You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-13 15:55:07

adrien1018
Member
Registered: 2018-06-13
Posts: 2

ACPI BIOS Error: Cannot boot into vmlinuz-linux

I just installed Arch Linux (with CentOS dual-boot). There are several Arch-related options in the GRUB menu:

Arch Linux
Arch Linux, with Linux linux
Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)
Arch Linux, with Linux 4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64
Arch Linux, with Linux 0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46

When I try to boot the first three entries, I get the following error, and got stuck:

Loading Linux linux ...                                                        
Loading initial ramdisk ...                                                    
[    0.395637] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Failure looking up [\_SB._OSC.CDW1], AE_NOT_FOUND (20180105/psargs-364)
[    0.413345] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed \_SB._OSC, AE_NOT_FOUND (20180105/psparse-550)
[    1.106327] ERST: Failed to get Error Log Address Range.
[    1.665539] scsi 0:0:32:0: Wrong diagnostic page; asked for 10 got 0

Though I can still boot the last two entries, I cannot mount the xfs filesystem:

# modprobe xfs
modprobe: FATAL: Module xfs not found in directory /lib/modules/4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64

The CentOS installation still works.

What might be the issue, and how to fix this?

Last edited by adrien1018 (2018-06-13 15:57:02)

Offline

#2 2018-06-13 16:44:40

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,258

Re: ACPI BIOS Error: Cannot boot into vmlinuz-linux

The last two entries are kernels from your centos installation, clarify your setup how did you install GRUB, which one is the controlling boot loader (is that Arch's GRUB, CentOS' GRUB?) and post configuration of your boot loader.

Also just for giggles, does the stuck boot start to work if you press a few buttons a few times?

Last edited by V1del (2018-06-13 16:50:25)

Offline

#3 2018-06-14 03:57:55

adrien1018
Member
Registered: 2018-06-13
Posts: 2

Re: ACPI BIOS Error: Cannot boot into vmlinuz-linux

Oh I see... so why grub recognize it as Arch?

I used the LiveCD image method to install Arch. There are two boot partition (/dev/sda1, /dev/sda2) because of CentOS installation, and I installed Arch on /dev/sda1.

The current boot loader is Arch's GRUB. Since Arch's os-prober didn't detect my CentOS, I put the entry manually in 40_custom. Here's my grub.cfg (00_header, 10_linux and 40_custom):

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="CentOS Linux (3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64) 7 (Core)"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

serial --speed=115200 --unit=1 --word=8 --parity=no --stop=1
terminal_input console serial
terminal_output console serial
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=20
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=20
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos1'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/archlinux-root rw console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0 
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/archlinux-root rw console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-linux.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/mapper/archlinux-root rw console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux 4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64-advanced-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64 ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/archlinux-root rw console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-4.8.6-300.fc25.x86_64.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux 0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46-advanced-68c76ab8-c352-4e89-bc83-5c9b1463c609' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos1'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root b6378f40-3fba-4515-bf97-b1460edbb778
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux 0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46 ...'
		linux	/vmlinuz-0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46 root=/dev/mapper/archlinux-root rw console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0 
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	/initramfs-0-rescue-2c22428890844996a48b9e4c81daee46.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
menuentry 'CentOS Linux (3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64) 7 (Core)' --class centos --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --unrestricted $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64-advanced-5555ab63-ed98-4a1c-97a4-395e4f6d622a' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod xfs
	set root='hd0,msdos2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2 --hint='hd0,msdos2'  0b202399-3645-488c-9669-0591ddd7d03a
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0b202399-3645-488c-9669-0591ddd7d03a
	fi
	linux16 /vmlinuz-3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/centos-root ro console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0
	initrd16 /initramfs-3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64.img
}
menuentry 'CentOS Linux (0-rescue-2c862625e14d48ed932ac541d74e53d9) 7 (Core)' --class centos --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os --unrestricted $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-0-rescue-2c862625e14d48ed932ac541d74e53d9-advanced-5555ab63-ed98-4a1c-97a4-395e4f6d622a' {
	load_video
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos
	insmod xfs
	set root='hd0,msdos2'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2 --hint='hd0,msdos2'  0b202399-3645-488c-9669-0591ddd7d03a
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 0b202399-3645-488c-9669-0591ddd7d03a
	fi
	linux16 /vmlinuz-0-rescue-2c862625e14d48ed932ac541d74e53d9 root=/dev/mapper/centos-root ro console=ttyS1,57600 console=tty0
	initrd16 /initramfs-0-rescue-2c862625e14d48ed932ac541d74e53d9.img
}
if [ "x$default" = 'CentOS Linux (3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64) 7 (Core)' ]; then default='Advanced options for CentOS Linux>CentOS Linux (3.10.0-862.3.2.el7.x86_64) 7 (Core)'; fi;
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

Note that there are some serial settings in the header, since this is a remote machine and I use IPMI to control it.

(Pressing the keyboard seems not working. I have to do "chassis power reset" to reboot it.)

Last edited by adrien1018 (2018-06-14 04:01:33)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB