You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-20 14:47:26

Tomatopaste
Member
Registered: 2015-01-01
Posts: 10

SALOME on archlinux?

Dear community,

I just wanted to ask you if anyone of you has experience with the installation of the latest releases of the CAE-toolbox SALOME on archlinux: http://www.salome-platform.org/

The AUR packages for SALOME were orphaned, so I tried to install it via the tarballs offered officially: http://www.salome-platform.org/download … nt-version

One is able to install the universal binaries on archlinux following this guide: http://www.salome-platform.org/forum/forum_9/472644021

Unfortunately in the latest release (8.3.0), all dropdown menus appear empty for me, probably because it relies on some Debian functionalities. When using version 7.8.0 and trying to "explode" a primitive, SALOME crashes with the error message "GUI library corresponding to the user action can not be found or loaded". See also: http://www.salome-platform.org/forum/forum_9/501687786

Did some of you get it to work? I'd be glad if you'd share your experiences.

Best,
Tomatopaste

Offline

#2 2017-11-20 15:01:02

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 26,251
Website

Re: SALOME on archlinux?

Moving to AUR Issues...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2018-01-13 01:41:16

Kitpaddel
Member
Registered: 2013-12-15
Posts: 2

Re: SALOME on archlinux?

Hi,

I have the same problem with the empty menues. No solution yet. Did you figure something out in the meantime?

Kitpaddel

Offline

#4 2018-01-29 09:21:50

physyum
Member
Registered: 2018-01-29
Posts: 1

Re: SALOME on archlinux?

This is how I got to install Salome Linux Debian 8 64-bits in Archlinux. This
was necessary since there were several dependencies errors in the universal
binaries. Once downloading and unpacking, try to run `salome` with python2
(notice that by default Archlinux uses python3). Alternativelly you can edit
the shebang line to change python version as follows (pointing to whatever
your python2 path is): `#! /usr/bin/env python2` should generally do the job.

>>> python2 salome

Each failed time install the missing library. In my case I had to install the
following libraries (this might require some research since the missing dependencies
reported by the program generally are not installed with the same name):

>>> sudo pacman -S glut libpng12 lib32-icu

Since Arch is rolling release, installing lib32-icu today will give you the
`.60` shared libraries. I "guessed" there weren't interface problems from the
previous version to the current one and just symlinked to emulate the old
version. Everything is working just fine in my machine.

>>> sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.60 /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.52
>>> sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.60 /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.52
>>> sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libicudata.so.60 /usr/lib/libicudata.so.52

Install Qt5 (I already had the full development kit so nothing was necessary).
Check https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/qt. Delete or backup the directory
BINARIES-DB08/qt5 so that system-wide Qt5 version is used.

Only libCALCULATOR.so was not found by the GUI launcher and since I will not use
it, for now I will use as is.

Last edited by physyum (2018-01-29 11:14:09)

Offline

#5 2018-01-29 15:52:38

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 16,282

Re: SALOME on archlinux?

physyum, Welcome to Arch Linux.

Linking differing version libraries is a recipe for breakage.  I strongly recommend one not do it unless (a) one knows exactly what they are doing and (b) it is a short term, temporary condition used to test something,


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB