You are not logged in.

#1 2017-05-13 22:03:26

npit
Member
Registered: 2016-07-01
Posts: 13

Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

I am having a problem writing greek accented letters on QT applications on KDE , (typed by the semicolon key, followed by a vowel.), for example

άέίή

This is not a new issue, there are a few threads in the forums and quite a lot of posts on the internet on other distros from more than a decate back, dealing with exactly that.

Following the wiki, I am managing to type said characters by using ibus or fcitx, but they are a nuisance to use and configure.

Thing is, other KDE distros are having no trouble handling greek accented characters, without resorting to ibus or fcitx - as far as I know they can handle it with no special packages, natively.
Personally confirmed this on the latest versions of Kubuntu and Neon.

How do they manage it ?

Offline

#2 2017-05-14 07:32:53

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 4,269

Re: Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-56452

How do they manage it ?

You might want to ask there how the upstream bug is fixed there and whether they intend to wire that fix upstream?

Offline

#3 2017-05-17 18:58:11

npit
Member
Registered: 2016-07-01
Posts: 13

Re: Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

seth wrote:

https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-56452

How do they manage it ?

You might want to ask there how the upstream bug is fixed there and whether they intend to wire that fix upstream?

Doesn't the "open" status there denote the issue as not fixed?

Offline

#4 2017-05-17 19:17:31

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 4,269

Re: Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

It's not fixed upstream, no - but you claimed other distros would have a solution (what I can neither confirm nor deny since you remained unspecific itr)
So they should maybe share them with the rest of the world by submitting a patch for that bug (if they have one and you did not just use them when they shipped an older version that did not include the patch that causes this bug)

Offline

#5 2017-10-13 08:49:39

nullgeppetto
Member
Registered: 2015-09-23
Posts: 18

Re: Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

Hi, I have the same problem, but I have not figure out how to solve it. It seems that it's still an open bug for Qt (is it?), but @npit above stated that it could be solved using  ibus or fcitx. Is this true? Could you help me a bit on where to look for an answer?


"I never expected hell to have so much light." -- Miltos Sachtouris

Offline

#6 2017-10-13 12:21:42

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 4,269

Re: Greek accents on QT programs without ibus or fcitx

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB