You are not logged in.

#1 2018-05-03 13:38:03

veryNoob
Member
Registered: 2018-03-22
Posts: 7

Arch boot only shows "GRUB"

Hello there, I'm trying to install ArchLinux on a thinkpad x140e.

This is all the step that I follow during the installation (from usb):

I create the following GPT partition table:

#fdisk -l
/dev/sda1 .   1G .   BIOS boot
/dev/sda2 .   9G .   Linux filesystem
/dev/sda3 .   455.8G .   Linux filesystem

Then I make the filesystems:

# mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda1
# mkfs.ext4 /dev/sda3

# mkswap /dev/sda2
# swapon /dev/sda2

Then I mount the / partition and /boot:

# mount /dev/sda3 /mnt
# mkdir /mnt/boot
# mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot

I install the base system:

# pacstrap /mnt base vim

I generate fstab and chroot in the system:

# genfstab -U /mnt >> /mnt/etc/fstab
# arch-chroot /mnt

set up locale/hosts/hostname/language/hwclock and the password and then I install the bootloadr:

# pacman -S grub
# grub-install --target=i386-pc /dev/sda
# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

after that I press ctrl+d to esc the chroot mode and I reboot. The problem is that once booted I can only see the write "GRUB" with a blinking cursor. Nothing else...

What am I missing?

Offline

#2 2018-05-03 14:15:51

Slithery
Forum Moderator
From: Norfolk, UK
Registered: 2013-12-01
Posts: 2,802

Re: Arch boot only shows "GRUB"

Why are you formatting and mounting the BIOS boot partition as /boot?
It needs to be left unformatted and unmounted.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR … structions


No, it didn't "fix" anything. It just shifted the brokeness one space to the right. - jasonwryan
Closing -- for deletion; Banning -- for muppetry. - jasonwryan

aur - dotfiles

Offline

#3 2018-05-03 17:08:49

veryNoob
Member
Registered: 2018-03-22
Posts: 7

Re: Arch boot only shows "GRUB"

Oh thanks you were right!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB