You are not logged in.

#1 2017-04-25 12:39:51

Cinbu
Member
Registered: 2016-12-27
Posts: 19

root partition always mounted at new_root

I finally managed to get the systemd-boot working and boot directly into arch, unfortunately it is still not working properly. On startup I get those messages:

[    0.604913] platform MSFT0101:00: failed to claim ressource 1
[    0.604919] acpi MSFT0101::00: platform device creation failed -16
:: running early hook [udev]
starting version 232
:: running hook [udev]
:: Triggering uevents...
::performing fsck on '/dev/sda4'
/dev/sda4: recovering, journal
/dev/sda4; clean, 31864/9601024 files, 1126894/38399744 blocks
:: mounting '/dev/sda4' on real root
:: running cleanup hook [udev]
ERROR: Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist
Bailing out, ou are on you own. Good luck

sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
[rootfs]#

my fstab file looks like this:

#
# /etc/fstab: static file system informtaion
#
# <file system> <dir>    <type>   <options>      <dump>    <pass>
# /dev/sda4
UUID=b0c31b50-c336-4e3e-886b-be816a2fa200         /      ext4       rw,relatime,data=ordered        0 1

#/dev/sda1
UUID=C675-4CC5                                                          /boot   vfat   rw,relatime,fmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remout-ro     0 2

all settings I did during the installation via a flashdrive are in new_root. And also the shell knows almost no commands on startup, not even pacman or ping. While I can find those in /new_root/usr/bin, they are not in /usr/bin.

Any help would be great!

Offline

#2 2017-04-26 11:54:04

olive
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-06-22
Posts: 1,366

Re: root partition always mounted at new_root

You mean you have installed everything in /dev/sda4 under /new_root ? Can you cd to the root directory and do a ls to be sure: issue a "mount" command, see where /dev/sda4 has been mounted, cd to this directory and issue "ls".

If this is really your setup, this setting is not supported by Arch Linux and won't work (at least not without "advanced" unsupported tweaks).

The "advanced tweaks" would mean to modify the initrd to chroot inside /new_root; if you don't understand it, just reinstall the normal way.

Last edited by olive (2017-04-26 11:54:16)

Offline

#3 2017-04-26 12:24:26

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,404
Website

Re: root partition always mounted at new_root

forget all this new_root sutff - that's normal when you are left in a recovery shell.  That is a symptom, not the problem.  The problem is very clearly this:

ERROR: Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist

You are left in the initramfs with a very limited set of tools.

The initramfs first mounts sda4 to new_root, then chroots into it.  The chroot failed because it could not find sbin/init on sda4.

Boot into the live usb, mount your partitions as you did to install, chroot as you did to install, and figure out what is going on.  Is /sbin/init a symlink to /usr/bin/init?  Is systemd-sysvcompat installed?

Also your fstab is not relevant to this problem.  Fstab is used by systemd (init) which never gets started.  Are you sure the new_root directory contains your arch install, and not Ubuntu (which from your previous thread is also installed)?  You may want to use UUIDs in your boot loader.


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#4 2017-04-27 15:08:23

stewbond
Member
Registered: 2015-05-12
Posts: 30

Re: root partition always mounted at new_root

Not sure if this helps, but I wrote a start-to-end set of instructions that I use to install Arch on the various machines I have.
It describes exatly how I did the whole chroot stuff into my new system.  It might help you out.

redacted

-- mod edit: redacted pointless spam.  Trilby --

Last edited by Trilby (2017-04-27 15:38:41)

Offline

#5 2017-04-27 15:39:32

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,404
Website

Re: root partition always mounted at new_root

No that doesn't help.  The wiki has the proper installation instructions.  Do not spam your unsupported guide here again.


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#6 2017-04-29 10:41:46

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,867

Re: root partition always mounted at new_root

Are you sure /dev/sda4 is your root partition?

Also you really should use labels or uuid


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB