You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-11 07:07:21

archnemesis
Member
Registered: 2009-11-27
Posts: 53

How do I start android emulator from AUR?

I've downloaded android emulator from AUR, https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/android-emulator/,  but I'm not sure how to start it. I run `emulator` and get the following error:

emulator: ERROR: No AVD specified. Use '@foo' or '-avd foo' to launch a virtual device named 'foo'

Where does one find these AVD's? Do I need to install something else? Cheers

Offline

#2 2018-02-12 22:14:19

stolichniaskitnik
Member
Registered: 2017-09-29
Posts: 34

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

How did you install it? I see some of it's dependencies are in AUR as well.
Also did you try something of what that suggests:

emulator: ERROR: No AVD specified. Use '@foo' or '-avd foo' to launch a virtual device named 'foo'

Cheers!

Last edited by stolichniaskitnik (2018-02-16 10:12:16)

Offline

#3 2018-02-12 22:37:59

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 5,190

Offline

#4 2018-12-17 19:51:33

kevr
Member
From: CA, USA
Registered: 2010-05-01
Posts: 24
Website

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

This is for Android Studio for the most part. Is there a standard command-line way of doing this properly?


Kevin Morris <kevr@0cost.org>

Hangs out in #archlinux-aurweb. Loves the AUR.

Offline

#5 2021-07-03 18:28:06

chovy
Banned
Registered: 2020-12-29
Posts: 62

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

I'm wondering the same thing.

Offline

#6 2021-07-03 18:43:03

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 11,842
Website

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

Mod note: Moving to AUR Issues.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI MAG X570S TORPEDO MAX // Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950X @4.9GHz // GFX: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 6x 1TB SSD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#7 2021-07-04 11:45:10

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 11,911

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

Since 25.3.0 the emulator is part of android studio .

The first paragraph of the first uri posted by progandy links to a page you'll probably find interesting .
(if you can't find it, it's just below the video) .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.


(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#8 2022-06-16 10:06:46

neoks23
Member
Registered: 2022-06-16
Posts: 1

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

You can list avds with cmd:

emulator -list-avds


Output should be something like:

Pixel_4a_API_30


Copy this dev in the following command:

emulator -avd <dev>


It now should start the specified android emulator.


If you encounter issues with say not having the ANDROID_HOME and ANDROID_SDK_ROOT variables setup right, do the following:

export ANDROID_HOME=/home/<username>/Android/Sdk
export ANDROID_SDK_ROOT=$ANDROID_HOME


These were the path sdk paths for me

Offline

#9 2022-06-16 14:29:10

2ManyDogs
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 4,645

Re: How do I start android emulator from AUR?

Thanks for the contribution, but this thread is very old and the OP has not been back since December 2019.

Closing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB