09
Posts: 3

Can I install KDE4 ?

It seems like I'll get the latest kde5 if I type 'pacman -S plasma'.
How do I get kde4? I know it's deprecated but still.

Thanks

Offline

#2 2017-02-17 16:49:39

Omar007
Member
Registered: 2015-04-09
Posts: 173

Re: Can I install KDE4 ?

News from 2015-12-12: https://www.archlinux.org/news/dropping-plasma-4/
So you don't. At least not through any supported means.
You'll have to either create your own PKGBUILD or find some other person that has already done so.

Last edited by Omar007 (2017-02-17 16:50:08)

Offline

#3 2017-02-17 16:49:44

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 6,984
Website

Re: Can I install KDE4 ?

Depreciated? It's unsupported. Upstream has discontinued it, and Arch hasn't supported it for well over a year now.

If you want to use KDE4, then you should probably look into a different distribution. LTS versions of some distros may still be using it.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#4 2017-02-18 01:04:21

klentient
Member
Registered: 2017-02-09
Posts: 3

Re: Can I install KDE4 ?

Ughh that's sad, ok I'll stay with xfce4 then. Thx anyway

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB