You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-13 20:31:56

rouelle
Member
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 5

[SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

I just did a pacman -Syu and Firefox was upgraded from version 58.0.2-1 to version 59.0-1.

Now, Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use french locale despite firefox-i18n-fr installed and activated.

I never had such a problem before, all my locale updates for Firefox always went smooth. Should I suspect that Firefox 59.0-1 package may come from a nightly build instead of the current version? I know that nightly builds can't use locales. But, I always used main Firefox version with the french locale as available in Arch extra repository.

Thanks for the time involved to find a solution...

Last edited by rouelle (2018-03-14 20:18:50)


Sous Linux depuis 1998 / Using Linux since 1998

Offline

#2 2018-03-13 20:45:34

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 5,816

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/57826?  firefox 59.0-1 does not come from a nightly build see https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/pack … 0dee68#n23
Edit:
Oh and welcome to the arch linux forums rouelle.

Last edited by loqs (2018-03-13 20:46:02)

Offline

#3 2018-03-13 20:58:30

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 418

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

I notice that if I download the official binary of firefox on mozilla's website (a tar.bz2 file) then the menus are in french,

the problem occurs only with the archlinux firefox package, the fr-xpi is loaded but the menus are still in english,

I don't know if other linux distros are affected by this problem

Last edited by Potomac (2018-03-13 20:59:03)

Offline

#4 2018-03-13 21:16:59

rouelle
Member
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

Maybe other locales are not loaded too? I'll wait little while to see if this problem may be resolved ;-)

Thanks for welcoming me. I'm using Linux exclusively since 1998 (Slackware -> Mandrake -> Debian -> Ubuntu -> Arch) but I waited too long before trying Arch ;-) I'm using Arch since last September, great distro!


Sous Linux depuis 1998 / Using Linux since 1998

Offline

#5 2018-03-14 01:11:41

Potomac
Member
Registered: 2011-12-25
Posts: 418

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

there is a workaround :

- type  "about:config" in the url bar
- create a new key "intl.locale.requested", the value must be the language code (for example "fr" for french)
- restart firefox

Offline

#6 2018-03-14 02:18:40

rouelle
Member
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

Potomac wrote:

there is a workaround :

- type  "about:config" in the url bar
- create a new key "intl.locale.requested", the value must be the language code (for example "fr" for french)
- restart firefox

Great, yes it works, thanks!
See, I was near as I tried a few hours ago to fiddle with "intl.regional_prefs.use_os_locales" key but without success. I ignored the key you suggest.

How can I mark this topic as solved? Or should I? Why was this key unnecessary with previous version of Firefox?


Sous Linux depuis 1998 / Using Linux since 1998

Offline

#7 2018-03-14 18:23:37

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 5,816

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

See if it is fixed by 59.0-2 https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/pack … 28e80595df
You can mark a thread you started as solved by editing the first post and prepending [SOLVED] to the title.

Offline

#8 2018-03-14 20:16:13

rouelle
Member
Registered: 2018-03-13
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Firefox 59.0-1 doesn't use locale despite firefox-i18n-fr

loqs wrote:

See if it is fixed by 59.0-2 https://git.archlinux.org/svntogit/pack … 28e80595df
You can mark a thread you started as solved by editing the first post and prepending [SOLVED] to the title.

Yes, it works perfectly ;-)

By looking at the diff, the locale problem was for every language except English I believe...

Thanks and sorry for the long delay to answer and mark this post as solved.


Sous Linux depuis 1998 / Using Linux since 1998

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB