You are not logged in.

#1 2017-05-17 03:40:00

medman826
Member
Registered: 2014-07-18
Posts: 4

[SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

I'm not entirely sure that this is the right forum for this, but I couldn't think of one in which it would fit better.

I'm attempting to change the refresh rates of my monitors, both are capable of 144 Hz. Initially, here is the output of xrandr:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    59.94    50.00    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      70.07    60.00  
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       59.94    59.93  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 connected primary 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    84.90  
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Then, I run the following:

# xrandr --output DP-0 -r 120

Afterwards, the output from xrandr is exactly the same as before, but I'll post it again just for the sake of sanity:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    59.94    50.00    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      70.07    60.00  
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       59.94    59.93  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 connected primary 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    84.90  
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

I've also tried the following, just to be extra specific:

# xrandr --output DP-0 -r 119.98

though this should not be necessary because xrandr is supposed to select the closest refresh rate to what is specified. Regardless, the output from xrandr is no different after running that command. Neither of the commands I used to change the refresh rate returned any errors or failed.

What am I missing?

Last edited by medman826 (2017-05-18 02:32:10)

Offline

#2 2017-05-17 10:38:53

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 897

Re: [SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

What about:

xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 120

Offline

#3 2017-05-17 11:44:30

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: [SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

xrandr output suggests your monitor doesn't report other refresh rates for 1920x1080 then 60 Hz.

Is this a real Display Port connection , or are there any converters between DP on card and DP on monitor ?

This can also be caused by faulty EDID , which video driver are you using ?

Post xorg log please .

Last edited by Lone_Wolf (2017-05-17 11:44:50)


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#4 2017-05-17 15:28:46

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 897

Re: [SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

Lone_Wolf wrote:

xrandr output suggests your monitor doesn't report other refresh rates for 1920x1080 then 60 Hz.

Huh?

...
DP-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    59.94    50.00    60.00    50.04
...
DP-2 connected primary 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+ 144.00   119.98    99.93    84.90
...

Last edited by tom.ty89 (2017-05-17 15:29:00)

Offline

#5 2017-05-18 02:31:45

medman826
Member
Registered: 2014-07-18
Posts: 4

Re: [SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

@tom.ty89 It worked! I don't know why, but I suppose it is necessary to specify both the mode and the refresh rate at the same time in order to actually change the refresh rate? I can't understand why that would be the case, but it worked.

Here is the command I run in my .xinitrc now:

xrandr --output DP-2 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 120 --primary --output DP-0 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 120 --left-of DP-2

And here is the xrandr output once in my x session:

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00 + 144.00   119.98*   99.93    59.94    50.00    60.00    50.04  
   1680x1050     59.95  
   1440x900      59.89  
   1280x1024     60.02  
   1280x960      60.00  
   1280x800      59.81  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1152x864      75.00  
   1024x768      70.07    60.00  
   800x600       60.32    56.25  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       59.94    59.93  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-2 connected primary 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
   1920x1080     60.00 + 144.00   119.98*   99.93    84.90  
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

@Lone_Wolf It definitely lists refresh rates other than 60 Hz, perhaps you misread the output. Regardless, both monitors are connected directly to my GTX 1070 graphics card via DisplayPort, there are no converters. I am using the nvidia drivers I believe. I've installed them at least, and the wiki states that installing them automatically blacklists the open source nouveau drivers, so I'm pretty sure the nvidia drivers are being used. I've also done some configuration via the nvidia-settings GUI application, but I don't recall seeing refresh rate as a configuration option when I first looked. Now, they are definitely an option and they also show 120 Hz. I guess I just missed them.

Thank you both for your help!

Last edited by medman826 (2017-05-18 02:33:26)

Offline

#6 2017-05-18 07:36:50

Lone_Wolf
Forum Moderator
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,922

Re: [SOLVED] Can't change refresh rate with xrandr

The heat (30 degrees Celsius) must have gotten to me yesterday.
Somehow i mistook the numbers xrandr showed behind 60.00 as modelines, not additional frequencies.


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB