You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-06 16:24:16

Guest
Guest

No Screens found

I installed arch linux and configured all with x86config when i type "startx" i get an error message that no screens were found? How to solve this?

#2 2004-03-06 16:51:09

yak8998
Member
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 143

Re: No Screens found

I'm pretty sure that means its having a problem running at that resolution. Try turning down the depth and rez and see if it will start. What graphics driver are you using?


"Ignorance is bliss, for stupid people."
"open-source is [...] programming Darwinism."
Vaughan-Nichols

Offline

#3 2004-03-06 17:33:33

Guest
Guest

Re: No Screens found

I got a nvidia geforce 4 ti 4200 and selected the nvidia geforce card...i got a monitor (flat screen) by gericom with highest res at 1280x1024 @ 75Hz i used all right settings but it wont work sad

#4 2004-03-06 17:41:37

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: No Screens found

Can be a lot of things, wrong con figuration of mouse, modules, f.e. You should read the rest of your output, normaly there is a line about what is wrong.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

#5 2004-03-06 23:45:24

Guest
Guest

Re: No Screens found

Pink Chick's advice about reading the XFree86 log data is usually the best approach.

Look at:

/var/XFree86.0.log

say, using less.

A couple of suggestions that sometimes help:

(a) A general rule: Try to get the graphical environment up and running first; then make refinements.  (For example: don't use the highest resolution graphics as starters.  Start with the lowest resolution you can stand and work up.)
(b) Download AM-UMLUG liveCD (http://amlug.net/new-projects/live-cd/a … ve-cd.html) and run the hwd script.  This will create a very workable XF86Config-4 configuration file.  You can also download and install the hwd script and data directly from the AM-UMLUG site (http://amlug.net/new-projects/hwd/hwd.html) and run the script on your machine.  Although the hwd script isn't certified for the 2.6.3 kernel, it appears to behave (on the machines I've worked on, at least) as you would expect.

Regards,

Win

#6 2004-03-07 03:57:05

Moo-Crumpus
Member
From: Hessen / Germany
Registered: 2003-12-01
Posts: 1,444

Re: No Screens found

hwd could be a first start, if you have no idea at all what your computer can do. You can fetch it as a stand-alone package, see http://amlug.net/new-projects/hwd/hwd.html.


Frumpus addict
[mu'.krum.pus], [frum.pus]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB