You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-12 11:25:16

turek
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 7

Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

After Monday 'pacman -Syu' (part of which was glibc update) jetbrains-toolbox stopped working correctly.

First it errors/warns with:

[0911/121308:WARNING:resource_bundle.cc(311)] locale_file_path.empty() for locale
Qt WebEngine ICU data not found at /work/external/qt-installer/Qt/5.7/gcc_64/resources. Trying parent directory...
Qt WebEngine ICU data not found at /work/external/qt-installer/Qt/5.7/gcc_64. Trying application directory...
Installed Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location /work/external/qt-installer/Qt/5.7/gcc_64/translations/qtwebengine_locales. Trying application directory...
Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location /tmp/.mount_UfePUr/usr/share/jetbrains-toolbox/libexec/qtwebengine_locales. Trying fallback directory... Translations MAY NOT not be correct.
Qt WebEngine resources not found at /work/external/qt-installer/Qt/5.7/gcc_64/resources. Trying parent directory...
Qt WebEngine resources not found at /work/external/qt-installer/Qt/5.7/gcc_64. Trying application directory...
[0911/121308:WARNING:resource_bundle.cc(311)] locale_file_path.empty() for locale

and then the stack trace:

/home/qt/work/qt/qtwebengine/src/3rdparty/chromium/sandbox/linux/seccomp-bpf-helpers/sigsys_handlers.cc:**CRASHING**:seccomp-bpf failure in syscall 0281
Received signal 11 SEGV_MAPERR 00000c003119
#0 0x7f6e13588a2e <unknown>
#1 0x7f6e13588deb <unknown>
#2 0x7f6e0eee4da0 <unknown>
#3 0x7f6e13d72048 <unknown>
#4 0x7f6e13ed3c9e <unknown>
#5 0x7f6e0eee4da0 <unknown>
#6 0x7f6e0e328326 __GI_epoll_pwait
#7 0x7f6e14a64df0 <unknown>
#8 0x7f6e14a63042 <unknown>
#9 0x7f6e1357fd5e <unknown>
#10 0x7f6e135b95a8 <unknown>
#11 0x7f6e135a3b65 <unknown>
#12 0x7f6e135d1b21 <unknown>
#13 0x7f6e135ce1c7 <unknown>
#14 0x7f6e0eeda08a start_thread
#15 0x7f6e0e3281bf __GI___clone
  r8: 0000000000000002  r9: 00007f6e027be56c r10: 0000000000000000 r11: 0000000000000246
r12: 00007f6e027be570 r13: 0000000001c6f550 r14: 00007f6e027be5c0 r15: 0000000001c6e4c0
  di: 0000000000000001  si: 00007f6e15669786  bp: 00007f6e027be5c0  bx: 000000000c003119
  dx: 000000000c000000  ax: 000000000c003000  cx: 00007f6e0eee38bb  sp: 00007f6e027be570
  ip: 00007f6e13d72048 efl: 0000000000010202 cgf: 002b000000000033 erf: 0000000000000006
trp: 000000000000000e msk: 0000000000000000 cr2: 000000000c003119
[end of stack trace]

This is a sandboxing issue. It can be temporaroly solved with

echo "export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=true" >> ~/.toolboxrc

While this will disable sandboxing, it's not really that important for the Toolbox.

I believe this error is caused by the last glibc update, since another user had issues with sandboxing on Google Chrome.

Last edited by turek (2017-09-12 14:18:50)

Offline

#2 2017-09-12 12:37:54

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

Did you update the AUR package after the system update?

Offline

#3 2017-09-12 14:17:33

turek
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 7

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

I replaced it with jetbrains-toolbox-extracted and it works perfectly. Then I reverted back to jetbrains-toolbox (by uninstalling jetbrains-toolbox-extracted and installing jetbrains-toolbox again) and it was broken again. So in a way, yes. smile

Last edited by turek (2017-09-12 14:18:04)

Offline

#4 2017-09-12 15:12:15

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

Ok, but this looks like a pre-build binary?

export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1

https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-57709 suggests its an issue with 32bit calls on an 64bit system.

Offline

#5 2017-09-12 16:04:46

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 23,030
Website

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

Moving to AUR Issues...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2017-09-12 16:10:30

slithery
Member
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 1,660

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

turek wrote:

I replaced it with jetbrains-toolbox-extracted and it works perfectly. Then I reverted back to jetbrains-toolbox (by uninstalling jetbrains-toolbox-extracted and installing jetbrains-toolbox again) and it was broken again. So in a way, yes. smile

So did you actually rebuild jetbrains-toolbox or just reinstall the version that you'd previously built?

Offline

#7 2017-09-13 11:33:54

Stefan Husmann
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-07
Posts: 1,035

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

I read his reply as if he did not. Only reinstall the old package.

Offline

#8 2017-09-13 18:19:42

FredDeschenes
Member
Registered: 2017-09-08
Posts: 2

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

I can confirm that this has nothing to do with the AUR packages themselves ("jetbrains-toolbox" or "jetbrains-toolbox-extracted") since I had the same issue and I installed the toolbox manually from their site (anyway it's not open source AFAIK and both packages just download the latest release from Jetbrains' site).

Both fixes I have seen have fixed the issue for me (the "export QTWEBENGINE_DISABLE_SANDBOX=1" mentioned earlier and the "--disable-seccomp-filter-sandbox" from the Chrome thread).

Thanks to all that helped!

Offline

#9 2017-09-13 18:37:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

The question and likely problem is whether those are prebuild binaries, java runtimes (without *any* native libraries) or locally build binaries.
Apparently there's an incompatibility between blink and (recent) kernel versions.

Offline

#10 2017-09-13 19:11:44

FredDeschenes
Member
Registered: 2017-09-08
Posts: 2

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

seth wrote:

The question and likely problem is whether those are prebuild binaries, java runtimes (without *any* native libraries) or locally build binaries.

Both AUR packages simply download the latest release from Jetbrains, which is a single ELF binary which seems to have been compiled with an ancient GCC version :

$ readelf -p .comment ./jetbrains-toolbox  

String dump of section '.comment':
  [     0]  GCC: (GNU) 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-18)

AFAIK there isn't another way to install the toolbox than via that tarball from Jetbrains.

Offline

#11 2017-09-13 20:18:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

If it's dynamically linked, you might be lucky LD_PRELOAD'ing an older glibc version. Otherwise you'll have to go w/o sandboxing (for the time being)

Offline

#12 2017-09-14 10:22:02

turek
Member
Registered: 2017-09-11
Posts: 7

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

jasonwryan wrote:

Moving to AUR Issues...

Thanks, it makes sense.

FredDeschenes wrote:
seth wrote:

The question and likely problem is whether those are prebuild binaries, java runtimes (without *any* native libraries) or locally build binaries.

Both AUR packages simply download the latest release from Jetbrains, which is a single ELF binary which seems to have been compiled with an ancient GCC version :

$ readelf -p .comment ./jetbrains-toolbox  

String dump of section '.comment':
  [     0]  GCC: (GNU) 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-18)

AFAIK there isn't another way to install the toolbox than via that tarball from Jetbrains.

There is not. They only distribute the tarball and the AUR package simply installs it system-wide.

Right now it's working really well with without the sandbox, and since the sandbox is not so important for this application, I think it's a decent workaround that doesn't drop a feature.

Thanks for all your help everyone.

Offline

#13 2017-09-23 10:05:05

Veske
Member
Registered: 2015-01-13
Posts: 11

Re: Jetbrains Toolbox (from AUR) broken after glibc update

Seems that this issue will be fixed in the  release    1.5.2736

Last edited by Veske (2017-09-23 10:12:58)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB