You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-08 16:39:33

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Hi to all.
If anyone can be interested is available the first public beta version of paKman, a KDE's frontend for pacman.
Official project page (in Italian Sad ) is here:
http://www.brainspace.it/index.php?opti … &Itemid=24

Here you can find some screenshots:
http://www.brainspace.it/index.php?opti … view&id=24
...and a screen cast (size: 13,5 Mb, codec: MPEG1, resolution: 1024x768) is downloadable here:
http://www.brainspace.it/index.php?opti … info&id=18

If you want try paKman you can download source tarball here:
http://www.brainspace.it/index.php?opti … info&id=19
and Arch Linux package here:
http://www.brainspace.it/index.php?opti … info&id=20

This release of paKman is a Beta Version, which could contains many bugs or errors.
if you find an error or wan request a feature or want collaborate to improve paKman, you can mail me at tommaso.frazzetto@gmail.com or post on BrainSpace.it's forum or in this forum.


# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#2 2006-06-08 17:54:13

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

There was already another project for a kde frontend named pakman:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=21447

Maybe you could both work together or change the name of one of the project. IMO, it would be confusing to have two different pacman frontend having basically the same name (one with lowercase k and one with uppercase k).

Offline

#3 2006-06-08 18:16:46

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Uh....I'm sorry.
I need a good refactoring tool to change all class with "paKman"  substring in name.
If anyone know a good c++ refactoring tool, please contact me.
Thnak you much.


# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#4 2006-06-09 14:07:40

lessthanjake
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2005-11-09
Posts: 319
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

I'm not a KDE user, but this looked really promissing. I liked how good it integrated into KDE!

Offline

#5 2006-06-09 16:43:38

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

As a fellow pacman frontend developer, I praise your efforts. I like the fact that you have organised the interface into 'tasks' - which similar to the approach I used for Jacman. I think this is much more intuitive that the all-in-one interfaces of the Synaptic clones (although, that's just my opinion, I know others love it).

That said, I think you could streamline your interface a bit. The "buttons" are very large because they contain a long description. These could be moved in to tooltips, for example. Also, I think the Ignore Packages looks a bit awkward and it's location in the Control Center doesn't seem obvious to me on first glance.

Good work, although there are now 2 C++/KDE pacman frontends that have just started and it seems like a good idea to collaborate.

Offline

#6 2006-06-10 08:41:58

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Thank you much!
As you have  seen paKman gui is strongly inspired by Jacman (for me the best pacman frontend...after my paKman wink....sorry I joke  big_smile ).
I've created gui subdiveded by operation type with long description because I have thought paKman for a beginner user who need a gui: clear, user frendly nad with a good look and feel.
I have proposed to other pacman-fontends's creators to colaborate. See this thread:
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … c&start=20
Working together we can create a great pacman frontend to approach users with small linux/arch experience to our fantastic distro!  (Another project I've started ,but now is freeze, is a graphical installer such as gentoo installer but in KDE/Qt)


# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#7 2006-06-10 15:34:37

DaNiMoTh
Member
Registered: 2006-06-10
Posts: 253

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Good work, although there are now 2 C++/KDE pacman frontends that have just started and it seems like a good idea to collaborate.

It is the best way, for me.

Another thing to do, is a svn ( or cvs ) repo: the developers can made modify and share it with the community. But of this we have just talked wink

For the modify, you can use a combination of find / grep / awk + regular expression.

Regards

Offline

#8 2006-06-10 21:50:27

ChrisX
Member
Registered: 2004-05-13
Posts: 27

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Do you have a PKGBUILD we could use?

Offline

#9 2006-06-11 13:06:29

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

I've used this PKGBUILD to build paKman arch's package.

pkgname=pakman
pkgver=0.1
pkgrel=beta1
pkgdesc="KDE gui frontend for pakman packages manager."
url=""
license="GPL"
depends=(kdelibs pacman)
makedepends=()
conflicts=()
replaces=()
backup=()
install=
source=(http://www.brainspace.it/files/$pkgname-$pkgver-$pkgrel.tar.bz2)
md5sums=(b90fb88e19a04c03b30fb0819b8fa7aa)

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver-$pkgrel
  ./configure
  make || return 1
  make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
}

# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#10 2006-06-11 14:43:11

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Does anyone else think the pacman dependency is implicit?

Offline

#11 2006-06-11 21:02:47

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

arooaroo wrote:

Does anyone else think the pacman dependency is implicit?

Yes, the paman dependency can be removed.

Also the pkgrel is misused. It is supposed to be the version of the PKGBUILD and should be equal to 1 here. Here's a corrected PKGBUILD:

pkgname=pakman
pkgver=0.1
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="KDE gui frontend for pakman packages manager."
url="http://www.brainspace.it/"
license="GPL"
depends=(kdelibs)
source=(http://www.brainspace.it/files/$pkgname-$pkgver-beta1.tar.bz2)
md5sums=(b90fb88e19a04c03b30fb0819b8fa7aa)

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver-beta1
  ./configure
  make || return 1
  make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
} 

Offline

#12 2006-06-13 05:48:19

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

invernomuto:

I have tried your app...

From the design point of view:
Very nice gui,i like it very much smile

From the technical point of view:
It has messed up my pacman.conf... Before i had a standard non-altered pacman.conf, and your app rewrote it and i had some errors with the repos, something like that the database for current can not be found... So why does it rewrite that file? Maybe it could just read the settings from it...

Anyway, this app looks very promising to me and i will keep an eye on it, keep up the good work smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#13 2006-06-13 08:26:58

arooaroo
Member
From: London, UK
Registered: 2005-01-13
Posts: 1,268
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

I noticed that his options screenshots were such that they would be doing more than just reading pacman.conf. It's not the approach that I would take, but then again, I see the advantage for some people wishing to configure pacman through a GUI too.

I think it's possible to save these settings in their own preferences file, and them use them with the various pacman arguments.

So, rather than overwriting the IgnorePkg field, just store packages to ignore somewhere and when you call pacman, use --ignore arguments, for example.

Offline

#14 2006-06-14 11:30:54

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

funkyou:

I'm sorry for the pacman's configuration file rewriting. I've tested it on my system and it don't give me any problem.
pakman need to rewite config file because pacman.conf doesn't respect a KDE configuration file format editable thru KConfig class of KDE's libraries. In pacman.con there are some duplicated entries for NoUpgrade entries and KConfig clas read only the last entry. So paKman try to rebuld pacman.conf without duplicates but,  evidently, there are something wrong . :cry:

arooaroo's idea is very good. paKman could be save a pacman's configuration file copy changed by user in $HOME/.kde/share/apps/paKman/pacman.conf and use --config option when invoke pacman.
May be a good solution?

This is the original /etc/pacman.conf content (if someone want restore it after paKman's changes)

#
# /etc/pacman.conf
#
# NOTE: If you find a mirror that is geographically close to you, please
#       move it to the top of the server list, so pacman will choose it
#       first.
#
# To re-sort your mirror lists by ping/traceroute results, use the
# /usr/bin/sortmirrors script.  It requires the "netselect" package.
#

# See the pacman manpage for option directives

#
# GENERAL OPTIONS
#
[options]
LogFile     = /var/log/pacman.log
NoUpgrade   = etc/passwd etc/group etc/shadow etc/sudoers
NoUpgrade   = etc/fstab etc/raidtab etc/ld.so.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/rc.conf etc/rc.local
NoUpgrade   = etc/modprobe.conf etc/modules.conf
NoUpgrade   = etc/lilo.conf boot/grub/menu.lst
HoldPkg     = pacman glibc
#XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -O %o %u

#
# REPOSITORIES
#   - can be defined here or included from another file
#   - pacman will search repositories in the order defined here.
#   - local/custom mirrors can be added here or in separate files
# 

#[testing]
#Server = ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/testing/os/i686

[current]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/current

[extra]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
Include = /etc/pacman.d/extra

#[unstable]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/unstable

#[community]
# Add your preferred servers here, they will be used first
#Include = /etc/pacman.d/community

# An example of a custom package repository.  See the pacman manpage for
# tips on creating your own repositories.
#[custom]
#Server = file:///home/custompkgs

# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#15 2006-06-15 22:24:54

funkyou
Member
From: Berlin, DE
Registered: 2006-03-19
Posts: 848
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

No problemo... I was aware and made a backup of my pacman.conf before smile


want a modular and tweaked KDE for arch? try kdemod

Offline

#16 2006-06-17 15:31:12

invernomuto
Member
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 13
Website

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Project name is changed from paKman to Yapg (Yet Another Pacman Gui).


# To err is human, but to really foul things up you need a computer.
Paul Ehrlich
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.brainspace.it

Offline

#17 2006-06-17 15:59:21

jaboua
Member
Registered: 2005-11-05
Posts: 634

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

I don't have KDE installed atm so I can't test it, but it looks nice on the screenshots. But on this screenshot I think there's a typo:
http://www.brainspace.it/images/stories … stall1.png

At the bottom it says "founded 2509 packages", I think it's supposed to be "found"?

Offline

#18 2006-06-22 16:00:08

motyR
Member
From: israel
Registered: 2006-03-04
Posts: 17

Re: paKman: KDE gui frontend for pacman

Hi invernomuto smile
after quiet some time now i've decided to check my pakman tread and spoted your comment, any how the thing is that curently i've kind of moved to gnome so i dont really work on pakman any more.
i've tried to download your sources or see some scrennshots but with no lock, i've saw some comments in here about the pacman conf, basicly what i was doing to solve this issue is having 2 different conf files, the gui app conf file which is per user, and  my own global copy of pakman.conf ( /etc/pakman.conf )since pakman is really a frontend to alpm and not to pacman, with in this file i used kde kconfig format with some nice tricks which let me knows whice repos had been enabled and so on...

about the name, since i'm not really work on it any more and my pakman can only run on FW i dont see any reason why shouldnt u use the name pakman.

one last thing about my pakman, i actually done some nice work with it and i encourege u to try it out on FW, it is doing the job so fast that it's really a joy to work with it, u can enable disable repos on the fly even without the need to refreash, it features a system tray icon and some nice informative splash screen, and there is some really nice colorfull loging dialog that appears after any actions if the user check the loging option.

some Q i would like to know about your work, do u use libalpm to do the task or pacman?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB