You are not logged in.

#1 2017-08-05 12:45:24

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

I've been needing to revert back to the 381 series of drivers because on the 384 series my card pins at 100% usage and decode usage while watching video.  Has anyone else had this issue?

Edit: I have a gtx 1070.

Last edited by thelongdivider (2017-09-14 14:39:25)

Offline

#2 2017-08-05 14:00:30

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

Yup. MPEG2 so far only, though. To the degree of a kernel halt.
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/55038

Offline

#3 2017-08-05 14:45:39

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

seth wrote:

Yup. MPEG2 so far only, though. To the degree of a kernel halt.
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/55038

Indeed.  The entire system locks up when opening any video in mpv/chrome.

Offline

#4 2017-08-07 11:54:52

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

The issue persists in nvidia-384.59-3.

Offline

#5 2017-08-07 12:28:05

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

A rebuild is never gonna fix this.

Offline

#6 2017-08-12 21:13:25

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

I don't know if this is actually the solution, but I can at least manage to not lock up the system by using nvidia-modprobe on every boot.  I do it both as user and as root every time I boot.

Last edited by thelongdivider (2017-08-12 21:13:46)

Offline

#7 2017-08-12 21:39:17

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 3,663

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

Edit: Worked once sad
Might have been some über-lucky conincidence?
Every subsequent time didn't prevent the kernel halt.

I stracegrepped it for "open" calls, but there's nothing interesing. Going to check whether the UID0 call is required and also dump full straces with both driver versions.
Edit: the straces barely differ, nvidia-modprobe is suid, so running it as root should not be required?

Last edited by seth (2017-08-12 22:10:58)

Offline

#8 2017-08-18 14:47:01

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

seth wrote:

Edit: Worked once sad
Might have been some über-lucky conincidence?
Every subsequent time didn't prevent the kernel halt.

I stracegrepped it for "open" calls, but there's nothing interesing. Going to check whether the UID0 call is required and also dump full straces with both driver versions.
Edit: the straces barely differ, nvidia-modprobe is suid, so running it as root should not be required?

For me it seemed to work sporadically as well.  I unfortunately need to be on 384 for now because I don't have the lib32-nvidia-utils-381 package.  Hopefully this issue is fixed by nvidia soon.

Offline

#9 2017-08-18 16:03:46

TheSgtBilko
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 19

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

Offline

#10 2017-08-18 16:32:21

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

Awesome.  Thank you for the link.  I will return to the 381 series until a further version of nvidia-384 gets released.

Offline

#11 2017-08-23 12:51:51

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

The issue persists in 384.69.

The error being reported is this:

NVRM: Xid (PCI:0000:09:00): 31, Ch 00000020, engmask 00008100, intr 100000000

Last edited by thelongdivider (2017-08-26 20:01:01)

Offline

#12 2017-09-14 14:39:02

thelongdivider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 45

Re: nvidia 384.59 issues [SOLVED!]

AT LAST!

I found a solution to my problem.  Nvidia lists this as an mmu problem.  I was aware that ryzen had some iommu issues to begin with, but it was working fine on earlier nvidia versions so I never had any problems.

In my Gigabyte-x370 gaming k7 UEFI, there is an option called IOMMU.  I switched this option from "auto" to "enabled".  This fixes this issue and I can now enable hardware decoding  on Nvidia-384.69!

I hope this helps someone else in the future.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB