You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-05 08:31:08

MartinZ
Member
From: Chiloé, Chile
Registered: 2005-06-10
Posts: 375

kde menu lost

I guess with last upgrade i lost every single kde-menu entry. Y use xfce and have minimal kde pkgs installed, so i just noticed it because there where no k3b and amarok in my xfce menu.

I removed kde from my system (also every config file i found) and reinstalled it, both extra and testing to check if there where something wrong with testing packages.

Running kde it shows no apps in menu, just control panel, execute and log out. Trying to run control panel does nothing.

I'm able to run every app from console.

I don't know what else can i do, i would really appreciate some help...       sad


All your base are belong to us

Offline

#2 2006-06-05 11:09:38

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: kde menu lost

Does running 'kbuildsycoca' from a console while in KDE help?


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#3 2006-06-05 15:03:43

MartinZ
Member
From: Chiloé, Chile
Registered: 2005-06-10
Posts: 375

Re: kde menu lost

First of all, thanks for replying.     tongue

I ran it different ways, as root and as user, with and without options (--noncremental, --global, --nocheckfiles, --menutest) and always got almost the same errors:

As user:

[martin@myhost ~]$ kbuildsycoca
kbuildsycoca running...
Reusing existing ksycoca
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: Load error ()
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'ark_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/x-tbz2'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/english'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-c'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-c++'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'kcertpart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/binary-certificate'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'katepart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-fortran'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'knotify.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'KNotify'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'gvimagepart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'image/x-krl'


As root:

[root@myhost martin]# kbuildsycoca
Warning: kbuildsycoca is unable to register with DCOP.
kbuildsycoca running...
kbuildsycoca running...
Reusing existing ksycoca
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: Load error ()
KWrited - Listening on Device /dev/pts/3
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'ark_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/x-tbz2'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/english'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-c'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'karm_part.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-c++'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'kcertpart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/binary-certificate'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'katepart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'text/x-fortran'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'knotify.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'KNotify'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: 'gvimagepart.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'image/x-krl'

And the menu keeps empty.


All your base are belong to us

Offline

#4 2006-06-05 15:21:12

MartinZ
Member
From: Chiloé, Chile
Registered: 2005-06-10
Posts: 375

Re: kde menu lost

Running kcontrol loads an empty control panel.

In konqueror, when clicking a file to open, it has no registered apps (the "known application" list is empty).

I'm getting sick of all this weirdness!!!


All your base are belong to us

Offline

#5 2006-06-06 02:56:15

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: kde menu lost

MartinZ wrote:

Running kcontrol loads an empty control panel.

In konqueror, when clicking a file to open, it has no registered apps (the "known application" list is empty).

I'm getting sick of all this weirdness!!!

When running 'kdesu kcontrol' and 'kdesu konqueror' do you get the same results?


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#6 2006-06-06 03:06:13

McQueen
Member
From: Arizona
Registered: 2006-03-20
Posts: 382

Re: kde menu lost

MartinZ wrote:

i just noticed it because there where no k3b and amarok in my xfce menu.

Very odd how Xfce won't read your desktop file anymore.

Is the desktop file for k3b in /opt/kde/share/applications/kde?
Minus the langs does it look like this:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Exec=k3b
Icon=k3b
DocPath=k3b/index.html
GenericName=CD & DVD Burning
Terminal=false
Name=K3b
MimeType=application/x-k3b
X-KDE-StartupNotify=true
X-KDE-NativeMimeType=application/x-k3b
Categories=KDE;Application;AudioVideo;DiscBurning;
X-DCOP-ServiceType=Unique

And what are the permissions:

$ ls -l /opt/kde/share/applications/kde/k3b.desktop
-rw-r--r--  1 root root


/path/to/Truth

Offline

#7 2006-06-06 03:19:33

cdhotfire
Member
From: Ocala, Florida
Registered: 2006-02-13
Posts: 151

Re: kde menu lost

Have you tried loggin out, and loggin back in?

This happened to me when I used kde, and loggin out and back in seemed to work.


[img]http://www.barbarawood.com/guestbook/images/smilies/koolaid.gif[/img]
"Ooooh Yaaaa!"

Offline

#8 2006-06-06 04:23:54

MartinZ
Member
From: Chiloé, Chile
Registered: 2005-06-10
Posts: 375

Re: kde menu lost

I don't understand what happened, but randomly everything is back. I did nothign in particular, but rebooting, but i tryed that before. This is really weird...  :?

Thanks for all the answers, i'll let you know if i find something else


All your base are belong to us

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB