You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-04 22:50:26

christ00pher
Member
Registered: 2018-03-04
Posts: 6

Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

Hello everybody,
I have tried to install Arch Linux, I was following steps of the Installation guide, unfortunately something didn't go as expected.
Here's the list of steps I have taken during the whole process of installation:
0) Checked if EFI is enabled - it is.
1) Setting up wifi connection
2) timedatectl set-npt true
3) fdisk -l
The output is /dev/nvme0n1 Disk, 4 partitions on this disk, my pendrive device and /dev/loop0 disk, which size is 442 MiB
4) fdisk /dev/nvme0n1
-o
for 3 usual partitions (root, boot, home)
-n
-primary type
For swap partition:
-n
-primary type
-8 GB size
-type
-82

-w - saving changes to the disk
5) lsblk -f - shows my main drive with 4 partitions, pendrive device, but also loop0 partition with fstype squashfs in the mountpoint /run/archiso/sfs/airrootfs
6) For partitions boot, root and home I make file system:
-mkfs.ext4 /dev/nvme0n1p[1,2,4]
7) For swap partition:
mkswap /dev/nvme0n1p3
swapon /dev/nvme0n1p3
8) Mounting filesystems:
-mkdir /mnt/boot
-mkdir /mnt/home
-mount /dev/nvme0n1p2 /mnt
-mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/boot
-mount /dev/nvme0n1p4 /mnt/home
9) pacstrap /mnt base
10) genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab - created file contains correct information about 4 partitions on the nvme drive
11) arch-chroot /mnt
12) ln -sf /usr/share/zoneinfo/Poland /etc/localtime
13) hwclock --systohc
14) <uncommenting pl_PL.UTF-8 UTF-8 line in /etc/locale.gen>
15) nano /etc/locale.conf <writing LANG=pl_PL.UTF-8>
16) locale-gen
17) mkinitcpio -p linux
18) passwd
19) pacman -S intel-ucode grub-bios linux-headers linux-lts linux-lts-headers wpa_supplicant wireless_tools
20) grub-install --target=i386-pc --recheck /dev/nvme0n1 - no error reported
21) cp /usr/share/locale/en\@quot/LC_MESSAGES/grub.mo /boot/grub/locale/en.mo
22) grub -mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
23) umount -R /mnt
24) umount /dev/loop0
25) reboot

Then I receive bunch of [ OK ] steps and 1 failure: Failed unmounting /run/archiso/bootmnt
At the very bottom there are communicates:
Starting reboot...
[2464.290298] watchdog: watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!
[2464.368593] systemd-shutdown[1]: Failed to wait for process: Protocol error
[2464.403741] watchdog: watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!
umount: can't unmount /dev/loop0: Invalid argument
umount: can't unmount /oldrun/archiso/cowspace: Invalid argument

What did I do wrong? How can I fix it?

Last edited by christ00pher (2018-03-04 22:50:55)

Offline

#2 2018-03-04 23:58:56

circleface
Member
Registered: 2012-05-26
Posts: 615

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

Is something not working?  It seems to me that those errors are harmless.

Offline

#3 2018-03-05 00:11:47

christ00pher
Member
Registered: 2018-03-04
Posts: 6

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

The system does not boot - when I turn the machine on, I get the Dell logo, and after a few seconds I get communicate which says "No bootable devices found."
In Bios settings->Boot Sequence I can't see any images that could be booted. Anyway, the system should be loaded by GRUB insted of BIOS, so clearly something broke down during installation hmm
I forgot to mention - I installed Arch on virtual machine following similar steps while I was using Windows on this laptop and the intallation was succesful, so that's likely issue with my hardware or specific boot options, I don't know.

Last edited by christ00pher (2018-03-05 00:12:40)

Offline

#4 2018-03-05 00:17:10

circleface
Member
Registered: 2012-05-26
Posts: 615

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

Did you set the /boot partition to be the EFI boot partition?  You would need to do that in fdisk or whatever program you used to partition the disk.

Edit: Also it should be FAT32, not ext4.

Last edited by circleface (2018-03-05 00:18:20)

Offline

#5 2018-03-05 00:19:24

christ00pher
Member
Registered: 2018-03-04
Posts: 6

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

I guess I did not, I only set the boot flag on the /boot partition but the filesystem there was ext4. Could this be an issue? I will try to change it to EFI but it will probably require reinstalling the whole system and will take some time

Last edited by christ00pher (2018-03-05 00:20:14)

Offline

#6 2018-03-05 00:23:23

circleface
Member
Registered: 2012-05-26
Posts: 615

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

You should be able to just change the partition type, then reformat the partition as FAT32, then reinstall the kernel and bootloader.

Offline

#7 2018-03-05 06:17:10

christ00pher
Member
Registered: 2018-03-04
Posts: 6

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

I will try to do this today evening and will tell you how'd I do.

Offline

#8 2018-03-06 18:01:41

christ00pher
Member
Registered: 2018-03-04
Posts: 6

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

Unfortunately it doesn't work either. The same issue - not bootable device found and a bunch of errors during rebooting. I have changed GRUB partition format to FAT32 and mounted it in /mnt/boot/efi directory.
I'm not sure about my mounting points though. Should I mount GRUB in /mnt/boot/efi or /boot/efi?
What else could be wrong? I guess it's strictly connected with GRUB installation if the loader doesn't even start.

Offline

#9 2018-03-14 15:50:17

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,716

Re: Can't unmount /dev/loop0 /oldrun/archiso/cowspace partitions

In your first post, your GRUB install is incorrect, you installed it in a BIOS way, but you want to install it on an UEFI partition.

Where you mount the EFI partition doesn't matter for the grub install, however you mounted it on /boot for the fstab generation, which is good. Redo the steps for arch-chrooting from the ISO (mounting the real partitions to their equivalents in /mnt and then running arch-chroot /mnt ) From the POV of the system your EFI partition is now at /boot ) follow at that point: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … allation_2 (replacing $esp with /boot) if it still doesn't work, post from the chroot

lsblk -f
ls -l /boot
parted -l #That one can also be from the ISO if you don't want to install it on the system

in [ code ] tags.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB