You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-12 09:36:01

JustCreatable
Member
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 3

Steam trying to use APT

After installing Steam and running it, it opens a terminal asking to install additional packages, and requesting my password for sudo. When I type my password, it tries to use apt (which obviously doesn't exist).
Is there any way around this? If I install the packages manually will it fix it?
I also opened it through a terminal and the output it gives is
"which: no gnome-terminal in (/home/creatablal/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/bsr/bin/vendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl)
which: no konsole in (/home/creatable/.bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/bin/sitevendor_perl:/usr/bin/core_perl)"

Offline

#2 2018-06-12 10:46:37

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,325
Website

Re: Steam trying to use APT

How did you install steam, and how are you running it?


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#3 2018-06-12 11:28:46

JustCreatable
Member
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 3

Re: Steam trying to use APT

WorMzy wrote:

How did you install steam, and how are you running it?

I used pacman to install steam, and if you mean how do I launch it, I launch it from a terminal and other things.

Offline

#4 2018-06-12 12:08:43

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,325
Website

Re: Steam trying to use APT

But what command do you use in the terminal? 'steam', or 'steam-native'?

Pacman will install the dependencies for the former (unless you have explitily told it not to), but you should install 'steam-native-runtime' if you want to use the latter.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

#5 2018-06-12 18:52:26

JustCreatable
Member
Registered: 2018-06-12
Posts: 3

Re: Steam trying to use APT

WorMzy wrote:

But what command do you use in the terminal? 'steam', or 'steam-native'?

Pacman will install the dependencies for the former (unless you have explitily told it not to), but you should install 'steam-native-runtime' if you want to use the latter.

steam-native isn't in my repos...
Actually, it is. Just installed it, and it works, however the terminal still pops up asking me to install the dependencies.

Last edited by JustCreatable (2018-06-12 18:57:59)

Offline

#6 2018-06-12 19:49:53

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 8,325
Website

Re: Steam trying to use APT

Okay, so what packages is it trying to install? Post the full message you get.


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB