You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-24 17:35:17

woogie
Member
From: Ottawa, ON
Registered: 2005-04-01
Posts: 45

Arch64 status?

All seems to be quiet on the Arch64 front recently, which is leaving me kind of perplexed. I recently tried to switch from using the repos at arch64.org to those at archlinux.org and I've butted up against a slew of problems.

1) No nvidia packages available in extra?
2) Only kernel version available is 2.6.16.18 - aren't we supposed to be up at 2.6.17?
3) Version of GCC available isn't the same one used to compile the kernel.

So I'm kind of at a loss here - arch64 users are supposed to be using the x86_64 repos at the normal mirrors, right? And are these repos supposed to be in sync with the 32 bit repositories? My system is kind of half-usable at the moment because libGL from my old manual install of the nvidia driver is gone, and there's no nvidia package to grab, and I can't manually install the nvidia driver as I've got a version mismatch of GCC wrt my kernel and my installed version of GCC.

Offline

#2 2006-06-24 18:07:38

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Arch64 status?

I think the repos are in an odd state while everything is being switched over to the Arch Linux server. It should sort itself out in a short time.

Offline

#3 2006-06-24 18:19:50

woogie
Member
From: Ottawa, ON
Registered: 2005-04-01
Posts: 45

Re: Arch64 status?

So what happens in the long run? After everything in extra is available for arch64, will the 32bit and 64bit builds go along together lock-step? Or will we see the 64bit packages lag behind the 32bit ones? Will we get to a point where information on the frontpage of archlinux.org applies to both arch and arch64? Not criticizing here, just genuinely curious about the direction development is heading.

Offline

#4 2006-06-24 18:41:53

kth5
Member
Registered: 2004-04-29
Posts: 655
Website

Re: Arch64 status?

woogie wrote:

1) No nvidia packages available in extra?
2) Only kernel version available is 2.6.16.18 - aren't we supposed to be up at 2.6.17?
3) Version of GCC available isn't the same one used to compile the kernel.

think of the fact that Arch x86_64 is a port which implies it tries to port as many PKGBUILDs to the x86_64 platform as possible. that requires PKGBUILDs for i686 are available and enough man power is behind the project. it's only natural that a port is a little behind. besides, i think the x86_64 guys do still use all the 2.6.17 patches like we've did before in 2.6.16.


I recognize that while theory and practice are, in theory, the same, they are, in practice, different. -Mark Mitchell

Offline

#5 2006-06-24 22:11:27

whargoul
Member
From: Odense, Denmark
Registered: 2005-04-04
Posts: 546

Re: Arch64 status?

I wish I had an 64-bit CPU. I would help Arch64 has much as I could.


Arch - It's something refreshing

Offline

#6 2006-06-24 22:12:43

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: Arch64 status?

the port is just a port. that means it follows as soon as possible all the packages that appear for i686. the devs are still doing their work mainly on i686 machines.

Current repo have been switched to archlinux.org. Extra we are working on. Right now over 300 packages moved from i686 testing to their current/extra. That is a lot to do. We will ever try to shorten the lag as much as possible.

And excuse the bigger lap the next weeks for the FIFA WC here in Germany - Arch is cool but not all  wink

AndyRTR

Offline

#7 2006-06-24 22:44:30

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Arch64 status?

So, what would be the best course of action for someone wanting to install a fresh Arch64 currently? I've got a short break from my usual work and wanted to attempt a fresh Arch64 install. Should I wait until the move is complete or go ahead and start?

Offline

#8 2006-06-25 00:55:04

woogie
Member
From: Ottawa, ON
Registered: 2005-04-01
Posts: 45

Re: Arch64 status?

kth5 wrote:
woogie wrote:

1) No nvidia packages available in extra?
2) Only kernel version available is 2.6.16.18 - aren't we supposed to be up at 2.6.17?
3) Version of GCC available isn't the same one used to compile the kernel.

think of the fact that Arch x86_64 is a port which implies it tries to port as many PKGBUILDs to the x86_64 platform as possible. that requires PKGBUILDs for i686 are available and enough man power is behind the project. it's only natural that a port is a little behind. besides, i think the x86_64 guys do still use all the 2.6.17 patches like we've did before in 2.6.16.

Well the thing is that the nvidia package was available at the arch64 repo (my 7900GT couldn't use that version of the package though), and the version of GCC was in-sync wrt built kernel and installed GCC. So I was wondering "what's up" with the archlinux repos which have these problems that the arch64 repos didn't. But that's been cleared up for me now smile

Offline

#9 2006-06-25 06:30:41

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,637

Re: Arch64 status?

iBertus wrote:

So, what would be the best course of action for someone wanting to install a fresh Arch64 currently? I've got a short break from my usual work and wanted to attempt a fresh Arch64 install. Should I wait until the move is complete or go ahead and start?

Install with the official CD. Update with the arch64.org repos. Install everything you need from arch64.org where all dependencies should be solved. Stay with that state if you want a stable system for a while.

Then you can change the repos to archlinux.org. But take care what you update there. We are just working on all those updates. Give us some time.

AndyRTR

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB