You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-12 13:14:26

n1ghtmar3
Member
Registered: 2018-02-12
Posts: 7

Issue with HDMI

Hello! I have an Arch box with integrated graphics (Celeron G1610). When i try to connect it to a TV, i get no output and the TV shows 'no signal'. Tested the output on two other screens - everything is ok (can see GRUB and login screen). What could be the problem?

Offline

#2 2018-02-12 13:39:24

timourf
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 17

Re: Issue with HDMI

You should take a look at the man page for xrandr. The hdmi signal is not output by default, so you have to enable it before anything will show up on the TV. For example, I use the following little script to toggle between hdmi output and my laptop screen:

#!/bin/bash
intern=eDP1
extern=HDMI1

if xrandr | grep "$extern disconnected"; then
    xrandr --output "$extern" --off --output "$intern" --auto
else
    xrandr --output "$intern" --off --output "$extern" --auto
fi

You can find the screen names by running xrandr without any parameters, mine happen to be eDP1 and HDMI1.
This isn't automated in any way, and I have to run the script every time I plug in or unplug an hdmi cable, but it's a start. You can reference it as a starting point, and modify it in any way to make it more convenient for you!

Offline

#3 2018-02-12 13:44:41

timourf
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 17

Re: Issue with HDMI

I'm sorry, I think I misread your original post. If it IS working with two other screens (I assume you're using the same hdmi port and cable?), the xrandr solution above may not apply. Are you able to connect other computers to the TV to confirm that it isn't a problem with the TV itself?

Offline

#4 2018-02-12 13:52:03

n1ghtmar3
Member
Registered: 2018-02-12
Posts: 7

Re: Issue with HDMI

timourf wrote:

I'm sorry, I think I misread your original post. If it IS working with two other screens (I assume you're using the same hdmi port and cable?), the xrandr solution above may not apply. Are you able to connect other computers to the TV to confirm that it isn't a problem with the TV itself?

Yes, if i attach a sattelite receiver, the TV works. I somehow managed to get picture during GRUB by rapidly pressing Delete to access BIOS. But after a reboot this didn't work.

Offline

#5 2018-02-12 14:46:58

timourf
Member
Registered: 2017-08-27
Posts: 17

Re: Issue with HDMI

The fact that you were able to see GRUB in one particular instance still makes me suspect a faulty cable (or one sensitive to movement) might be the culprit. If you're convinced otherwise, you might try logging in without the TV, then connecting the hdmi cable, and going back to the xrandr idea. Please post the output of xrandr with no parameters to verify that the TV is detected, and if it is, try a few different output modes as well in case the TV is not able to display the mode chosen by default.

Offline

#6 2018-02-13 12:23:28

n1ghtmar3
Member
Registered: 2018-02-12
Posts: 7

Re: Issue with HDMI

I tried to blindy login and 'xrandr > /tmp/log', the file was empty.

Offline

#7 2018-02-13 19:22:44

daemilevs
Member
Registered: 2018-02-11
Posts: 6

Re: Issue with HDMI

I had a very similar problem on my desktop. I eventually fixed it by downgrading my kernel to the latest lts.

Offline

#8 2018-02-14 15:29:57

n1ghtmar3
Member
Registered: 2018-02-12
Posts: 7

Re: Issue with HDMI

Ok, now i have some "progress". After updating kernel to 4.15.3, i've got this in dmesg output:

[   37.623005] i915 0000:00:02.0: HDMI-A-2: EDID is invalid:
[   37.623010]  [00] BAD  00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 4c 2d 0b 09 01 00 00 00
[   37.623010]  [00] BAD  2a 15 01 03 80 66 39 78 0a ee 91 b9 ff ff ff ff
[   37.623011]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   37.623012]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   37.623012]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   37.623013]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   37.623014]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[   37.623014]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
***
[  220.528949] i915 0000:00:02.0: HDMI-A-3: EDID is invalid:
[  220.528956]  [00] BAD  00 ff ff ff ff ff ff 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528957]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528958]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528959]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528960]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528961]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528962]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
[  220.528963]  [00] BAD  ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff

(that's after plugging in another HDMI port)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB