You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-20 18:47:26

onyx_arch
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 3

Troubles with validity sensors

hi guys, i recently install arch linux with gnome, and all is working great, the little issues i found, i fixed them by searching on arch linux documentation, but there is a problem i used to have with all distros i installed an d is that my validity sensors:

[root@dell-vostro-3300 arch-linux]# lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0020 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 0c45:6481 Microdia 
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 138a:0008 Validity Sensors, Inc. VFS300 Fingerprint Reader     <--------
Bus 001 Device 011: ID 413c:8160 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 365 Bluetooth
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 413c:8162 Dell Computer Corp. Integrated Touchpad [Synaptics]
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 413c:8161 Dell Computer Corp. Integrated Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0a5c:4500 Broadcom Corp. BCM2046B1 USB 2.0 Hub (part of BCM2046 Bluetooth)
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0020 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

it is recognized, but its impossible to configure it, i mean, (i can do it by terminal, or by config, users, select my user and go to fingerprint login) but it ask me for enroll my finger and first time i get this:

[root@dell-vostro-3300 arch-linux]# fprintd-enroll
Using device /net/reactivated/Fprint/Device/0
Enrolling right-index-finger finger.

then i enroll it and it says:
Enroll result: enroll-stage-passed

but when i try again nothing happen, same when using the GUI to configure it i enroll my finger shows like a fingerprint with a green checkmark , and somethimes shows 2, but i have to enroll the other ones and it dont recongnizes no matter what i do

i googled a lot but cant find anything, so i hope u guys can help me.

thanks in advice

PD: sorry about my english

Offline

#2 2017-04-20 21:38:52

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,310

Re: Troubles with validity sensors

I have a VFS5011 in my laptop and I have only tried enrolling a fingerprint via command line. From your description what I can say is that you have to swipe your finger a few times until fprintd-enroll returns the prompt to you. You should also do it from your user account and not root.

The other things I can say are, this has started to work for me only recently and it is quite picky when verifying the fingerprint. You have to swipe your finger exactly the same way all the times when enrolling and then exactly the same way when verifying otherwise it will fail to match the fingerprint.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#3 2017-04-20 23:51:12

onyx_arch
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 3

Re: Troubles with validity sensors

R00KIE wrote:

I have a VFS5011 in my laptop and I have only tried enrolling a fingerprint via command line. From your description what I can say is that you have to swipe your finger a few times until fprintd-enroll returns the prompt to you. You should also do it from your user account and not root.

The other things I can say are, this has started to work for me only recently and it is quite picky when verifying the fingerprint. You have to swipe your finger exactly the same way all the times when enrolling and then exactly the same way when verifying otherwise it will fail to match the fingerprint.

well, thanks for ur answer, actually im trying it on my acc not in root one, im pretty sure im tried in all the ways always trying to put it the same way, idk if its a bug with my laptop, Dell vostro 3300, core i5, intel/nvidia and looks like a bug because sometimes i put my finger frist time and the first fingerprint  gets a green checkmark, and other time i enroll first time and fourth and fifth fingerprints gets a green checkmark

PD: how can i attach pictures to show better what im saying

Last edited by onyx_arch (2017-04-20 23:54:44)

Offline

#4 2017-04-21 02:18:40

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 14,852

Re: Troubles with validity sensors

onyx_arch wrote:

PD: how can i attach pictures to show better what im saying

https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode
That link is also below every message post box on the forums for your convenience.

But, beware: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code
You probably want to use url tags, not img tags lest you anger the moderators tongue


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2017-04-21 03:13:10

onyx_arch
Member
Registered: 2017-04-16
Posts: 3

Re: Troubles with validity sensors

ewaller wrote:
onyx_arch wrote:

PD: how can i attach pictures to show better what im saying

https://bbs.archlinux.org/help.php#bbcode
That link is also below every message post box on the forums for your convenience.

But, beware: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code
You probably want to use url tags, not url tags lest you anger the moderators tongue


thanks for ur answer, i thought i can attach images from my pc hahaha

http://i66.tinypic.com/2qns0vn.png

http://i68.tinypic.com/15eaknl.png

http://i66.tinypic.com/28bf9jq.png

this happends randomly when i do the first enroll, thats why i think it is a kind of bug.

-- mod edit: converted img to url tags.  Trilby --

Last edited by Trilby (2017-04-21 12:04:25)

Offline

#6 2017-04-21 12:04:49

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 16,900
Website

Re: Troubles with validity sensors

ewaller wrote:

But, beware: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … s_and_code
You probably want to use url tags, not img tags lest you anger the moderators tongue

I guess he wanted to anger us. *headdesk*

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB