You are not logged in.

#251 2006-06-22 11:58:37

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

<OFFTOPIC>
codemac i have a little issue with wmii and mpd, for some reason the applet stop refreshing after a very little while (like it refresh for 3 or 4 times).
Also when I login, if mpd is not playing the status will not exist i have to play and then run wmiirc again, maybe I have to add a static text first ??
here's the mpd applet part

  # {{{ MPD Bar
  mpd_name = "01_mpd"
  setup_bar(mpd_name, normcolors)
  update_bar = lambda do
    mpdserv = MPD.new
    if mpdserv.status["state"] == "play"
      text = ">>: "
    else
      if mpdserv.status["state"] == "pause"
        text = "||: "
      else
        text = "[]: "
      end
    end
    text = text + mpdserv.strf("%a - %t (%e/%l)")
    write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", text)
  end
  Thread.new{ loop { update_bar.call; sleep 1 } }

  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_UP){ Thread.new {mpdserv = MPD.new;mpdserv.seek(3) ;update_bar.call} }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_DOWN){ Thread.new {mpdserv = MPD.new;mpdserv.seek(-3); update_bar.call} }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_LEFT) do
    Thread.new do
        mpdserv = MPD.new
        if mpdserv.status["state"] == "pause"
          mpdserv.play
        else
          mpdserv.pause
        end
        update_bar.call
    end
  end
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_RIGHT) do 
    mpd_handle = on_createclient do |cid|
      write("/view/sel/sel/geom", "400 0 center+200 south")
      e.unregister mpd_handle
    end
    write("/view/ctl", "select toggle")
    system "urxvt -e ncmpc &"
  end
  # }}}

whole wmiirc -> http://wael.nasreddine.com/files/config … i-3/wmiirc

I appreciate you help smile
</OFFTOPIC>

Offline

#252 2006-06-22 12:39:25

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 794
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

  # {{{ MPD Bar
  mpd_name = "01_mpd"
  setup_bar(mpd_name, WMII_NORMCOLORS)
  mpdserv = MPD.new
  update_bar = lambda do
    if mpdserv.status["state"] == "play"
      text = ">>: "
    else
      if mpdserv.status["state"] == "pause"
        text = "||: "
      else
        text = "[]: "
      end
    end
    text = text + mpdserv.strf("%a - %t (%e/%l)")
    write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", text)
  end
  Thread.new{ loop { update_bar.call; sleep 1 } }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_UP){ Thread.new {mpdserv.seek(3); update_bar.call} }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_DOWN){ Thread.new {mpdserv.seek(-3); update_bar.call} }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_LEFT) { mpdserv.pause }
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_RIGHT) do 
      mpd_handle = on_createclient do |cid|
          write("/view/sel/sel/geom", "400 0 center+200 south")
          e.unregister mpd_handle
      end
      write("/view/ctl", "select toggle")
      system "urxvt -e ncmpc &"
  end

NEW ONE ^^^^

After deciding to actually figure out how mpd.rb worked, I redid parts of the script.  Making a new MPD connection was the wrong way to go.  The if else for the pause/play toggle is unnecessary, and can lead to your mess ups, I think it was what was messing up mine.

Yay for working bars!

Offline

#253 2006-06-22 12:57:26

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 794
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

creo wrote:

Wow very nice !!!!! :mrgreen:

May I get your .Xdefaults? How did you do this unusual prompt?

http://people.cs.vt.edu/~codemac/config/Xdefaults

http://aperiodic.net/phil/prompt/

Offline

#254 2006-06-22 13:07:52

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

codemac you are right, I was actually working on it I didn't see your post sad but i fixed it too, the error was to connect each time to MPD, but now i implement MPD is_connected? method to check for connection first, if no connection then initialize it...
here's the part and patch (just to see where I changed stuff)

  # {{{ MPD Bar
  mpd_name = "01_mpd"
  setup_bar(mpd_name, normcolors)
  mpdserv = MPD.new
  update_bar = lambda do
    if mpdserv.status["state"] == "play"
      text = ">>: "
    else
      if mpdserv.status["state"] == "pause"
        text = "||: "
      else
        text = "[]: "
      end
    end
    text = text + mpdserv.strf("%a - %t (%e/%l)")
    write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", text)
  end
  # Initialize MPD status
  write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", "[]: NOT PLAYING")
  Thread.new do
    loop do
      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
        # Try to connect first
        mpdserv = MPD.new
      end
      update_bar.call
      sleep 1 
    end
  end
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_UP) do
    Thread.new do
      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
        # Try to connect first
        mpdserv = MPD.new
      end
      mpdserv.seek(3)
    end
  end
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_DOWN) do
    Thread.new do
      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
        # Try to connect first
        mpdserv = MPD.new
      end
      mpdserv.seek(-3)
    end
  end
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_LEFT) do
    Thread.new do
        if not mpdserv.is_connected?
          # Try to connect first
          mpdserv = MPD.new
        end
        mpdserv.pause
    end
  end
  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_RIGHT) do 
    mpd_handle = on_createclient do |cid|
      write("/view/sel/sel/geom", "400 0 center+200 south")
      e.unregister mpd_handle
    end
    write("/view/ctl", "select toggle")
    system "urxvt -e ncmpc &"
  end
  # }}}
=== wmiirc
==================================================================
--- wmiirc    (revision 1917)
+++ wmiirc    (revision 1927)
@@ -123,8 +123,8 @@
   # {{{ MPD Bar
   mpd_name = "01_mpd"
   setup_bar(mpd_name, normcolors)
+  mpdserv = MPD.new
   update_bar = lambda do
-    mpdserv = MPD.new
     if mpdserv.status["state"] == "play"
       text = ">>: "
     else
@@ -137,19 +137,43 @@
     text = text + mpdserv.strf("%a - %t (%e/%l)")
     write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", text)
   end
-  Thread.new{ loop { update_bar.call; sleep 1 } }
-
-  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_UP){ Thread.new {mpdserv = MPD.new;mpdserv.seek(3) ;update_bar.call} }
-  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_DOWN){ Thread.new {mpdserv = MPD.new;mpdserv.seek(-3); update_bar.call} }
+  # Initialize MPD status
+  write("/bar/#{mpd_name}/data", "[]: NOT PLAYING")
+  Thread.new do
+    loop do
+      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
+        # Try to connect first
+        mpdserv = MPD.new
+      end
+      update_bar.call
+      sleep 1 
+    end
+  end
+  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_UP) do
+    Thread.new do
+      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
+        # Try to connect first
+        mpdserv = MPD.new
+      end
+      mpdserv.seek(3)
+    end
+  end
+  on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_SCROLL_DOWN) do
+    Thread.new do
+      if not mpdserv.is_connected?
+        # Try to connect first
+        mpdserv = MPD.new
+      end
+      mpdserv.seek(-3)
+    end
+  end
   on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_LEFT) do
     Thread.new do
-        mpdserv = MPD.new
-        if mpdserv.status["state"] == "pause"
-          mpdserv.play
-        else
-          mpdserv.pause
+        if not mpdserv.is_connected?
+          # Try to connect first
+          mpdserv = MPD.new
         end
-        update_bar.call
+        mpdserv.pause
     end
   end
   on_barclick(mpd_name, MOUSE_BUTTON_RIGHT) do 

EDIT: There still one problem, When I pause/play the tha appler does not refresh anymore sad
EDIT2: FIXED, the error was calling update_bar in each of pause/forward/backward, We should leave it to the loop instead, Patch and code updated...

Offline

#255 2006-06-22 13:55:00

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Ok here's another screenshot, codemac colors (bar and window borders) + working mpd applet

4708_22_06_2006_2.th.png

Offline

#256 2006-06-22 15:32:11

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

_Gandalf_ wrote:

Playing for the first time with WMII and i love it big_smile

13275_1.th.png

Do you have a different boldFont? If so, what is it?  It looks nice, I wants to steals it!

Offline

#257 2006-06-22 15:55:46

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

LOL Actually I stole urs phrakture big_smile, I didn't use some specific bold fonts, but I used bigger fonts than urs

.fonts.conf
.Xdefaults
.vimrc
and Vim theme

Check My config files here -> http://wael.nasreddine.com/files/config/

Offline

#258 2006-06-22 16:36:17

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Wauw, wmii has changed _alot_ sinde I tried wmi.   :shock:


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#259 2006-06-22 16:43:27

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Yea whargoul a lot, I was also impressed by it, the Ver 3 rocks smile

Offline

#260 2006-06-23 12:53:26

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 794
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Gandalf, you could make your wmiirc a little more succinct if instead all those if not else lines, just do:

mpdserv = MPD.new unless mpdserv.is_connected?

o/ yay ruby o/

Offline

#261 2006-06-23 15:42:54

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Already done, *still learning ruby :oops: * big_smile
Thx anyway smile

Offline

#262 2006-06-23 21:47:47

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: June 2006 screenshots

Gandalf, codemac - you should really move your discussion in a new thread. I am sure that somebody would like to use wmii (like my self), so another thread is just easier to browse through.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#263 2006-06-23 22:12:23

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

I agree, Can any mod split the posts into a new topic please ??
thx

Offline

#264 2006-06-23 22:18:42

sf.
Member
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 23

Re: June 2006 screenshots

This probably isn't the place to ask, but is there a Ruby solution to getting a "taskbar" in Wmii-3?
Maybe wanting a taskbar is a sign that I should be using something else

Offline

#265 2006-06-23 22:41:54

bubupl
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2006-06-21
Posts: 25
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

I read this topic and I saw that Wmii is using by 'pro'-users... I want to taste it and I've install it... You should make several topic about it...

Wmii is very interesting! smile

Offline

#266 2006-06-24 08:32:29

sweiss
Member
Registered: 2004-02-16
Posts: 635

Re: June 2006 screenshots

[URL=http://img240.imageshack.us/my.php?image=kde35240620066cz.png]kde35240620066cz.th.png[/URL]

This is a pilot. I guess it won't be long till I'm fed up with having 20 desktops, but it may be worth a shot.

Offline

#267 2006-06-24 08:43:27

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

For wmii stuff, Please go to http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=22592 and please keep the discussion in one topic

Offline

#268 2006-06-24 10:10:44

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

a huge mess, pic says everything big_smile
[URL=http://Serv1.imagehigh.com/view.php?id=15919_mess.png&path=/imgs//ih000001]15919_mess.th.png[/URL]

Offline

#269 2006-06-24 11:10:28

ingvildr
Member
From: Brighton, England
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 203

Re: June 2006 screenshots

ion3
[URL=http://img144.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ion3yaarglook1on.png]ion3yaarglook1on.th.png[/URL]

Offline

#270 2006-06-25 01:33:46

benplaut
Member
Registered: 2006-06-13
Posts: 383

Re: June 2006 screenshots

So for someone who has used ion3 only for 5min, would you recommend messing with it, or wmii?

I've been wanting to try tiled WMs for a while... i don't know any ruby, but i'm good enough in bash.

Offline

#271 2006-06-25 01:39:34

_Gandalf_
Member
Registered: 2006-01-12
Posts: 735

Re: June 2006 screenshots

I never used ion3 (well not longer than 10 mins), so from the 10 mns experience I say wmii is a bit more advanced (maybe features) anyway iphitus uses ion3 so he should have the answer...

Offline

#272 2006-06-25 02:22:01

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: June 2006 screenshots

I'd say that ion3 is substantially more advanced than wmii, and definitely has more features, but then again, it's quite a bit more complex too. I should be wary saying that, a I havnt really used WMII for any period of time, but everything I've seen in the screenshots, can be done in ion3, and there's a helluva lot more that I havn't seen done in any WMII screenshots. I don't have any doubt though that ion3 is far more scriptable and configurable than wmii.

You really need to set some time aside with ion3 to work out the config files and work out how you want to set it up and explore the features, cause there's a helluva lot - more than I even use.

James

Offline

#273 2006-06-25 02:32:24

codemac
Member
From: Cliche Tech Place
Registered: 2005-05-13
Posts: 794
Website

Re: June 2006 screenshots

The real difference is not the advancement that iphitus claims, but really how much is done all ready for you.  When you start with wmii, you've got nothing.  It's easy to add things, but a scratchpad takes a fair about of knowledge and finengling just to get poorly emulated, whereas in ion it's the default.  Ion is great, and I may go back to it soon, it's just fun to have a WM to hack up again, ion was all ready tricked out from 7 years of configs :-P

I think that with ion you have lua bindings, whereas with wmii you have to make them yourself, or download hald decent ones.  Once some much more advanced/abstracted bindings come out for WMII, I think it could do everything Ion did.  That's what's neat about wmii, it can do _anything_ you want.  Ion can do the same, but it's a bit harder to get right.

Think of it this way, if you enjoy configuring your wm, use wmii.  If you want your wm to have a very specific behavior set, and really don't care about changing it after that, Ion > wmii every time.  That's another reason why I may go back... I'm really not tagging my windows.  I just have urxvt and firefox most of the time tongue

Offline

#274 2006-06-25 06:09:43

SleepyDog
Member
Registered: 2004-10-15
Posts: 114

Re: June 2006 screenshots

To stay OT:
2006-06-25.thumb.png
(wonder why the mplayer window is black like that : )

It would be more fair, I think, to judge wmii in terms what it *doesn't* do and features it *doesn't* have. You cannot, for example, create most of the elaborate layouts you see in most ion screenshots. There is no tabbing. There are no special frames/windows (referring to ion3's scratchpad) beyond floating/managed. There are no xft fonts. There are no pixmap buttons in title bars. There are no gradients, gauges, meters, or anything of the sort. And there are very few options.

Ion3 is more configurable than wmii. It has tenfold more settings to set. Even the look of ion is much more configurable than wmii. There's even some sort of session support in there. However, wmii has a big advantage as far as scriptability goes. As you've seen in this thread, you can script it in *any* language that can call outside programs (or that has libraries for the 9P protocol). Not everybody likes Lua. Not everybody likes any single language, which makes wmii's language-agnostic scripting very appealing. There are wmiircs in sh, rc, python, awk, ruby, perl, common lisp...the list goes on. There's also a very powerful event interface.

I think iphitus summed up wmii perfectly:

iphitus wrote:

You really need to set some time aside with ion3 to work out the config files and work out how you want to set it up and explore the features, cause there's a helluva lot - more than I even use.

WMII is all about wasting as little of your time as possible. It does this by doing as little as possible. Ideally it should do nothing. Or at least, it should feel this way. You shouldn't even notice wmii because it acts in a predictable manner whatever you do(this is currently not the case, but I think it's going in the right direction). There aren't any 'killer features', just useful ones. So if you try wmii and are underwhelmed, don't worry; you should be.

Offline

#275 2006-06-25 06:24:03

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: June 2006 screenshots

SleepyDog wrote:

(wonder why the mplayer window is black like that : )

It does that with the default video driver (x11 ?). You need to use another one. I think it works with xv.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB