You are not logged in.

#126 2006-07-01 13:31:52

manica
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 28

Re: The Testing Move has begun

I think the reason I can't rip any discs is that the generic SCSI devices aren't being made, which is required by cdparanoia.  There are no /dev/sg* devices at all.

How can I make sure those device nodes are being created?  (I haven't changed the default mkinitcpio.conf file.)

Thanks!
Darin

Offline

#127 2006-07-01 15:38:33

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: The Testing Move has begun

manica wrote:

I think the reason I can't rip any discs is that the generic SCSI devices aren't being made, which is required by cdparanoia.  There are no /dev/sg* devices at all.

How can I make sure those device nodes are being created?  (I haven't changed the default mkinitcpio.conf file.)

Add the "sg" module to /etc/rc.conf. It isn't autoloaded:

MODULES=(.... sg)

Offline

#128 2006-07-01 18:02:50

manica
Member
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 28

Re: The Testing Move has begun

It's working great now -- thank you!

Darin

Offline

#129 2006-07-03 04:53:00

benplaut
Member
From: Not-so-sunny Hawaii
Registered: 2006-06-13
Posts: 383

Re: The Testing Move has begun

wow... another HUGE slew of updates today...
i'm going to wait a week or two before updating this time wink


<zyth> OH GOD IT HURTS rauble
<Monk-e> rauble, roflrofl
<Monk-e> wtf?
<rauble> arpil fooz!

Offline

#130 2006-07-04 02:02:28

ptepid
Member
Registered: 2006-07-03
Posts: 9

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Updated everything today, and it all seems to be working. (This was my first system upgrade since the testing move.) I had an issue with the HTML validator firefox extension (I believe it was libstdc++ related), but reinstalling that extension fixed it.

The only remaining problem is my gameport joystick. All the modules are loaded (joydev, gameport, emu10k1-gp) but it doesn't show up in /dev/input/js0. Udev just doesn't seem to be finding it anymore.

I'll fiddle with a few other things later today, but any suggestions would be great.

Offline

#131 2006-07-04 21:44:52

mezoko
Member
Registered: 2005-03-26
Posts: 310
Website

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Well I guess I'll reinstall arch when I get my new system, I was going to use my previous arch install from my old system but with all these updates it'll probably just save me some headachs to do a nice ftp install.


"The only thing we have to fear is fear itself." - Franklin D. Roosevelt

Offline

#132 2006-07-08 09:35:11

sven
Member
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 311

Re: The Testing Move has begun

I spotted some problems:

- when I use compter a while and mount a DVD drive, then unmount and try to mount another DVD disc, I'll get empty litsing for "ls" command or Konqueror. My user is part of optical group and I also tried to mount as root with the same result.

- can't use my USB laser printer anymore. It is visible when doing "lsusb", but even reinstalling the driver doesn't help. I have laptop here with older packages and there it "just works". I can reinstall the driver if I want to and the driver installation software will automatically detect the connection. My printer is Samsung ML-1210

- KDE Konsole seems to respond slow to commands. When I am in vi editor, I cannot type :q! as fast as I used to. I get a slowdown and a :q1 instead

Offline

#133 2006-07-08 10:00:25

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: The Testing Move has begun

sven wrote:

I spotted some problems:

- when I use compter a while and mount a DVD drive, then unmount and try to mount another DVD disc, I'll get empty litsing for "ls" command or Konqueror. My user is part of optical group and I also tried to mount as root with the same result.

cd out of the directory and then go back in. no bug.

Offline

#134 2006-07-08 10:09:16

sven
Member
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 311

Re: The Testing Move has begun

iphitus: I tried this and even to close Konsole and Konqueror windows. Mounting doesn't give any errors and seems to work but then ls again gave empty output.

Yesterday reboot helped with this mount problem but rebooting is not "the Linux way" smile

Offline

#135 2006-07-08 10:27:15

sven
Member
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 311

Re: The Testing Move has begun

Samsung's printer driver software is quite verbose - when I try to remove lp from Other printers, I get this:
printer_error.png
I am running the driver software setup as root
EDIT: when I try to add printer, I get the same kind of error that seems to be permissions-related
EDIT2: now I am updating to the latest cups package - let's see how my problem is then... - nope, did not help - still got that error to appear

Offline

#136 2006-07-11 06:31:36

sven
Member
Registered: 2005-02-01
Posts: 311

Re: The Testing Move has begun

I moved a bit forward - I had to set root password at that driver program. Now I could remove the printer and add it again. But when I try to print out a document, printer is just "processing" jobs and doesn't print out anything.

Offline

#137 2006-07-20 10:12:39

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: The Testing Move has begun

brain0 wrote:
manica wrote:

I think the reason I can't rip any discs is that the generic SCSI devices aren't being made, which is required by cdparanoia.  There are no /dev/sg* devices at all.

How can I make sure those device nodes are being created?  (I haven't changed the default mkinitcpio.conf file.)

Add the "sg" module to /etc/rc.conf. It isn't autoloaded:

MODULES=(.... sg)

Thank you so much for that one! I was unable to burn cds/dvds for more than 3 days now and I really hope this solves my issues..


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB