You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-12 18:28:15

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Dell D410

Tomorrow I will try to install Arch on D410.
Could you tell me about any potential problems on Dell?
I will tell you if I succeed smile

Offline

#2 2006-06-13 11:54:11

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: Dell D410

Last week I installed arch on Dell C400 which I guess is the previous "version" of D400.

I had a lot of problems with some live cds because of the external cd drive but no problems with 0.7.2 arch install cd :-) Everything went smooth during ftp installation.

D400 seems to be based on i915 so it should work well too (unless it's a different version but all intel based chipsets work pretty well with arch IMO). I'm using i915 based toshiba laptop and I have no problems with the latest arch packages and kernel26 or kernel26beyond.

Gentoo guys say installation from the external cd is a problem but I believe it's just an old version and everything should be fine now.

The ethernet card in D400 is Network Works Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5751 which should work with tg3 or bcm5700 driver.

I'm not sure what is the original resolution for the LCD so you might need to use 915resolution tool to fix BIOS modes (but not 100% sure).

Basically it should go with no unfixable issues.

Other small fixes and tricks are well described when you dig into google search.

Offline

#3 2006-06-13 14:31:51

sebcactus
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 277

Re: Dell D410

Jacek Poplawski wrote:

Tomorrow I will try to install Arch on D410.
Could you tell me about any potential problems on Dell?
I will tell you if I succeed smile

I have Arch working on my D410 laptop.
ethernet module is tg3
wireless module is ipw2200
I use lineakd for the multimedia buttons
Alsa works fine for the audio (microphone and headphone OK): snd_intel8x0 is the module
The kernel module for the video card is i915 (don't need 915resolution)
The Xorg corresponding module is i810
External video is working just by using the functions keys (no tweaks)
I use cpufreqd to scale the frequency of the pentium-M

The only pb I have is with the standard and beyond kernel: I have a high cpu load and don't know where it comes from. So I just compiled my own kernel: I took the beyond kernel and removed lots of unnecessary stuffs by editing the config file.
-> fixed since kernel26beyond 2.6.17

An other anoying stuff is that I have some (little) noise in the tiny (crap) speaker...

Offline

#4 2006-06-13 19:20:36

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,210

Re: Dell D410

Another issue with the D410 : update the bios to the latest version.
Dell tends to ship laptops and pc's with immature bios versions.
The company i work has dell as preferred supplier, and many problems with USB (laptop) and sata-drives (pc) were solved by updating the bios to the latest stable version.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2006-06-14 09:07:21

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: Dell D410

I am trying to install Arch 0.7.2, and it can't detect CD during select packages phase sad

Offline

#6 2006-06-14 09:19:49

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: Dell D410

Shit, Slackware installer detects it correctly as /dev/sr0.

Offline

#7 2006-06-14 09:55:09

Jacek Poplawski
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-01-10
Posts: 736
Website

Re: Dell D410

Done, first:

modprobe usbhid

then:

mount /dev/sr0 /src

then start installer and select "I mounted SRC myself".

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB