You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-22 01:16:34

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 57

Arch - two Nvidia Gpus - one for viewing, one for crypto [Solved]

System:
Arch LInux: 4.13.12-1

Two GPUS:
1 1050 ti
1 1080 ti

Window Manager: I3 / xrandr

I have the official Nvidia drivers installed.  Both cards work separately; however, I cannot figure out how to have both enabled and have output only through the 1050 ti.  The idea is to use the 1050ti for output to dual-monitors (which it does fine), while using the 1080 ti for mining.  However, whenever I enable both, I don't get any output from the 1050 and only get output from the 1080.

This is my i3 config:

ll not be overwritten, so edit it as you like.
#
# Should you change your keyboard layout some time, delete
# this file and re-run i3-config-wizard(1).
#

# i3 config file (v4)
#
# Please see http://i3wm.org/docs/userguide.html for a complete reference!

set $mod Mod4

# Font for window titles. Will also be used by the bar unless a different font
# is used in the bar {} block below.
font pango:monospace 8

# This font is widely installed, provides lots of unicode glyphs, right-to-left
# text rendering and scalability on retina/hidpi displays (thanks to pango).
#font pango:DejaVu Sans Mono 8

# Before i3 v4.8, we used to recommend this one as the default:
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# The font above is very space-efficient, that is, it looks good, sharp and
# clear in small sizes. However, its unicode glyph coverage is limited, the old
# X core fonts rendering does not support right-to-left and this being a bitmap
# font, it doesn’t scale on retina/hidpi displays.

# Use Mouse+$mod to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier $mod

# start a terminal
bindsym $mod+Return exec i3-sensible-terminal

# kill focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+q kill
bindsym $mod+Shift+w exec xkill

# start dmenu (a program launcher)
bindsym $mod+d exec dmenu_run
# There also is the (new) i3-dmenu-desktop which only displays applications
# shipping a .desktop file. It is a wrapper around dmenu, so you need that
# installed.
# bindsym $mod+d exec --no-startup-id i3-dmenu-desktop

# change focus
bindsym $mod+j focus left
bindsym $mod+k focus down
bindsym $mod+l focus up
bindsym $mod+semicolon focus right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Left focus left
bindsym $mod+Down focus down
bindsym $mod+Up focus up
bindsym $mod+Right focus right

# move focused window
bindsym $mod+Shift+j move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+k move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+l move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+semicolon move right

# alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:
bindsym $mod+Shift+Left move left
bindsym $mod+Shift+Down move down
bindsym $mod+Shift+Up move up
bindsym $mod+Shift+Right move right

# split in horizontal orientation
bindsym $mod+h split h

# split in vertical orientation
bindsym $mod+v split v

# enter fullscreen mode for the focused container
bindsym $mod+f fullscreen toggle

# change container layout (stacked, tabbed, toggle split)
bindsym $mod+s layout stacking
bindsym $mod+w layout tabbed
bindsym $mod+e layout toggle split

# toggle tiling / floating
bindsym $mod+Shift+space floating toggle

# change focus between tiling / floating windows
bindsym $mod+space focus mode_toggle

# focus the parent container
bindsym $mod+a focus parent

# focus the child container
#bindsym $mod+d focus child

# switch to workspace
bindsym $mod+1 workspace 1
bindsym $mod+2 workspace 2
bindsym $mod+3 workspace 3
bindsym $mod+4 workspace 4
bindsym $mod+5 workspace 5
bindsym $mod+6 workspace 6
bindsym $mod+7 workspace 7
bindsym $mod+8 workspace 8
bindsym $mod+9 workspace 9
bindsym $mod+0 workspace 10

# move focused container to workspace
bindsym $mod+Shift+1 move container to workspace 1
bindsym $mod+Shift+2 move container to workspace 2
bindsym $mod+Shift+3 move container to workspace 3
bindsym $mod+Shift+4 move container to workspace 4
bindsym $mod+Shift+5 move container to workspace 5
bindsym $mod+Shift+6 move container to workspace 6
bindsym $mod+Shift+7 move container to workspace 7
bindsym $mod+Shift+8 move container to workspace 8
bindsym $mod+Shift+9 move container to workspace 9
bindsym $mod+Shift+0 move container to workspace 10

# nitrogen restore
exec --no-startup-id nitrogen --restore

# reload the configuration file
bindsym $mod+Shift+c reload
# restart i3 inplace (preserves your layout/session, can be used to upgrade i3)
bindsym $mod+Shift+r restart
# exit i3 (logs you out of your X session)
bindsym $mod+Shift+e exec "i3-nagbar -t warning -m 'You pressed the exit shortcut. Do you really want to exit i3? This will end your X session.' -b 'Yes, exit i3' 'i3-msg exit'"

# resize window (you can also use the mouse for that)
mode "resize" {
        # These bindings trigger as soon as you enter the resize mode

        # Pressing left will shrink the window’s width.
        # Pressing right will grow the window’s width.
        # Pressing up will shrink the window’s height.
        # Pressing down will grow the window’s height.
        bindsym j resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym k resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym l resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym semicolon resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # same bindings, but for the arrow keys
        bindsym Left resize shrink width 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Down resize grow height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Up resize shrink height 10 px or 10 ppt
        bindsym Right resize grow width 10 px or 10 ppt

        # back to normal: Enter or Escape
        bindsym Return mode "default"
        bindsym Escape mode "default"
}

bindsym $mod+r mode "resize"

# Start i3bar to display a workspace bar (plus the system information i3status
# finds out, if available)
bar {
        status_command i3status
        tray_output primary
}


# Assign workspaces
workspace "1" output HDMI-0
workspace "2" output HDMI-0
workspace "3" output HDMI-0
workspace "4" output HDMI-0
workspace "5" output HDMI-0
workspace "6" output HDMI-0
workspace "7" output HDMI-0
workspace "8" output HDMI-0
workspace "9" output DVI-0
workspace "10" output DVI-0

# Pulseaudio
bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec "pamixer -i 2 --allow-boost"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec "pamixer -d 2"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec "amixer -q sset Master,0 toggle"

# Start compton
exec --no-startup-id compton

# Xrandr settings
exec_always xrandr --output HDMI-0 --mode 2560x1440 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output DVI-D-0 --mode 1920x1080 --right-of HDMI-0 --rotate normal

Last edited by thewooster (2017-11-22 23:30:29)

Offline

#2 2017-11-22 02:24:50

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,657

Re: Arch - two Nvidia Gpus - one for viewing, one for crypto [Solved]

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1736468

Adjust as necessary for your system.

Offline

#3 2017-11-22 23:30:01

thewooster
Member
Registered: 2012-10-20
Posts: 57

Re: Arch - two Nvidia Gpus - one for viewing, one for crypto [Solved]

Thanks!  That looks like it would work well enough, I decided to work with kvm and gpu passthrough though. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB