You are not logged in.

#1 2016-08-31 07:13:36

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

The subject pretty says all.
At start, plasmashell is using about 250MB.
I left it without touching it undernight and this morning it was at 380.
Then i started playing by opening the menu, showing the calendar, hovering the mouse over the panel icons, showing the notifications, moved a plasmoid and so on.
Now it reached 548MB, and they dont go down by a byte.

My system is fully updated.

This is an h24 machine... using plasmashell unther those conditions isn't really an option for me.

There is a thread here:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=344879
...claiming the memory leak is solved by the following:
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-48799 (closed fixed in qt-5.6.0)
but that doesn't seems to apply to my system...

I'm using nvidia driver version 370.23-4

Anybody can confirm my observations?
Test is simple... login or kquitapp plasmashell, then monitoring his memory usage by using it...

Thanks in advance.


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#2 2016-08-31 11:48:39

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

...workarounding by autostarting the following as soon as kde starts... reminding me of early kde4 days, meh...

#!/bin/bash
#restart plasma at 2:00am
while true ; do
    trig_time=$(date -d 02:00:00 +%s) #do not move me outside the loop
    now=$(date +%s)
    if [ $now -ge $trig_time ]; then
        kquitapp5 plasmashell &
        sleep 10
        killall plasmashell &
        sleep 10
        killall plasmashell -9 &
        sleep 10
        plasmashell --shut-up &
        sleep 43200 #sleep 12h
    fi
    sleep 600
done

Last edited by kokoko3k (2016-08-31 12:18:14)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#3 2016-08-31 12:37:22

KuroiNeko13
Member
Registered: 2016-08-31
Posts: 3

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I can confirm. In my personal experience it grows much slower than before 5.6.0 fix. But still observable.
Using x86_64, fully updated system, with 370 nvidia (if that matters).

Offline

#4 2016-08-31 12:48:39

smirky
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 2013-02-23
Posts: 277
Website

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I observe the same thing and it smells like a memory leak to me.
Currently I have 362 MB reserved, but I have moments when it reaches > 500 MB.
Definitely, that's not acceptable, but then again, I can't do anything about it.
I'm not even sure if it's a bug in Qt or in Plasma or just something I don't fully understand.


Personal spot  ::  https://www.smirky.net/  ::  Try not to get lost!

Offline

#5 2016-08-31 14:23:19

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I decided to monitor the ram usage yesterday, when it reached 900MB just because (i think) was configuring the desktop for the first time.

Thanks for confirming anyway, maybe i'll open a bug report before ditching plasmashell again (this is the third time i try to use it and everytime i go pack to kde4).


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#6 2016-09-13 08:55:48

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

better version of the script to be started at kde login:

#!/bin/bash
#restart plasma from time_a to time_b if memory usage is big

MAX_MEM="500000"    # ACTIVATE IF PLASMASHELL IS MORE THAN # KBYTES
TRIG_START="6:00:00" # ACTIVATE FROM THIS TIME
TRIG_END="7:00:00"   # DO NOT ACTIVATE AFTER THIS TIME

while true ; do
    trig_time_start=$(date -d $TRIG_START +%s) #leave me in the loop
    trig_time_end=$(date -d $TRIG_END +%s)     #leave me in the loop
    now=$(date +%s)
    if [ $now -ge $trig_time_start ]; then
        if [ $now -lt $trig_time_end ]; then
            MEM=$(grep VmRSS < /proc/`pidof plasmashell`/status | awk '{print $2}')
            if [ $MEM -ge $MAX_MEM ] ; then
                kquitapp5 plasmashell &
                sleep 10
                killall plasmashell &
                sleep 10
                killall plasmashell -9 &
                sleep 10
                plasmashell --shut-up &>/dev/null &
            fi
            sleep 43200 #sleep 12h
        fi
    fi
    sleep 600
done

...so that i've a fresh plasma when i go to the office.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2016-09-13 09:29:21)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#7 2016-09-15 09:48:12

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#8 2016-09-15 11:26:27

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,736

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I'd assume this to be likely a duplicate of https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=368066 which should be fixed by https://quickgit.kde.org/?p=plasma-fram … 416a7dd68c part of KF 5.26 which is currently in testing

Last edited by V1del (2016-09-15 11:26:58)

Offline

#9 2016-09-15 12:19:15

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

Maybe... part of it.
I've disabled "keep window thumbnails" in compositor settings and "show tooltips" in task manager settings.
But memory keeps growing in all of the previous cases, except for when the pointer hovers taskbar icons.

Last edited by kokoko3k (2016-09-15 12:19:41)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#10 2016-09-20 14:07:20

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I tried to switch to nouveau.
Terrible 3d performance, but good memory usage.
Where whith the prop. driver it reached about 400MB, it stayed to 255 instead.
Now i've to blame nvidia or kde? i'm still using driver 367.35 because linux-4.7 kills my applications with oom (other bug).

-EDIT
https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/boar … reateTopic

...reported to nvidia as well

Last edited by kokoko3k (2016-09-20 15:01:45)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#11 2016-09-22 16:15:55

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

Starting plasmashell with:

QSG_RENDER_LOOP=basic plasmashell

...mitigates the issue; because it forces qt scene graph to NOT use threads.
The very same is done automatically for any mesa driver under linux, see:
QSG_RENDER_LOOP=basic plasmashell

That, plus the fact that nvidia blob uses 30% more system memory (expected by driver devs) explains why nouveau is less affected.

Long story short, if you have the problem, try to start plasmashell with QSG_RENDER_LOOP=basic and wait for kde or qt to fix the fixable smile


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#12 2017-03-08 12:31:15

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I just made a video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3nbY0xNykA

Someone could please test and tell me if he can reproduce?

Last edited by kokoko3k (2017-03-08 13:17:40)


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#13 2017-03-08 16:45:48

Loose_Control
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 136

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

Yes i can reproduce this every interaction with plasma raises mem usage and it just continues to rise.
I only opened the menu on the plasma taskbar and added 2 plasmoids and removed them. Doing that caused 30MB additional memory usage.

Offline

#14 2017-06-30 14:59:32

hfenigma
Member
Registered: 2017-06-29
Posts: 30

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

Still happens with Plasma 5.10.3. See this picture
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5KPl … 2ZRYXdIVGs
After restart plasmashell
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5KPl … E9PdEdSUGc

Last edited by hfenigma (2017-06-30 15:06:20)

Offline

#15 2017-07-24 20:15:03

hamelg
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-06-19
Posts: 128

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I confirm with 5.10.4.
After using my desktop for 8 hours, the memory usage raises up to 1Gb. When restarting plasmashell the memory consumption drops down at 250Mb.

Offline

#16 2017-07-24 20:18:30

Slithery
Administrator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 5,776

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#17 2017-07-24 20:36:20

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

slithery wrote:
mcgyver wrote:

No, not really... I don't have the same problem now.
RAM usage just oscillates within "acceptable" values (roughly 350MB to 500MB) depending on activity.
With the upgrade, RAM would be used so quickly that I had to restart Plasmashell every 10 minutes or so...


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#18 2017-07-24 21:01:57

hamelg
Member
From: France
Registered: 2008-06-19
Posts: 128

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

slithery wrote:

Well spotted !
Every time I switch the next wallpaper image, the memory consumption increase of few Mb.

I 've tried the fix here :
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=381000#c60
and it has fixed the memory leak smile

Thank you

Offline

#19 2017-07-25 11:54:40

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

I wonder if the issue pointed in this thread is just one or the leak is due to several "things" not freeing memory.


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#20 2017-07-25 13:42:47

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,736

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

This particular memory leak with the wallpaper plugin is pretty well isolated and the cause known, the issues from where your thread originally went from are likely gone or have a different cause by now. And as mentioned, since that original cause that I know of was with the monitor utilities of which you have a grand total of 4 (not counting the harddisk monitor, since that one isn't realtime and I use it as well and I don't have any leaks) active during the whole time of this video, what happens if you remove them? Or even better try to isolate it to a specific one, maybe it's just a single one that leaks?

Offline

#21 2017-07-25 14:20:53

camarao
Member
Registered: 2013-01-29
Posts: 27

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

Hi, everybody,
I'm not quite sure the exact time when it started to happen, but between a month and month 1/2 ago I've noticed that every time I started a video, not my memory usage increased in size quite quickly, but instead, my shared memory usage increased. This happende quite fast, in about an hour or hour 1/2, it went up to 4,5 GB of 8 GB available, from which 2 GB are used by the system after startup finished, so 6,5 GB of 8 GB were been used. I guess it didn't showed more usage, because the interface stopped working and also any open program. I've started monitoring with ksysguard (I use KDE plasma 5.10.4; KDE framework 5.36.0. QT 5.9.1 and kernel 4.11.9-1), I saw that the culprit was Plasmashell and also I saw that the increase was in shared memory, rather the memory it self, that's why it took me some time to identify the problem. If I restart the plasmashell (killall plasmashell && plasmashell &) before it consumes all memory, during an video playing, it stopped consuming shared memory.
If I finished a video and restarted another, the game started again, and I need to restart plasmashell. This behavior just happens if I am watching videos. It doesn't matter if i use a software or watch video streaming in a browser. If I don't do watch videos, shared memory keeps proportional to the amount of software open.
I saw above that you only talk of memory and not shared memory leakage. This behavior started on one of the last kwin/ plasmashell upgrades. I think since than plasmashell was upgraded once more, not sure. I haven't tryed to downgrade qt, as you suggested on some topics above, implying that it could be an problem with qt.
I don't understand anything on programing, but I guess that probably my issue is also some kde problem, rather than Arch, but I am posting it here to see if someone else has have the same problem. This behavior has nothing to do with the slideshow, commented on the above pointed issues.

Offline

#22 2017-07-28 07:47:47

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 2,394

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

V1del wrote:

This particular memory leak with the wallpaper plugin is pretty well isolated and the cause known, the issues from where your thread originally went from are likely gone or have a different cause by now. And as mentioned, since that original cause that I know of was with the monitor utilities of which you have a grand total of 4 (not counting the harddisk monitor, since that one isn't realtime and I use it as well and I don't have any leaks) active during the whole time of this video, what happens if you remove them? Or even better try to isolate it to a specific one, maybe it's just a single one that leaks?

Unfortunately, the issue is not gone, maybe mitigated, but ram usage still definitely grows; can't say nothing about what causes it.
I even tried with a new user with all options set to defaults and observed the same, even with other distros (i think it was neon) running in a virtual machine.


Help me to improve ssh-rdp !
Retroarch User? Try my koko-aio shader !

Offline

#23 2017-12-01 03:52:20

electr0nux
Member
Registered: 2017-11-29
Posts: 6

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

The bug is still there. I`m on plasma 5.11.1 and today when I opened plasma discover just for fun the ram usage went from 450MB to 7.6GB/8GB and eventually eating up my never used 4GB swap space too. My system became completely non-responding and I had to force restart.
I`m using latest proprietary Nvidia drivers using bumblebee.


xxxxxXXXXXXXXXXXXxxxxxx

Offline

#24 2017-12-02 17:31:38

c00ter
Member
From: Alaskan in Washington State
Registered: 2014-08-28
Posts: 395

Re: Plasmashell ram usage grows as i use it, but never goes down.

AFAIK Discover has nothing to do with the wallpaper plugin leak and whether that particular bug was fixed or not. Please don't bump nearly 6-month old threads with an unrelated topic. Instead, if you believe the Discover application to be problem-child, please research it, start a topic, and file a bug report if necessary.


UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things. -- Doug Gwyn

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB