You are not logged in.

#1 2018-06-13 06:51:25

wpovell
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] "only one operation may be used at a time"

Recently started getting the above message whenever I try to install a package. Using yay but makepkg produces the same error. Tried clearing out paccache but didn't help, couldn't find anything on google about that issue. No weirdness with alias's for makepkg/pacman. Doesn't happen with all packages, did with dunstify and polybar. Pacman v5.1.0

Relevant output:

$ yay -S dunstify
[ some output omitted ]
make: Leaving directory '/home/puzzel/.cache/yay/dunstify/src/dunst-1.3.2'
==> Entering fakeroot environment...
==> Starting package()...
only one operation may be used at a time
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in package().
    Aborting...
Error making: dunstify

Last edited by wpovell (2018-06-14 06:04:24)

Offline

#2 2018-06-13 11:16:58

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "only one operation may be used at a time"

If the same symptoms occur with makepkg, please only post makepkg output as we try to track this down.  Makepkg is a supported tool, and using that (at least while troubleshooting) removes one very big variable from the equation.

But given that makepkg gives the same error, I'd suspect something odd with the `install` command.  Please try the following tests and post any of their output:

touch /tmp/first.tmp
install -Dm 644 /tmp/subdir/second.tmp
type install
pacman -Qo /usr/bin/install
pacman -Qkk coreutils

"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#3 2018-06-13 11:22:40

eschwartz
Fellow
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 4,097

Re: [SOLVED] "only one operation may be used at a time"

"No weirdness with alias's for makepkg/pacman."

Well, the error is not coming from either one. It's coming from the package() function if the PKGBUILD.

https://aur.archlinux.org/cgit/aur.git/ … nstify#n24

Which only executes the "install" command. Do you have some ill-advised wrapper script that replaces this incredibly common program with something of your own? I've seen more than a few people who had a wrapper script for "install" which ran pacman, for example. This is a terrible idea, don't shadow the core utilities with something totally different.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#4 2018-06-13 11:24:01

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 29,441
Website

Re: [SOLVED] "only one operation may be used at a time"

Actually I just kept digging.  That string is not anywhere in coreutils source, but it *is* in the pacman binary which all but confirms the above: 'install' must be an alias for a pacman command.  As `install -Dm 755 ...` is likely expanded to `pacman -S -Dm755 ...` the error makes perfect sense.

$ pacman -S -Dm 755 /path/to/nothing /road/to/nowhere
error: only one operation may be used at a time

Last edited by Trilby (2018-06-13 11:26:35)


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#5 2018-06-14 06:04:07

wpovell
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] "only one operation may be used at a time"

Yup thank you all so much, install was aliased.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB