You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-08 03:30:49

ironLink21
Member
From: Utah
Registered: 2017-04-02
Posts: 9

ASUS GL702VM HDMI sound

Thanks in advance for any help.

I've been using Arch for about a year now on an Asus X550CA and loved it.

I bought myself a ASUS GL702VM as a graduation present.  I've got Arch up and running and most everything worked out of the box.

There are 3 things that haven't quite worked but for this I want to just focus on the HDMI sound output with the nVidia graphics card.

All 3 issues do work on win 10 but if I boot to Arch they don't work.

I have been at this off and on between school and work for about 2 weeks now.

There are several things that I've notices that my system doesn't detect (as you can see below) and I'm wondering if I'm missing a specific kernel module that needs to be loaded/configured or that my system is too new and the software hasn't been updated to account for this?

If the latter is true then I have no problem writing my own modules for me and others to use... however I'm not sure where to start to do this. 

I do have some c++ background but most of my coding has been javascript/web technologies, but I have working BASH and python a bit in the past.

I've followed several links for the HDMI sound issue:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad … are_loaded
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=154573
http://www.mail-archive.com/pulseaudio- … 07433.html
http://http.download.nvidia.com/XFree86 … pulseaudio

I want to stick with the proprietary drivers because those will be the most up-to-date and feature rich I believe (correct me if I'm wrong).

Let me know if there is anything else that you would like to see.

Thanks again guys!

lspci -k | grep -A 2 -E "(VGA|3D)"
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060] (rev a1)
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 1580
	Kernel driver in use: nvidia

the snd_hda_codec_hdmi module wasn't loaded after install by default and so I manually added it to my `/etc/mkinitcpio.conf`, and it loads but I can't figure out how to get snd to use it or recognize that it's loaded?

lsmod | grep '^snd' | column -t
snd_hda_codec_realtek  73728   1
snd_hda_codec_generic  69632   1   snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          32768   3
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     45056   0
snd_hda_codec          106496  4   snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep              16384   1   snd_hda_codec
snd_hda_core           65536   5   snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_pcm                90112   4   snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core,snd_hda_codec_hdmi
snd_timer              28672   1   snd_pcm
snd                    65536   14  snd_hda_intel,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_codec,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_pcm

I have all the alsa packages that I thought would be relevant loaded, when I go into pavcontrol > configuration > profile the only options I see are: Analog Stereo Duplex, Analog Stereo Output, & Analog Stereo Input.  Sound does work through the speakers and headphone jack, sound from headphone jack does pop sometimes when idling.

extra/alsa-firmware 1.0.29-1 [installed]
extra/alsa-lib 1.1.3-1 [installed]
extra/alsa-plugins 1.1.1-1 [installed]
extra/alsa-tools 1.1.3-1 [installed]
extra/alsa-utils 1.1.3-2 [installed]
extra/pulseaudio-alsa 2-3 [installed]
extra/zita-alsa-pcmi 0.2.0-3 [installed]
multilib/lib32-alsa-lib 1.1.3-1 [installed]
multilib/lib32-alsa-plugins 1.1.1-1 [installed]

I'm also using the proprietary drivers for nVidia

pac -Ss nvidia | grep installed                                                                       
extra/libvdpau 1.1.1-2 [installed]
extra/libxnvctrl 378.13-1 [installed]
extra/nvidia 378.13-5 [installed]
extra/nvidia-settings 378.13-1 [installed]
extra/nvidia-utils 378.13-6 [installed]
multilib/lib32-nvidia-utils 378.13-3 [installed]

The  aplay command doesn't show my nVidia card?

aplay -L 
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default
    Default ALSA Output (currently PulseAudio Sound Server)
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    Front speakers
surround21:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    2.1 Surround output to Front and Subwoofer speakers
surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC255 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers

it's interesting that my system doesn't pick up that I have an nVidia card for the sound
I'm guessing that the head-phone jack and speakers run through the intel card?

cat /proc/asound/cards                                                                                
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xda128000 irq 124

Offline

#2 2017-04-08 07:38:31

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 897

Re: ASUS GL702VM HDMI sound

Normally you should be able to find a separate nvidia sound device in lspci anyway. Not sure how to fix it if it doesn't show up there.

Offline

#3 2017-04-11 16:36:41

ironLink21
Member
From: Utah
Registered: 2017-04-02
Posts: 9

Re: ASUS GL702VM HDMI sound

Update

Looking into how windows does it it looks like they've got a "Virtual Audio Device"  that it's using for the nVidia sound.

if anyone know anything about virtual audio with linux let me know.

I'm going to continue my research on getting this to work.  I might need to just grab the windows driver and use ndiswapper to import it into Linux.  people have just used that for network drivers that I've found so far, so I'm not 100% if that's even going to work.

Last edited by ironLink21 (2017-04-11 16:37:24)

Offline

#4 2017-04-11 23:22:08

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 897

Re: ASUS GL702VM HDMI sound

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB